Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2015, 08:04   #101
kanedaa
XBL: kanedaa
 
kanedaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 16,397
Thanks: 79
Thanked 1,778 Times in 1,179 Posts
Noticed it this morning as well. It's on both my Win 8.1 PC and Win 7 laptop.
kanedaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 08:08   #102
lentini
now with added cymbals
 
lentini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: in my special fanboy trousers
Posts: 15,783
Thanks: 119
Thanked 453 Times in 258 Posts
July 29th is the release date

http://blogs.windows.com/bloggingwin...le-on-july-29/
lentini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 08:14   #103
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Oh it just popped up for me, not sure if it was due to me editing the "config.xml" or whether it was just a coincidence
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 08:20   #104
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,192
Thanks: 293
Thanked 4,688 Times in 2,067 Posts
In my laptops case, it would appear it hasn't been bothering to install its Windows Updates for some reason! Which probably doesn't help.


Nice to see Outlook included as standard. That's the only reason I have Office.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 08:33   #105
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,192
Thanks: 293
Thanked 4,688 Times in 2,067 Posts
The FAQ is finally there: http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/windo...auxapp_context
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 08:58   #106
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It's still not really clear if you get an actual reinstallable copy of Windows 10 or just a one-off upgrade.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 09:14   #107
LooNaTiK
Aaarrrrggghhhh!
 
LooNaTiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 4,816
Thanks: 190
Thanked 173 Times in 91 Posts
not got the "reserve a copy" icon on my install of the preview version of windows 10. im gonna be annoyed if i have to wipe it start again with windows, 7, then 8, then 10.

LooN
LooNaTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 09:18   #108
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 27,464
Thanks: 1,251
Thanked 948 Times in 567 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShakeyJake View Post
It's still not really clear if you get an actual reinstallable copy of Windows 10 or just a one-off upgrade.
I do hope so.
I know with Windows 8 (8.1) there were issues with no way to create a physical disc, but that was worked around if you followed instructions correctly during the downloader/installer.

I purchased Windows 8.1 in software only, and have not "Burned a disc" I guess I should really.

Hopefully, on my 3 windows devices.
A Windows 8.1 Pro PC
A Windows 7 Home Premium PC
A Windows 8.1 Linx Tablet.

All will be smooth.

I may be wrong here, but, would I be right in thinking, I will get a slightly lesser version of Windows 10 on the PC running currently Windows 7 Home Premium, than I will on the PC running Windows 8.1 Pro ?

I'm almost tempted, if that is the case, to get a cheap copy of windows 8.1 Pro to put on the second PC quick, if this is the case.

(In reality I suspect there is little difference between the two, but I am totally guessing here)
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 09:27   #109
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,941
Thanks: 198
Thanked 926 Times in 560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
I do hope so.
I know with Windows 8 (8.1) there were issues with no way to create a physical disc, but that was worked around if you followed instructions correctly during the downloader/installer.
apart from the bit on the ms website and included tool that automatically makes on for you http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...-refresh-media



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
I may be wrong here, but, would I be right in thinking, I will get a slightly lesser version of Windows 10 on the PC running currently Windows 7 Home Premium, than I will on the PC running Windows 8.1 Pro ?
yes, it's all in the FAQ linked above by target.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
I'm almost tempted, if that is the case, to get a cheap copy of windows 8.1 Pro to put on the second PC quick, if this is the case.

(In reality I suspect there is little difference between the two, but I am totally guessing here)
most of the options in the pro versions are for businesses (such as ability to join a domain etc) so chances are you aren't even using any of the extra features of pro.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 09:29   #110
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,941
Thanks: 198
Thanked 926 Times in 560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LooNaTiK View Post
not got the "reserve a copy" icon on my install of the preview version of windows 10.
it's a preview copy, it's not eligible for an upgrade. MS won't give you a free version because you are running a beta... They said *from the start* that anybody running the beta/test versions would have to wipe and start again when the final product comes out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LooNaTiK View Post
im gonna be annoyed if i have to wipe it start again with windows, 7, then 8, then 10.
you should only have to install either windows 7 or 8 then you can upgrade from there.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
LooNaTiK (01-06-2015)
Old 01-06-2015, 09:43   #111
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,360
Thanks: 980
Thanked 383 Times in 184 Posts
So will there be a way to do a complete fresh and clean install direct into windows 10 ?
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 09:49   #112
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,941
Thanks: 198
Thanked 926 Times in 560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuncanSWardle View Post
So will there be a way to do a complete fresh and clean install direct into windows 10 ?
presumably the only way known at the moment is if you purchase it.

