Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-08-2006, 20:56   #1
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,212
Thanks: 752
Thanked 371 Times in 274 Posts
Connecting two audio sources to a TV with only one pair of audio ins?

I have a Panasonic plasma and have my xbox 360 connected to it component hi def. However the telly only has one pair of actual audio ins which are next to the component inputs.

I've just bought an Oppo dvd player which connects via HDMI. However, I can't connect the audio outs to it. I connect the Oppo to my surround amp via 5.1 coax, but sometimes I don't want to listen through the speakers and just want to use the telly's speakers. What's the best way to connect both the Xbox 360 and the Oppo's stereo outs to the telly?

I saw one of these on the Maplin site - http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...itter&doy=23m8 - which looks like it might be ok. I can't see both the 360 and dvd player being on at the same time at all so would this be ok? Maplin

Last edited by Stevie G; 23-08-2006 at 20:57.
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2006, 14:39   #2
The Boogerman
mmmm...slanty
 
The Boogerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: in a flat
Posts: 1,972
Thanks: 15
Thanked 44 Times in 18 Posts
Should be fine. You can buy similar from most highstreet type shops. Possible worst case would be if both sources were on, you'd hear both. Just check that both output around the same level (ie you TV is on the same volume level for both).
The Boogerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2006, 18:49   #3
CARL
XBox Tag:Carl The Jackal
 
CARL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 2,626
Thanks: 162
Thanked 46 Times in 39 Posts
Am i missing something, The HDMI cable carries sound
CARL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2006, 20:03   #4
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,212
Thanks: 752
Thanked 371 Times in 274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CARL
Am i missing something, The HDMI cable carries sound
I'm wondering if it's because the Oppo as a DVI out which it converted to HDMI that there is no sound.
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2006, 20:33   #5
CARL
XBox Tag:Carl The Jackal
 
CARL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 2,626
Thanks: 162
Thanked 46 Times in 39 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie G
I'm wondering if it's because the Oppo as a DVI out which it converted to HDMI that there is no sound.
Yes it would be i`m not familiar with the Oppo so didn`t realise it only had a DVI output.

DVI carries picture only where as HDMI carries picture and sound.

That phono splitter would work but there is always the potential to get feedback or possibly overload the input on the tv, I would use some sort of phono switch box instead ?
CARL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2006, 20:54   #6
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,212
Thanks: 752
Thanked 371 Times in 274 Posts
Would I be able to get a lead that goes from DVI+audio to HDMI do you think?
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network