Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14-06-2015, 10:40   #221
mjr
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 2,501
Thanks: 472
Thanked 126 Times in 96 Posts
I've gone from Windows 8.0 -> 8.1 -> 8.1.1. They were essentially installed as in-place upgrades of a whole new OS and worked absolutely fine.

The Windows.old folder will exist in case the upgrade fails part-way through so it can be used for rollback. A maintenance task will delete it a few days after upgrade automatically.

I believe the upgrade tool will do various compatibility checks anyway before it even offers Windows 10. I have an old Pentium D machine running Windows 7 x64. It can run 8.0 but not 8.1 (unless I downgrade to x86.) It hasn't prompted about the Windows 10 upgrade (yet anyway) which is good as I know it won't run.

I'd still recommend people take a full disk image with Macrium Reflect or similar before they upgrade, but really it's a much less daunting prospect than it would have been say going from XP to Vista.
mjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2015, 10:51   #222
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 27,464
Thanks: 1,251
Thanked 948 Times in 567 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjr View Post
I've gone from Windows 8.0 -> 8.1 -> 8.1.1. They were essentially installed as in-place upgrades of a whole new OS and worked absolutely fine.

The Windows.old folder will exist in case the upgrade fails part-way through so it can be used for rollback. A maintenance task will delete it a few days after upgrade automatically.

I believe the upgrade tool will do various compatibility checks anyway before it even offers Windows 10. I have an old Pentium D machine running Windows 7 x64. It can run 8.0 but not 8.1 (unless I downgrade to x86.) It hasn't prompted about the Windows 10 upgrade (yet anyway) which is good as I know it won't run.

I'd still recommend people take a full disk image with Macrium Reflect or similar before they upgrade, but really it's a much less daunting prospect than it would have been say going from XP to Vista.
Indeed yes.
Likewise, I have often taken a new OS upgrade as a great time to also upgrade the C: Drive itself.

Many people will have machines with old drives, or old/early SSD's.

It would perhaps be a nice option (if you can work out how to do it/how it would work/how you can get it to work) to remove your current C: Drive (perhaps after a clone?) stick in a minty fresh drive, and put new Windows on that. if it did fall apart, you can always plug in your old drive, no harm done.

I presume, the only way this could be done would either be:

A: Clone old drive to new drive just before you upgrade, so Msoft will still deliver your upgrade onto your new drive.

or

B: At some point, there will be some "burn a Disk/Image" option for Windows 10, that will work with your windows key.

Not sure how/when that's going to be a viable option?
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2015, 10:54   #223
Barnacle
Trusted User
 
Barnacle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: London
Posts: 3,381
Thanks: 329
Thanked 127 Times in 78 Posts
No upgrade possible for my old Acer Netbook (Win 7), the minimum screen resolution required for Win10 is 1024x768, the Acer is 1024x600
Barnacle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2015, 10:59   #224
mjr
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 2,501
Thanks: 472
Thanked 126 Times in 96 Posts
I've got Windows 10 running on my Samsung N130 netbook - also 1024x600. Windows 8 did have that problem though, refused to launch any Metro apps (which was ridiculous as they were designed to be scalable!) Not the speediest thing though, the start menu takes a while to show up in this build - early builds were ok though.
mjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2015, 11:00   #225
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,192
Thanks: 293
Thanked 4,688 Times in 2,067 Posts
8 was the same. Though there were ways around it. But I never bothered.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2015, 11:01   #226
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 27,464
Thanks: 1,251
Thanked 948 Times in 567 Posts
I have a new(ish) Windows 8.1 Tablet, and have all the Windows Updates, but so far, no little windows icon, so I've no idea what's going to happen there.
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2015, 10:02   #227
Barnacle
Trusted User
 
Barnacle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: London
Posts: 3,381
Thanks: 329
Thanked 127 Times in 78 Posts
I managed to fudge the resolution to show 1024x768 but when I ran the Windows Upgrade assistant program it was for Windows 8 and not Windows 10. After it ran through it's checks it said my network could be upgraded but for Windows 8 and I had to buy Windows 8.

I thought Win 7 could be upgraded to Win 10 free of charge ?
Barnacle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2015, 10:06   #228
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,941
Thanks: 198
Thanked 926 Times in 560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barnacle View Post
I managed to fudge the resolution to show 1024x768 but when I ran the Windows Upgrade assistant program it was for Windows 8 and not Windows 10. After it ran through it's checks it said my network could be upgraded but for Windows 8 and I had to buy Windows 8.

