Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-11-2013, 20:19   #101
alsemail
Bibble....
 
alsemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,217
Thanks: 1,286
Thanked 874 Times in 482 Posts
Reading this on TLBB thread on the other forum you've posted on.

Quote:
There have been a few tweaks to the hardware too based on user feedback from the first batch in July & August.

Version 1.0 moved one of the USB ports internally to mount the RF dongle for the keyboard, leaving just one USB port. Revision 1.1 has now added an additional USB port to the side
Alternatively it may support a USB hub, I know my first gen WDTV was fine with one using a custom firmware.

Last edited by alsemail; 13-11-2013 at 20:21.
alsemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
no flipping (13-11-2013)
Old 13-11-2013, 20:30   #102
no flipping
Hunchback of Nostradamus
 
no flipping's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 3,848
Thanks: 534
Thanked 105 Times in 37 Posts
Thanks mate. Really helpful. Guess I should get a NAS to stream it all just not sure how it works as not too techy. Don't wanna spend much either.
__________________
Xbox live tag:Paulie Wallnutz
PSN: paulie_gualtieri
Wii U: paulie2703 / 3ds: 4785-4607-3575
no flipping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 11:36   #103
mikef
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Posts: 1,473
Thanks: 42
Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts
So, more by accident than design, I now have a Live TV and an Apple TV device. The Apple works straightaway with IOS devices (as you'd expect), though it seems to take quite a while to start streaming a recorded video from an iPad or iPhone. Watching trailers on it is a slow loading process also.

Will carry on poking around.

cheers

m
mikef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2013, 14:34   #104
grounded_dreams
I am Jack's movie cliche.
 
grounded_dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Leigh-on-Sea
Posts: 1,220
Thanks: 23
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Upto now to watch TV episodes and film, I have been putting them on a USB stick and playing then on my PS3 and using my Tritton - Pro+ Gaming Headset, decoder Box with 5.1 Surround Sound.

But now I have upgraded to a PS4 [I wont have enough space to use both consoles] only just learnt it cant use USB memory sticks [assumed it did due to the official statement about putting the latest firmware onto a stick to upgrade the console - but that is just in safe mode I have since found out].

So Im looking for an alternative way to watch the TV/movies and have been reading into the WD TV Live Media Player. But Im not sure if I will be able to attach my Tritton decoder Box to use with it. I have seen it has two USB slot, but cant work out if it allow me to link in the box as well for the surround sound.

Sorry if I'm not explaining this clearly enough, I'm not that well read into these media/audio setups.

Any help would be most grateful.
__________________
Flowers are essentially tarts. Prostitutes for the bees.
grounded_dreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 15:02   #105
no flipping
Hunchback of Nostradamus
 
no flipping's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 3,848
Thanks: 534
Thanked 105 Times in 37 Posts
Went for wd live. Plugged in 2 x 2tb hard drives but now just showing one as connected. The top bar says 'getting content info' which has been showing for ages. I can access the files on the hd via the video folder where my file sits and I can scroll through the titles from there . But it doesn't seem to be scanning the hd as from the dashboard under video it says no new items. I thought like boxee it would gradually scan the. Files and they'd appear somewhere.

Sorry hope this makes some sense.
__________________
Xbox live tag:Paulie Wallnutz
PSN: paulie_gualtieri
Wii U: paulie2703 / 3ds: 4785-4607-3575
no flipping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 17:47   #106
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
New update today

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/update...dfwdtv_live_G3

Everything feels smoother and snappier, and it's fixed the favourites problem the last update caused!
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 21:47   #107
hailesy
Anyone for Coffee?
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,131
Thanks: 325
Thanked 41 Times in 30 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustybin View Post
New update today

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/update...dfwdtv_live_G3

Everything feels smoother and snappier, and it's fixed the favourites problem the last update caused!
loads of new Apps too under services too, still had unblock us set to USA dns, looking good
hailesy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 07:48   #108
Boink!
Quite cross right now
 
Boink!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Part of Europe
Posts: 23,982
Thanks: 1,584
Thanked 3,904 Times in 1,310 Posts
I thought the delete item (only tried video) had disappeared, but it's now in the "Edit" menu.
Boink! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 07:49   #109
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boink! View Post
I thought the delete item (only tried video) had disappeared, but it's now in the "Edit" menu.
I discovered that last night too. Far better IMO and more child/wife friendly - less chance of accidental HDD wipes.
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2013, 00:20   #110
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Gut feeling is that this is a stupid question, but...

If you have a WD TV Live, and a WD Mybook with a folder full of TV shows, and another full of Movies - with the standard official software can you navigate a "nice" menu of show/movie cover art? Even if it requires putting JPG files in the folders or something like that?

I have a couple of family members who use their smart TV, but either they don't play DTS audio which means having to muck about converting files, or they have trouble with audio going out of sync.

Much as i have tried XBMC on the Raspberry Pi - it's just not consumer level enough for them.

I can buy the WD for under £60 including VAT so i am thinking of moving them over to that for watching stuff on their network drives and on Netflix.

