Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2014, 11:44   #121
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
That's slightly fiddlier than I wanted then to be fair - worthwhile as a project, but not as an ultimate solution.

WTF is there not a bigger market for things like this?

The Amazon Fire TV Plex isn't going to be an option as it can't play DD from mkvs.

Last edited by rustybin; 08-10-2014 at 11:53.
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 12:12   #122
MaxNutter
20
 
MaxNutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Timperley
Posts: 15,945
Thanks: 269
Thanked 893 Times in 510 Posts
Why wouldn't it be an ultimate solution?

Openelec/XBMC can play almost anything from anywhere on a network.

You can also set it up to play emulated games too, if that's your bag...
__________________
"He has his mother's eyes..."
"I thought we had them?"

Last edited by MaxNutter; 08-10-2014 at 12:13.
MaxNutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 12:21   #123
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
Ok - I can get the machine and 4gb of RAM for £130 from Scan.

I've got loads of 2gb-8gb usb sticks - is it relatively straight-forward to set up? And is there anything else I need?

I don't want to have to use a SSD if a USB stick will work as I'll not need the storage.

EDIT: Reading up on it, it looks a little trickier than I'm willing to tackle at the moment. I struggled to even find the correct version of Openelec to match the machine!

I've also got question marks over whether it'll work with my Harmony remote- so basically I'd be paying £130 odd quid for something which is identical to my Chromecast but 1080p instead of 720.

Thanks for the advice guys - food for thought.

I'm open to any other suggestions

Last edited by rustybin; 08-10-2014 at 12:43.
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 13:54   #124
MaxNutter
20
 
MaxNutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Timperley
Posts: 15,945
Thanks: 269
Thanked 893 Times in 510 Posts
Instructions on creating the Openelec usb stick:
http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php/HO...ey#tab=Windows

Harmony remote:
http://openelec.tv/forum/12-guides-t...complete-guide
__________________
"He has his mother's eyes..."
"I thought we had them?"
MaxNutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 14:05   #125
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxNutter View Post
Thanks for this, and I really appreciate the help, but at the moment it's a little too complex for me to be able to sort out.

The first guide starts with "You should have a file that has a .tar file extension" - What file? From where?

The remote guide lost me at the end with the Advanced Configuration Steps. I'm sure it would all become clearer once I got stuck in, but I'm reluctant given the money and effort it took me last year to get my Proliant Microserver set up, only to find now it's obsolete and I need another solution!

I've got a half-term coming up and if another solution doesn't present itself beforehand, this is looking like my HT project.
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 14:12   #126
MaxNutter
20
 
MaxNutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Timperley
Posts: 15,945
Thanks: 269
Thanked 893 Times in 510 Posts
the downloads link is on the left, under OPENELEC.tv. You probably want the top download from Generic Builds.

Yoir Proliant Microserver isn't redundant, I use mine as a file server. Plus, there's a Plex server for XBMC, or you can use Samba shares etc.

I'm guessing the Harmony remote will be more difficult. Openelec works with a normal IR Usb remote out of the box, or a PS3 bluetooth remote (with dongle) quite easily.

It can take a bit to set up, or at least to tweak it to satisfaction, especially the first time, but once you do, it'll be brilliant.
__________________
"He has his mother's eyes..."
"I thought we had them?"

Last edited by MaxNutter; 08-10-2014 at 14:14.
MaxNutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
rustybin (08-10-2014)
Old 08-10-2014, 14:24   #127
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
Perhaps redundant is a little harsh, but in order to use Plex on my XboxOne (my preferred option as it's already there), I've got to install Plex Media Server to my PC, link it to my Proliant NAS, then it's got to steam from there to my PC, then onto my XboxOne.

And it stutters like mad.

It can still be used as a media server as you say, but if I'm using my PC as a Plex Server, I might as well be using it for my SABNZB and Sickbeard too.

It's all far too complicated for something which should be relatively straightforward. And for a household which already has a decent PC, PS3/PS4/XboxOne and a Chromecast, it seems insane that I need to shell out another £130 on something which won't even work out of the box!
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 14:35   #128
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
How about a RaspberryPi? They can run openelec. They're not as powerful as the NUC but they're good enough for 1080p, and pretty cheap (£30ish).
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 14:40   #129
alsemail
Bibble....
 
alsemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,217
Thanks: 1,286
Thanked 874 Times in 482 Posts
If PLEX is stuttering there's either an issue with the settings or your network. I don't use it but have seen it used to stream full 1080p content with no issues at a friends house which is all wired up for using it in a multiroom setup connected to a Synology NAS.

If you have a decent NAS it can do it without the PC.