I thought Win 7 could be upgraded to Win 10 free of charge ?
the windows upgrade assistant will only show you what's currently available (ie windows 8). the upgrade option for windows 10 is part of the windows updates so it's a different thing all together.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Barnacle (15-06-2015)
Old 15-06-2015, 11:40   #229
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,192
Thanks: 293
Thanked 4,688 Times in 2,067 Posts
Yeah it's GWX (Get Windows 10) that offers you 10. But it will only actually appear for pre-order (as a windows logo in your system tray) if your hardware supports it. After Windows 10 is out, anyone will be able to claim it, compatible or not, and take their chances.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Barnacle (15-06-2015)
Old 15-06-2015, 12:23   #230
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,212
Thanks: 752
Thanked 371 Times in 274 Posts
With this registration for Windows 10, how does it work with multiple PCs? Can you use the same one for each PC and they link your existing 7/8/8.1 license for each to you? I have three PCs that are eligible, one 7 Ultimate, on 7 Home Premium and one 8 Pro.
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2015, 12:35   #231
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,941
Thanks: 198
Thanked 926 Times in 560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie G View Post
With this registration for Windows 10, how does it work with multiple PCs? Can you use the same one for each PC and they link your existing 7/8/8.1 license for each to you? I have three PCs that are eligible, one 7 Ultimate, on 7 Home Premium and one 8 Pro.
not really sure what you are asking to be honest. If your system is eligible then you'll get an icon, click on the buttons and that's it.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2015, 12:38   #232
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,212
Thanks: 752
Thanked 371 Times in 274 Posts
OK, so when the message pops up on my desktop, I enter my usual email address.

Then, when it pops up on my laptop, if I enter my usual email address for that, will it know I have two eligible PCs and authorise both for the upgrade?
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2015, 12:43   #233
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,941
Thanks: 198
Thanked 926 Times in 560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie G View Post
OK, so when the message pops up on my desktop, I enter my usual email address.

Then, when it pops up on my laptop, if I enter my usual email address for that, will it know I have two eligible PCs and authorise both for the upgrade?
afaik yes as it's nothing to do with one per person, it's just if the system is eligible or not. I've already done it to 3 at my gaff...
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Stevie G (15-06-2015)
Old 15-06-2015, 12:46   #234
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,212
Thanks: 752
Thanked 371 Times in 274 Posts
Ah, ok, cool, thanks. (Re-read my previous post and realised I didn't make it clear, I meant to same same email address....!)
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2015, 12:48   #235
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,941
Thanks: 198
Thanked 926 Times in 560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie G View Post
Ah, ok, cool, thanks. (Re-read my previous post and realised I didn't make it clear, I meant to same same email address....!)
ahh ok, makes sense now. Well if they tell me off for trying to register too many copies, I'll let you know

Just for those that have had/do have it, the upgrade offers to technet versions (or at least the ones I've been using )
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2015, 12:51   #236
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,212
Thanks: 752
Thanked 371 Times in 274 Posts
Yeah, I think (but not 100% sure) my 7 Ultimate is a Technet one (it was donated to me by a friend who works in IT and had ten licenses!)
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2015, 12:59   #237
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 12,344
Thanks: 15
Thanked 315 Times in 303 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
I have a new(ish) Windows 8.1 Tablet, and have all the Windows Updates, but so far, no little windows icon, so I've no idea what's going to happen there.
That's a Linx isn't it ?
I've got the Linx 8 with the icon present, an asus vivomini with the icon present and I should boot up my asus t100ta to run updates as I'm using the Linx instead.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2015, 13:17   #238
Barnacle
Trusted User
 
Barnacle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: London
Posts: 3,381
Thanks: 329
Thanked 127 Times in 78 Posts
Hmmm, no update message on my HP Stream 7 yet.
Barnacle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2015, 14:19   #239
mjb1975
Blandiblub
 
mjb1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kent
Posts: 12,295
Thanks: 28
Thanked 162 Times in 112 Posts
I've not had any icon on my Windows 7 desktop either (have had it on my W8.1 laptop though).
__________________
'Haven't you ever practiced on one of your girlfriends?'
mjb1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2015, 15:03   #240
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,212
Thanks: 752
Thanked 371 Times in 274 Posts
How well do the virtual desktops work in 10? I've been using Dexpot for the last six months and love being able to have three desktops I can easily CTRL and left/right between.
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Windows Vista to Windows 7... Decided on Windows 8 - RESOLVED Psycho Computing Forum 26 03-11-2012 17:53
Simple video editor like Windows Live Movie Maker for Windows? King Mustard Computing Forum 1 05-03-2012 08:39
MS Technet: Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1) Beta driver8 Computing Forum 31 28-02-2011 10:44
Windows Home Server / Windows 7 - temporary loss of access to random shared folders? ColinP Computing Forum 5 25-01-2010 21:49
Windows developers : Displaying MDI child windows in a multiple monitor environment pkr Computing Forum 4 04-08-2005 23:08

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network