There's not enough info on the free upgrades to know if it will be an option, but judging by how you can make the windows 8 install media (see link above) then it's possible that it would work in the same way.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 11:24   #113
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,212
Thanks: 752
Thanked 371 Times in 274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumfrog View Post
apart from the bit on the ms website and included tool that automatically makes on for you http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...-refresh-media
I find it easier to just keep an ISO somewhere, then when I need one use diskpart to create a bootable USB stick just copy the files over. It takes a few seconds to prepare the disk, then just extract the contects of the ISO straight to it and boot up. Simple, and saves me having to hunt around for where the disk is or use a tool to create a new USB disk because I've needed to use the one I previously created for something else(!)
http://windows.tips.net/T012620_Crea...ash_Drive.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by bumfrog View Post
most of the options in the pro versions are for businesses (such as ability to join a domain etc) so chances are you aren't even using any of the extra features of pro.
Bitlocker and RDP were the only reason I bought 8 Pro. Are they changing the 10 versions so the home one can start and receive an RDP connection?
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 11:35   #114
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,941
Thanks: 198
Thanked 926 Times in 560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie G View Post
I find it easier to just keep an ISO somewhere, then when I need one use diskpart to create a bootable USB stick just copy the files over. It takes a few seconds to prepare the disk, then just extract the contects of the ISO straight to it and boot up. Simple, and saves me having to hunt around for where the disk is or use a tool to create a new USB disk because I've needed to use the one I previously created for something else(!)
http://windows.tips.net/T012620_Crea...ash_Drive.html
yep, so you follow the instructions from the link I posted and then you can create an iso from the disk/usb drive that it chucks out. No doubt part of that process is just a secure way to download the iso anyways.

Much easier to use something like rufus https://rufus.akeo.ie/ than faffing around with diskpart and the like



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie G View Post
Bitlocker and RDP were the only reason I bought 8 Pro. Are they changing the 10 versions so the home one can start and receive an RDP connection?
no idea. I think there's a wrapper/work around anyways you can use on 8.1 to enable rdp in core/basic versions anyways.
edit: I'm guessing most restrictions from 8 will be carried across to 10, judging by the versions they are releasing. I'd like them to prove me wrong though as I don't see why rdp and bitlocker shouldn't be in the home versions tbh...

Last edited by bumfrog; 01-06-2015 at 11:45.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 12:02   #115
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 15,008
Thanks: 643
Thanked 867 Times in 636 Posts
Rufus is a good tool.

I'm running Win10 builds on the NDA/partner track and at the risk of breaking my NDA they are definitely improving. Which is good news.
basegreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 12:06   #116
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,192
Thanks: 293
Thanked 4,688 Times in 2,067 Posts
Yeah Rufus is excellent. I bought a 64GB usb flash drive intending to use both as installation media and a backup. I was screwed because Microsofts programs makes it fat 32 so I couldn't back some stuff up, you can't partition a removable drive in windows and I couldn't get it to boot in NTFS format. Until rufus saved me.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 12:09   #117
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 15,008
Thanks: 643
Thanked 867 Times in 636 Posts
I had a bit of a nightmare situation the other day with a laptop I needed to reimage with Win10 TAP build (with no admin access) and a macbook... could I get anything to work? NOPE.

Gave up and waited until I had another Windows box for Rufus.
basegreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 12:25   #118
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,196
Thanks: 19
Thanked 429 Times in 380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
Yeah Rufus is excellent. I bought a 64GB usb flash drive intending to use both as installation media and a backup. I was screwed because Microsofts programs makes it fat 32 so I couldn't back some stuff up, you can't partition a removable drive in windows and I couldn't get it to boot in NTFS format. Until rufus saved me.
Cant remember if it was Rufus that enabled me to create a UEFI USB Install stick or not. But diskpart will enable you to NTFS a 64GB USB.
Exfat doesnt have the limitations of Fat 32 and my 128GB USB came formatted as ex fat.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 14:02   #119
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,192
Thanks: 293
Thanked 4,688 Times in 2,067 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
But diskpart will enable you to NTFS a 64GB USB.
Lots of things will. But try making them happy with the windows 8.1 update 1 installer.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 14:14   #120
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,196
Thanks: 19
Thanked 429 Times in 380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
Lots of things will. But try making them happy with the windows 8.1 update 1 installer.
Didnt go anywhere near W8. Still happy on W7. If W10 looks like a speak and spell or My Tomy computer then I'll stay with W7 then as well. UEFI can be a pain in the **** as well.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Windows Vista to Windows 7... Decided on Windows 8 - RESOLVED Psycho Computing Forum 26 03-11-2012 17:53
Simple video editor like Windows Live Movie Maker for Windows? King Mustard Computing Forum 1 05-03-2012 08:39
MS Technet: Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1) Beta driver8 Computing Forum 31 28-02-2011 10:44
Windows Home Server / Windows 7 - temporary loss of access to random shared folders? ColinP Computing Forum 5 25-01-2010 21:49
Windows developers : Displaying MDI child windows in a multiple monitor environment pkr Computing Forum 4 04-08-2005 23:08

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network