As to XBMC it does work off a USB stick but you might find it slow unless it's a very fast USB3 stick. I used a couple I had lying around while I returned a faulty SSD and there was a big difference. I got one of these for something else Sandisk 16GB Extreme USB3.0 Flash Drive and it works extremely well, it's one of the fastest USB sticks on the market.

If you don't want to faff about with the harmony and Xbox360 remote works out the box with the inbuilt IR port.

Last edited by alsemail; 08-10-2014 at 14:41.
alsemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 15:11   #130
MaxNutter
20
 
MaxNutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Timperley
Posts: 15,945
Thanks: 269
Thanked 893 Times in 510 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustybin View Post
It can still be used as a media server as you say, but if I'm using my PC as a Plex Server, I might as well be using it for my SABNZB and Sickbeard too.
my Proliant acts as the NAS storage for XBMC, runs Sickbeard, Couchpotato, Transmission, Mylar and SABNzbd/NZBGet, no bother.

Why go through the hassle of Proliant->Plex on a PC->XboxOne?

XBMC would 'replace' both the PC and XboxOne and leave you with Proliant (maybe running Plex?)->XBMC
__________________
"He has his mother's eyes..."
"I thought we had them?"
MaxNutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 15:23   #131
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxNutter View Post
my Proliant acts as the NAS storage for XBMC, runs Sickbeard, Couchpotato, Transmission, Mylar and SABNzbd/NZBGet, no bother.

Why go through the hassle of Proliant->Plex on a PC->XboxOne?

XBMC would 'replace' both the PC and XboxOne and leave you with Proliant (maybe running Plex?)->XBMC
Only because the XboxOne is already there - XBMC would mean another box and some faffing.

I'm likely to go for XBMC to be honest, as it would be an ultimate solution as I'm not interested in 4k stuff for several years if at all - I just want to be able to watch my films and TV!
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 15:36   #132
MaxNutter
20
 
MaxNutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Timperley
Posts: 15,945
Thanks: 269
Thanked 893 Times in 510 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustybin View Post
Only because the XboxOne is already there - XBMC would mean another box and some faffing.
it would, but it would remove the PC streaming Plex
__________________
"He has his mother's eyes..."
"I thought we had them?"
MaxNutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 15:40   #133
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxNutter View Post
it would, but it would remove the PC streaming Plex
That's not really an option anyway by the looks of things as the XboxOne Plex app is broken, or something's not right with my settings (and that's unlikely as it's pretty straightforward).
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 12:04   #134
shooter
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Wales
Posts: 416
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Another vote for the Pi. I use it mainly for 1080p movie rips and TV as well as listening to music. No problems whatsoever, it copes admirably with all file types.

Gonna give the TLBB v2 a go which is supposed to be easier to set up and use.
__________________
Get in the god damned hole
shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 16:01   #135
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 15,008
Thanks: 643
Thanked 867 Times in 636 Posts
I'm still using my boxee box despite having looked around for a replacement thing for ages.

Boxee now has NO ios apps that work as a remote..

Think I'm going to go down the route of Plex + Xbone + Kinect next, LOL. Running Plex server not an issue as can stick it on a VM in my home lab.
basegreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 16:28   #136
1966
Same as it ever was
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Guildford
Posts: 3,870
Thanks: 211
Thanked 111 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by basegreen View Post
Boxee now has NO ios apps that work as a remote..
Bit annoying that isn't it - especially as my actual remote died - I wonder why they disappeared?
1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 13:24   #137
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 15,008
Thanks: 643
Thanked 867 Times in 636 Posts
The official one vanished. Probably because it broke in ios7.

The only remaining working 3rd party one stopped working in ios8, and no future development.

Very annoying. Fortunately I have the remote still but...
basegreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2014, 18:13   #138
Bapapapa
ᗧ。。。。。。ᗣᗣᗣᗣ
 
Bapapapa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 15,524
Thanks: 155
Thanked 105 Times in 57 Posts
I use an ancient PCH with YAMJ and it streams everything from my Synology NAS without a hiccup..

Never managed to get my head round Plex, it always maxed out either my NAS or my PC (tested the server on both) just streaming to a Roku (what a bit of crap that is, btw! ), so just stick with the trusty PCH..
Bapapapa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2014, 18:21   #139
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You only really need something like Plex if you're streaming to a device that doesn't support certain formats natively. AFAIK the PCH plays most (all?) formats.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2014, 18:30   #140
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
The beauty of Plex is that it's an app, rather than a device...so if you have something under your TV that can already run Plex, you need one less box.
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can i use me omega ext hd as a media player throu usb port on dvix player Guest 2199 Computing Forum 3 13-08-2007 05:33
i'm using a external hdd as media player via divx dvd player, Guest 2199 Computing Forum 0 17-06-2007 12:55
Intermittent problem when using Media player, Real Player or Power DVD Guest 18584 Computing Forum 0 15-07-2005 13:27

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network