Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2013, 14:56   #361
the thing with no name
ex-B&B owner
 
the thing with no name's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brecon Beacons
Posts: 4,613
Thanks: 242
Thanked 55 Times in 37 Posts
anyone got a good recommendation for a freebie bit of software to encrypt the contents of folders, particulalrly on a USB stick for windows
Our version of Win7 doesn't have bitlocker as standard

Ta
__________________
"I'd rather have a bottle in front of me, than a frontal lobotomy" - Tom Waits
the thing with no name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 15:22   #362
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 11,273
Thanks: 2,297
Thanked 2,455 Times in 1,053 Posts
TrueCrypt
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
the thing with no name (04-03-2013)
Old 31-03-2013, 22:00   #363
PAZ
Twiddler
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: I'm here
Posts: 1,101
Thanks: 9
Thanked 50 Times in 30 Posts
If you are a keen astronomer or just have a passing interest it's worth installing Stellarium from http://www.stellarium.org/

"Stellarium is a free open source planetarium for your computer. It shows a realistic sky in 3D, just like what you see with the naked eye, binoculars or a telescope.
It is being used in planetarium projectors. Just set your coordinates and go."
PAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
vaderag (01-04-2013)
Old 07-05-2013, 20:15   #364
JohnMac
XBL: JohnMacUK
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ramsbottom, UK
Posts: 9,302
Thanks: 14
Thanked 56 Times in 21 Posts
I love my Ambify App but then I've got 9 Philips H-u-e light bulbs in my flat apartment.

If you don't know what I'm talking about...


Edit: The other Philips Hue app you use to change the colour of the light bulbs hasn't had great reviews but I've found it more than adequate and it allows you to make your own scenes, share them and download other peoples' via the website. It is really cool to be able to drag individual light bulb icons (or groups of them) across any picture you've got and have the light change to that colour.

Last edited by JohnMac; 11-05-2013 at 10:33.
JohnMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 06:44   #365
Guest 85465
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 44
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Focuswriter by Gottcode - not sure if this has been mentioned already, sorry, peace you all guys.

If you want a distraction-free writing software. It's free though it would help if you donate to the author.
Guest 85465 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 21:08   #366
Welshlad
Taffy O'Jones!
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: South Wales
Posts: 3,868
Thanks: 11
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnMac View Post
I love my Ambify App but then I've got 9 Philips H-u-e light bulbs in my flat apartment.

If you don't know what I'm talking about...


Edit: The other Philips Hue app you use to change the colour of the light bulbs hasn't had great reviews but I've found it more than adequate and it allows you to make your own scenes, share them and download other peoples' via the website. It is really cool to be able to drag individual light bulb icons (or groups of them) across any picture you've got and have the light change to that colour.
OK, that is wicked. How does that work then?
Welshlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 15:49   #367
Guest 86153
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thats really cooool
Guest 86153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 22:59   #368
JohnMac
XBL: JohnMacUK
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ramsbottom, UK
Posts: 9,302
Thanks: 14
Thanked 56 Times in 21 Posts
I don't use the Ambify app very often it is the Phillips h-u-e main app I use with the lights mostly. Each light bulb is wifi enabled and communicates with the small round base unit which plugs into your router. Each bulb is numbered but I renamed all my bulbs to indicate where they were e.g. lounge lamp 2. You can then change the colour, saturation and brightness of the lights individually or in groups through the Phillips hue app.

The hue app has some interesting features. Once you have all the lights the way you want them you can save them to a colour scheme and activate it at the touch of you ipad screen. Pictures can be imported from your camera roll or you can even download user created colour schemes from their website (or upload your own). You can drag numbered light bulb icons around any picture and the lights will change to reflect that part of the picture. So if you want a sunset themed colour scheme, using a picture of a sunset is a good starting point. If that sounds cool then i can assure you it really is. One thing I would say is that if you plan to get these lights it is important to have white-ish coloured walls and ceilings. I recently moved into a flat and knew I wanted to get the Phillips Hue light bulbs so planned accordingly. I hope this answers your question.
JohnMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 11:37   #369
Guest 86277
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Plex Media Server - Really simple home media server with great support for iOS, Android, etc.
Guest 86277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 08:44   #370
vaderag
Gamertag: VaderAG
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bexleyheath
Posts: 6,953
Thanks: 387
Thanked 78 Times in 60 Posts
I haven't managed to get plex to work with my older Samsung tv's DLNA, so if you're looking for something for one of them, id also recommend Serviio which worked for me 'out the box'