Cheers
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2013, 06:39   #111
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
You can do exactly that. It does it all automatically.
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2013, 11:29   #112
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Hmm might just have to get one and try it. I know it'll lack the fling to airplay/xbmc facilities but i can live without that
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 13:35   #113
Guest 813
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 422
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just bought one for £60.

At last, i can watch a judder free movie on Netflix, as it plays back 24P content, my Apple TV/Google TV can't!

Youtube works nicely also from my iPod.

Can't seem to get past the spinning circle on BBC iPlayer recommended page though.

Last edited by Wayne Moule; 08-03-2014 at 20:06.
Guest 813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 13:48   #114
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
The hold Apple has over people is astounding. My brother-in-law was amazed at what his AppleTV couldn't do compared to this, and even though this is nearly half the price AND far superior in every respect, he still won't switch as he 'likes to keep all his stuff Apple'. Crazy.

Last edited by rustybin; 08-03-2014 at 13:49.
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 15:28   #115
alsemail
Bibble....
 
alsemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,217
Thanks: 1,286
Thanked 874 Times in 482 Posts
Apple make great, if a bit expensive, products.

AppleTV really is **** unless you buy into the whole iTunes thing and purchase/rent your media from it and are happy using inferior formats to encode your own content.
alsemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 07:07   #116
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
I'm still looking for a media player solution. Since my OP I've had a WDTV, which was great but a little sluggish. I'm now using my Chromecast with Plex which is great, but only 720p because of no Ethernet.

I was hoping to use Plex with my XboxOne, but you can only use it with the latest version of Plex Server, which my Synology Proliant Microserver won't run so that's a no unless I make significant chances to my set up.

So I'm still in the market. What do people use?

My set up is:-

Proliant Microserver in my study running Synology 4.2 with all my movies / TV on.

I have homeplugs in the lounge.

I want to stream from my share drives on the Server to my TV - I don't mind buying a small box, but I'd expect it to just talk to my shared drives - no other software needing to be installed on my PC or server. In fact I don't want to use my PC at all.

I'm going to give the Amazon TV box a go, but I don't see why Plex would work on that any better than Xbox/Chromecast, and I believe XBMC needs software installing elsewhere (I may be wrong with this).

ShakeyJake has recommended this on another thread: -
http://www.ebuyer.com/614389-intel-n...boxdn2820fykh0

Are there any other options which suit my requirements?
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 07:37   #117
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'm a big fan of OpenELEC, which is basically a version of Linux that installs (and can even boot) easily off a USB stick straight into XBMC. You don't need to know any Linux commands or anything and it's all controlled by a remote control (or keyboard and mouse if you like).

The only real downsides of it is that it doesn't supports things like Netflix and Amazon Instant, but will stream and play any kind of video or audio file you can think of over your LAN.

You can download a version of XBMC and run it on your PC to see how you get on with the interface, etc. or to see if it does all the stuff you want before going out and buying dedicated hardware at http://xbmc.org/download/
  Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
rustybin (08-10-2014)
Old 08-10-2014, 08:57   #118
MaxNutter
20
 
MaxNutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Timperley
Posts: 15,945
Thanks: 269
Thanked 893 Times in 510 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustybin View Post

ShakeyJake has recommended this on another thread: -
http://www.ebuyer.com/614389-intel-n...boxdn2820fykh0

Are there any other options which suit my requirements?
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Intel_NUC
http://www.umpcportal.com/2014/05/in...cbuntu-how-to/

I've used XBMC since the original Xbox days (when it was XBMP) and can't speak highly enough of it!

I've never really worked out what Plex brings to the table, does it do anything over and above what XBMC can do on it's own, or is it just to reduce workload on the client?
__________________
"He has his mother's eyes..."
"I thought we had them?"
MaxNutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
rustybin (08-10-2014)
Old 08-10-2014, 11:25   #119
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 917 Times in 487 Posts
So if I bought one of those £90 odd thingies, it would hold all the software, do all the transcoding etc and would happily speak to my Synology NAS to pick up all the raw files?

And plugging in into my TV via my Amp will deliver DD / DTS / 1080p etc?

Think I'll give it a go.
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 11:33   #120
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You still need a stick of RAM (2GB should be more than enough) and some kind of storage device. I've got an SSD in mine but I've heard of people using USB sticks. OpenELEC itself is absolutely tiny so the smallest SSD you can find will be fine if you're storing all your media on a NAS. Or if you've got an old 2.5" HDD spare that will be fine too (the one from a PS4 would be perfect).

Also you'd need a remote, if you've got something like a Harmony I believe they work but I don't use one myself so I'm not 100%. I use a USB CEC adapter and use my TV remote.

I'm not sure about audio as I'm a pauper that uses TV speakers but 1080p is fine.
  Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
rustybin (08-10-2014)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can i use me omega ext hd as a media player throu usb port on dvix player Guest 2199 Computing Forum 3 13-08-2007 05:33
i'm using a external hdd as media player via divx dvd player, Guest 2199 Computing Forum 0 17-06-2007 12:55
Intermittent problem when using Media player, Real Player or Power DVD Guest 18584 Computing Forum 0 15-07-2005 13:27

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network