Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14-03-2009, 15:42   #1
pompeyfan
Built for comfort
 
pompeyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Isle of Wight
Posts: 8,294
Thanks: 118
Thanked 41 Times in 20 Posts
DVI to multiple HDMI converter - is there such a thing?

I know you can get a straight DVI to HDMI converter, but what about a DVI to multiple HDMI converter with sound?

My TV has 1x DVI with HDCP with 2x phono next to it for the sound - is it possible to get a converter with automatic switching that will allow me to plug in 2 or 3 HDMI devices with sound (no surround atm so use TV speakers)? I want to be able to connect a blu-ray DVD player, Sky or Freesat HD box and the desktop PC (has HDMI out) to the TV.

Cheers
__________________
"Give a poor man a gun and he can rob a bank.
Give a poor man a bank and he can rob everyone."
pompeyfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2009, 17:57   #2
gothmog
fear my smilies
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Shipley, land of dancing
Posts: 1,700
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm not aware of any cheap HDMI switchers that will also switch analogue audio, so really the only thing that'll do what you want is an amp like the Onkyo TX-SR506 or other that can be had for around ~Ł200 witch will switch HDMI and phono and give you an upgrade path to surround
gothmog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2009, 18:28   #3
pompeyfan
Built for comfort
 
pompeyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Isle of Wight
Posts: 8,294
Thanks: 118
Thanked 41 Times in 20 Posts
Cheers, my best bet might be waiting and getting a bigger TV with a couple of HDMI on it then (current is 3 year old 32" lcd).
__________________
"Give a poor man a gun and he can rob a bank.
Give a poor man a bank and he can rob everyone."
pompeyfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
converter, DVI, freesat, HDMI, HDMI converter, HDMI Switch, Onkyo, Onkyo TX-SR506, TX-SR506

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a multiple Toslink remote controlled switch - does such a thing exist? Torf Home Entertainment Hardware forum 4 01-01-2009 20:59
hitachi analogue plasma can i connect hdmi dvd player using a signal converter? Guest 62359 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 0 01-08-2007 20:25
FtP same thing to multiple sites at once ? hookbeak Computing Forum 1 11-07-2007 09:00
is there such a thing as a HDMI card reader with no dvd ? Choccy Home Entertainment Hardware forum 0 15-01-2007 16:45
Multiple HDMI Devices on Same TV Guest 737 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 9 24-12-2005 14:14

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network