Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Shopping and Money Forums > Bargain Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19-01-2005, 20:12   #1
cliff homewood
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Southend
Posts: 5,436
Thanks: 2
Thanked 80 Times in 63 Posts
5.1 surround sound system for £19.99

Ntec, 20W subwoofer and 5w satellite speakers. Half price from the computer shop sale which ends 14th feb. Call 0870 830 3159 for your nearest branch.

Now my only prob is my tv hasn't got sockets for it (I assume new ones do?) but my telewest does and so does my dvd so which shall i plug it into. And my dvd was a cheap asda Pacific 1002W everytime I unplug and plug back in surround sound the sockets seem to stop working. This is my second one and I'll have to take it back and swap for another, doers anyone know whether their current models are multiregion hackable?
cliff homewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 20:23   #2
Guest 7176
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
could you post a picture of the back of the sub and the control unit / tell me what connections the unit takes.

Thanks Wandgrudd
Guest 7176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 20:26   #3
Guest 18217
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 570
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
It's avilable Online (with Picture) + £5 P&P Delivery charge.

Last edited by mew; 19-01-2005 at 20:28.
Guest 18217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 21:50   #4
Guest 12515
Eleven
 
Guest 12515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: A city of near-constant rain and urban decay
Posts: 547
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wandgrudd
could you post a picture of the back of the sub and the control unit / tell me what connections the unit takes.

Thanks Wandgrudd
I would alos like to know this if anyone can help?

Thanks
Guest 12515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 21:57   #5
Guest 22808
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,647
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I would guess RCA phono going by the types of inputs it can accept (CD etc.).

It's actually possible to buy a SCART -> phono plugs lead/adaptor should that help anybody.
Guest 22808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 22:14   #6
thescrounger
Trusted User
 
thescrounger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kent
Posts: 19,802
Thanks: 93
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
It's tempting, but how quality do you think this is? What was the price before the reduction?
thescrounger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 22:40   #7
Guest 12515
Eleven
 
Guest 12515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: A city of near-constant rain and urban decay
Posts: 547
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam.mt
I would guess RCA phono going by the types of inputs it can accept (CD etc.).

It's actually possible to buy a SCART -> phono plugs lead/adaptor should that help anybody.
Would that be 3 cables ie. front, rear, centre?
Guest 12515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 22:49   #8
cliff homewood
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Southend
Posts: 5,436
Thanks: 2
Thanked 80 Times in 63 Posts
39.99 before reduction (did say half price). No scart leads. Have connected mine up through headphone socket of telly (lead included for that option, also two other leads for separate central channel and subwoofer connections), so what does that do? Am i getting 5.1 if the source is or just stereo faked into 5.1 or just the same sounds through the channels? (newbie at this as i think u can see!)
cliff homewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 22:51   #9
Guest 6227
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 943
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
From desc. why would you want 4 rear speakers and only one front ?

Mark.
Guest 6227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 22:59   #10
cliff homewood
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Southend
Posts: 5,436
Thanks: 2
Thanked 80 Times in 63 Posts
er confused, it has the option of one lead for stereo or three leads if you have a device with 5.1 output, which manual says is three leads, subwoofer, central and stereo (i presume), but both my telewest and cheap dvd player have only two output leads left and right, and if im reading it rightly i've been provided with a lead to put those two outputs into the one source, so thought might as well go through the one source, tv headphone socket. Otherwise i have to play around with trwo sets of leads, one for sky and one for dvd, plugging and unplugging as required or buy wiring from macro to bring them all together.
cliff homewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 23:12   #11
Guest 949
been here ages
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Mansfield, UK
Posts: 1,104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You are not getting 5:1 sound from your stereo outputs guys..

The 3 leads are for connecting to a PC that has a 5:1 capable sound card.
You won't get 5:1 sound from your TV or DVD player without a decoder to split the signals into 6 separate channels.
Scart to phono - is just stereo phonos. So this only gets you stereo sound ( 2 channels) through the speaker set.
Some DVD players have an inbuilt decoder. If so you would have a bank of 6 phono sockets ( labelled something like FL ; FR ; C ; SUB ; RL ; RR ).. This is what these units are designed for ( along with the aforementioned PCs )
Guest 949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2005, 23:19   #12
driver8
M0D2.0 (trainee)
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 11,510
Thanks: 2,430
Thanked 2,553 Times in 1,109 Posts
Hi cliff homewood, I'm a newbie too, but ...

- if you're taking sound signal from TV headphone socket, this will be 2-channel stereo (even if you're watching dvd). Only way to get simulated 5.1 from a stereo source AFAIK is setting amp to Dolby ProLogic II (my guess is your setup will not have this).

- from the online link above, this "Input Type : CD/ PC/TV/ DVD5.1" suggests you need a dvd player with 5.1 output (generic pics here, not of your unit http://electronics.howstuffworks.com/question542.htm)

- is there a manual online ? can u upload pic of rear ?
__________________
| initiative-Q = free cash! | flickr | FB | eos6d | erazer x6807 | marantz+canton 5.1 | benq w1090 | dt990 | paperwhite | lenovo a10 | OP3 |
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2005, 15:34   #13
Guest 34899
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The easiest way to get proper 5.1 sound is to use the optical out on your dvd player or coax out - hopefully this amp has one of those inputs........
Guest 34899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2005, 15:40   #14
Guest 20293
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vik1
The easiest way to get proper 5.1 sound is to use the optical out on your dvd player or coax out - hopefully this amp has one of those inputs........
it wont for that price, id bet a large sum that its phono only
Guest 20293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2005, 15:41   #15
cliff homewood
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Southend
Posts: 5,436
Thanks: 2
Thanked 80 Times in 63 Posts
whats an optical out? planning on buying a secondhand tv set soon, between 33" and 42", do most of these have 5.1 decoders built in or not?
cliff homewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2005, 15:47   #16
Guest 20293
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliff homewood
whats an optical out? planning on buying a secondhand tv set soon, between 33" and 42", do most of these have 5.1 decoders built in or not?
hardly any tvs have decoders
Guest 20293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2005, 15:49   #17
Guest 39473
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
the speakers look like xbox's nice bargain but i already have surround sound
Guest 39473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2005, 09:29   #18
cliff homewood
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Southend
Posts: 5,436
Thanks: 2
Thanked 80 Times in 63 Posts
FOund a coaxial out on my dvd player, but no coaxial in on the system just the three ports, stereo, FC and SW. If I plug it in to the stereo port will the system recognise the 5.1 sound and split it for me, or will it just assume its stereo?
cliff homewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2005, 09:39   #19
Guest 20293
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliff homewood
FOund a coaxial out on my dvd player, but no coaxial in on the system just the three ports, stereo, FC and SW. If I plug it in to the stereo port will the system recognise the 5.1 sound and split it for me, or will it just assume its stereo?
it may emulate 5.1 (probbaly send the front left to the rear left etc) but you cannot get true 5.1 from a stereo source

some amps have dolby pro logic II which creates a virtual 5.1 from a stereo source but this kit doesnt even have that
Guest 20293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2005, 09:43   #20
cliff homewood
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Southend
Posts: 5,436
Thanks: 2
Thanked 80 Times in 63 Posts
someone earlier in this thread said that coaxial gives you 5.1 sound, is that wrong then on cheap dvd players?

Notice a theme here tomy top notch equipment? Proud bargain forum man me!
cliff homewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network