Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-01-2010, 09:28   #1
hannay
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 3,854
Thanks: 194
Thanked 49 Times in 33 Posts
Media Streaming NAS Drive Query

My Buffalo NAS drive packed in last night so looking for a new one.

Have been looking at an LG and think it looks pretty good.

What I need to know, is will it be seen by my Xbox 360 / PS3 like the buffalo Livestation did?

Alternativly, can anyone recommend me a NAS drive with 2 drives (one for backup, one for media)?

Last edited by hannay; 19-01-2010 at 10:11.
hannay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2010, 14:42   #2
hannay
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 3,854
Thanks: 194
Thanked 49 Times in 33 Posts
nevermind, went for it anyway
hannay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2010, 15:36   #3
lsba02853
Trusted User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,321
Thanks: 28
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Whats the difference between a NAS and a normal external HDD?
lsba02853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2010, 16:01   #4
Guest 243
XBL: Wolfgang Winkle
 
Guest 243's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: ... of the dead
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 102
Thanked 91 Times in 73 Posts
NAS stands for Network Attached Storage. So they're designed to be accessed across your home / work network and would be connected to your router - they often have USB ports too, for direct connection.
Guest 243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2010, 16:07   #5
roddy22
Unstopable
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: scotland
Posts: 1,607
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
One is networked (NAS) where lots of computers can access the drive or even access it over the internet too if required and a normal external hdd plugs directly into one computer for that computer only.

Note technically an external hdd could be networked via the computer but it takes a bit of setting up and the computer would have to be on permanently
__________________
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/r.smith5237/brain2.jpg
Are you pondering what i'm pondering!
roddy22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2010, 19:22   #6
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Having researched this I really want to go NAS - but I think it's just gonna be too expensive
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2010, 19:56   #7
Lee Brown
The Kraken Awakes!
 
Lee Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Oxford
Posts: 1,946
Thanks: 39
Thanked 69 Times in 37 Posts
The Netgear Readynas is fairly affordable, just depends which drives you want to put in it.

£153 at Amazon

Still giving away a free 500gb drive with it, by redemption from Netgear.
Lee Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2010, 20:02   #8
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Thanks - but I would need a 4 bay I think. Does that one support squeezebox server do you know?
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2010, 20:42   #9
splobber
Administrator
 
splobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lake Titicaca
Posts: 67,115
Thanks: 40
Thanked 728 Times in 360 Posts
I may get one of these instead of a NAS

http://h41112.www4.hp.com/promo/mss/uk/en/index.html

If anyone wants a cheap 4 bay solution then there is this DAS

http://www.kikatek.com/product_info....ucts_id=127776
splobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2010, 22:40   #10
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Very nice - but you can get a PC for less than that!!

I've decided to start (as I am on a budget) with an internal HDD for my Mede8er. Then when I eventually get a NAS I can just swap the drive over.
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 00:04   #11
reecie
Gamertag: Reecie
 
reecie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Playboy Mansion
Posts: 4,180
Thanks: 22
Thanked 79 Times in 60 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by splobber View Post
I may get one of these instead of a NAS

http://h41112.www4.hp.com/promo/mss/uk/en/index.html
I was looking at the HP for a WHS solution for backup and streaming. As I posted as a query in the original streaming thread I've seen quite a few reports of the demigrator process in WHS kicking in and causing stuttering in streaming. It can also seem to take hours (or days) for the thing to sort all its file copying out. There was one reply to my post where the person had an HP and had not seen the issue though. One of the best places for WHS info seems to be wegotserved.
reecie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 00:57   #12
Lee Brown
The Kraken Awakes!
 
Lee Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Oxford
Posts: 1,946
Thanks: 39
Thanked 69 Times in 37 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ******* View Post
Thanks - but I would need a 4 bay I think. Does that one support squeezebox server do you know?
Yep, the Readynas Duo, NV and Pro all support Squeezebox Server
Lee Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 02:42   #13
alsemail
Bibble....
 
alsemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,236
Thanks: 1,283
Thanked 872 Times in 484 Posts
Splobber, friend of mine got one of these a while ago and is really impressed with it. May head down this route myself shortly

http://www.tranquilpc-shop.co.uk/acatalog/SQA-5H.html

Just a different WHS.
alsemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 08:19   #14
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,220
Thanks: 751
Thanked 354 Times in 262 Posts
Qnap's are well worth considering for anyone wanting a NAS. The single bay 110 is around £115, a two bay, a two bay 210 is around £155 and the four drive 410 is around £255 (http://www.qnap.co.uk/)

I've had a tS109 for over two years and it's excellent. Very flexible and a good user base. Can do all what's expected, streaming, etc web hosting, bittorrent, and has plugins for joomla, mysql, php plus a lot more.

Quite tempted by that four bay one myself!
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 09:26   #15
mr starface
He's on the Jazz again...
 
mr starface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Essex
Posts: 4,665
Thanks: 27
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I bought the DAS Splobber mentioned earlier and it works very well attached to my Popcorn Hour.

A decent NAS or something like the HP mentioned would be nice but they are so pricey in comparison. The 4 bay DAS cost me £100, would need to spend over 4x that for a NAS equivalent.
__________________
Turn Heads, Turn on Crowds and Come out on Top
mr starface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 09:51   #16
lsba02853
Trusted User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,321
Thanks: 28
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Ok here's another question.
I know that with an external HDD, in order to backup a movie I need to boot up my pc, load what ever programme I'm using, insert the Disc, click a few buttons and 40 or so minutes later I have my backup.

I assume the process would be the same with a NAS?
lsba02853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 10:26   #17
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 18,751
Thanks: 466
Thanked 1,617 Times in 762 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsba02853 View Post
Ok here's another question.
I know that with an external HDD, in order to backup a movie I need to boot up my pc, load what ever programme I'm using, insert the Disc, click a few buttons and 40 or so minutes later I have my backup.

I assume the process would be the same with a NAS?
Yup - just map a drive to the NAS and save directly to it
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 10:28   #18
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr starface View Post
I bought the DAS Splobber mentioned earlier and it works very well attached to my Popcorn Hour.

A decent NAS or something like the HP mentioned would be nice but they are so pricey in comparison. The 4 bay DAS cost me £100, would need to spend over 4x that for a NAS equivalent.
So if your streamer unit works as a NAS - can you buy a DAS and attach it directly to the unit rather than the PC? Would you then be able to stream your stuff across with the unit on rather than the PC?

I am thinking this, for example.

DAS connected to Mede8er. Squeezebox Server installed on DAS. Music streamed across network and no need for PC on.

Would that work?
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 11:06   #19
mr starface
He's on the Jazz again...
 
mr starface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Essex
Posts: 4,665
Thanks: 27
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
My DAS works without the PC on as it is connected directly to the PCH.

Not quite sure what you mean but I think as long as your router and streamer are on the network is then active so streaming should be possible?
__________________
Turn Heads, Turn on Crowds and Come out on Top
mr starface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2010, 11:28   #20
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
wow - that could be a much better, cheaper solution.
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
Drive, Query

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Streaming Media from Xbox 360 simplemick Computing Forum 1 01-06-2009 19:53
streaming media to PS3 LiviLion Computing Forum 6 25-05-2008 14:26
Streaming media from PC to TV Guest 2343 Computing Forum 0 15-04-2008 20:29
Media Streaming - is there such a device? Guest 48579 Computing Forum 6 28-07-2007 15:59
Problem with streaming media Guest 2557 Computing Forum 0 17-03-2005 23:42

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network