Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-10-2005, 17:45   #1
Guest 38314
CS:S Stole My Life
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Macclesfield
Posts: 698
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well I built my media server, but...

Specs as follows;

2.8 P4 Northwood (FSB 800, SKT 478)
512 Mb Ram (PC 3200)
Coolermaster Stacker Case (+ 2* 4 in 3 modules)
Pioneer 109 DVD
2* PCI IDE controllers
4* 250Gb IDE
1* 120Gb IDE
1* 120Gb SATA
1* 80Gb SATA (2*40Gb Partitions)
Seasonic S12 600W
XP Pro

Installing it all with this many drives was a nightmare!! I wanted it to boot from a 40Gb Partition of the 80 Gb SATA drive. This was fine but as soon as I installed the controller cards the system failed to boot

After many failed installs I've finally got it to work However it's made a right balls up of my drive lettering. You can see whats happened in the link below;

http://www.visualunderground.co.uk/CompManage2.GIF

It's installed the OS on F: and on C:, a 250GB video storage disk, it's saying it's a system disk. To my knowledge there are no system files on there

Is it possible to re-organise the letters, ideally I'd like;

c: 40gig boot partition
d: 40gig storage partition
e: 250Gb storage (used)
f: 250Gb storage (used)
g: 250Gb storage (1/2 full)
h: 250Gb storage (empty)
i: 120Gb storage
j: 120Gb storage

Even if I could get rid of the C: drive and start on d I'd be happy. But I cant rename it because it says it's a system disk

In addition is there a better proggy to get an overview of your hard disk status? I revised exporer etc? Some graphical representation of hard disk use would be very handy.

Cheers

Vis
Guest 38314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2005, 17:48   #2
IAmATeaf
Breast milk addict!
 
IAmATeaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Up Ya Arse!
Posts: 3,502
Thanks: 4
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
It is possible to rename the drive letter if the drive is not currently active so that rules out the system drive, have a look in Disk Administrator.

For multiple drives as above, I always find the best way to do an install is initially with a single drive installed that will be the boot device followed by the installation of individual drives when the OS is installed but I suppose this is too late for you now.
IAmATeaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2005, 18:58   #3
rsykes2000
carrying a dead walrus
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: norf
Posts: 3,119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Partition Magic can rename the system drive. It can also (I think) change the registry entries to change all from F to C.
rsykes2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2005, 22:47   #4
Guest 38314
CS:S Stole My Life
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Macclesfield
Posts: 698
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmATeaf
For multiple drives as above, I always find the best way to do an install is initially with a single drive installed that will be the boot device followed by the installation of individual drives when the OS is installed but I suppose this is too late for you now.
Bit the bullet and went for the reinstall with one drive connected. All sorted now (ish ). The master drive on IDE1 is still showing as a "system disk". Even tho it only contains video media. I can deal with this tho, it's just a bit weird.
Guest 38314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2005, 05:25   #5
Cirrus888
Original Account Deleted
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Posts: 3,914
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Double check the bios settings, reformat the HD if it was an old one and update the chipset drivers.

I agree always install hardware one at a time and troubleshoot any problems before moving on to the next piece.

Last edited by Cirrus888; 19-10-2005 at 05:26.
Cirrus888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network