Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2005, 18:33   #1
the_daddy
PSN - the_daddy2009
 
the_daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Wales
Posts: 6,620
Thanks: 257
Thanked 142 Times in 46 Posts
[HELP] Sky + and my new surround sound system!

OK so I went mad and bought the Logitech Z-5500 5.1 system, excellent piece of kit, at a cost of just under £200 im chuffed. Now i've connected my dvd player and that's all sounding great! So now im thinking about connecting my sky+ too, BUT I have no friggin idea how this is done, any advice would be greatly appreciated, im pretty sure i need some different cables. By the way my dvd player is connected via an optical lead thingy. Please help!
the_daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 18:47   #2
Guest 19777
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom, South East England Stevenage.
Posts: 4,141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You need an optical lead going from the sky+ box to the logitech system.

Assuming the logitch setup has another optical input?
Guest 19777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 18:51   #3
the_daddy
PSN - the_daddy2009
 
the_daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Wales
Posts: 6,620
Thanks: 257
Thanked 142 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigizmo2k2
You need an optical lead going from the sky+ box to the logitech system.

Assuming the logitch setup has another optical input?
Just had a look and no it doesn't, is there another way of doing it??
the_daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 20:12   #4
MartinC
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 3,229
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
you can get an adaptor thing that lets you switch one optical input between 2-3 connections.

even spotted them in my local B&Q now so fairly easy to get.
MartinC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 11:51   #5
FlangeMonkey
WHERE'S MY JEEELLLLY?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: I am Rod Hull. I am him. I am.
Posts: 2,260
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
^^^This is definitely the way forward^^^

If you subscribe to the movie channels, some on Sky Premier 1, 2 and 3 are broadcast in full DD5.1 (only available to Sky+ owners), so you'll def. need an optical conxion to reap the benefits, otherwise, you'll have to make do with the regular 2xphono stereo output...which therefore obviously won't be 5.1

Last edited by FlangeMonkey; 08-08-2005 at 11:53.
FlangeMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 18:58   #6
the_daddy
PSN - the_daddy2009
 
the_daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Wales
Posts: 6,620
Thanks: 257
Thanked 142 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinC
you can get an adaptor thing that lets you switch one optical input between 2-3 connections.

even spotted them in my local B&Q now so fairly easy to get.
Great! any ideas of where i can purchase one online?
the_daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 23:58   #7
MartinC
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 3,229
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Google offline then?

guh.. some people!

have a look on maplin, or similar. search for digital audio switcher. £20.

Last edited by MartinC; 08-08-2005 at 23:58.
MartinC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 09:46   #8
Guest 45760
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 552
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
These are £9.99 in Maplin.

Nujjy.
Guest 45760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network