Sent from my Lumia 625 using Tapatalk
__________________
@GambitUK
vaderag is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Chris Locke (24-09-2019)
Old 04-04-2014, 20:54   #371
Guest 86477
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Unfortunately,
Code:
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/105811-30-motherboard-monitor
(The End of Motherboard Monitor, MBM)

Couple of places to still get the last version released (not sure how useful it could be )
  • majorgeeks.com/files/details/motherboard_monitor.html
  • softpedia.com/get/System/System-Info/Motherboard-Monitor.shtml
Guest 86477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 21:03   #372
Guest 86477
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by driver8 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by the thing with no name View Post
Our version of Win7 doesn't have bitlocker as standard
TrueCrypt
Just btw., BitLocker is only available on the Ultimate and Enterprise Windows versions (which you already know, but anyway ).

P.S.
Code:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc766200%28WS.10%29.aspx#BKMK_NoTPM
^^ Reason enough, not to get/use it. xD
Guest 86477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2014, 16:32   #373
pigpicker
Too Orangey for Crows!
 
pigpicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: South Holland
Posts: 1,660
Thanks: 73
Thanked 29 Times in 18 Posts
Toss up between posting here or the finance forum but here goes ...

Does anyone know of an app (or even a service) that texts you your account balance on a regular basis to keep you aware of your ever-diminishing funds?
pigpicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2014, 22:38   #374
PAZ
Twiddler
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: I'm here
Posts: 1,101
Thanks: 9
Thanked 50 Times in 30 Posts
Surely you just use your bank's mobile app?
Nationwide has a Quick Balance button on theirs. You fire up the app (a couple of seconds) and press the button - no logging in required. You have to configure the app to allow this in the first place of course and can stop it at will. Superb.
PAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 10:17   #375
stephen
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,120
Thanks: 61
Thanked 263 Times in 186 Posts
Yes most banks have their own app
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2015, 10:19   #376
Guest 86917
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks for share list of threads. in my views
Kingsoft Office
Skype
Evernote
AVG security
zoom player
Guest 86917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 08:30   #377
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 11,273
Thanks: 2,297
Thanked 2,455 Times in 1,053 Posts
Finally we get an update to ICE - Microsoft's excellent photo panorama programme. Comes in 32/64bit, and has a couple of extra features, such as "intelligent fill" and "stop motion" from video.

Not tried it yet, but I did see mentioned that it's linked to Bing ads and a social panorama community, which may or may not put you off downloading (or you could try blocking with your firewall).

What is Image Composite Editor? (download)

MS Blog: Turn ordinary photos into panoramas
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 10:33   #378
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,196
Thanks: 19
Thanked 429 Times in 380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by driver8 View Post
Finally we get an update to ICE - Microsoft's excellent photo panorama programme. Comes in 32/64bit, and has a couple of extra features, such as "intelligent fill" and "stop motion" from video.

Not tried it yet, but I did see mentioned that it's linked to Bing ads and a social panorama community, which may or may not put you off downloading (or you could try blocking with your firewall).

What is Image Composite Editor? (download)

MS Blog: Turn ordinary photos into panoramas
I'll give it a try as been using the old version since 2011/2012.
I find Autostitch(64 Bit now also available,Prev just 32bit) to be more accurate at times but ICE has more options).
Autostitch is for Photos what Virtualdub is for Vid Editing...Built by 1/2 people at Uni and Autostitch is now licenced to be used in some retail software. www.autostitch.net
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2015, 18:23   #379
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 11,273
Thanks: 2,297
Thanked 2,455 Times in 1,053 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by driver8 View Post
Win10 unstable ? Mine is, after an NVIDIA driver update yesterday.

This is a good article (HowTo) -

(1) linking to BSOD viewer

(2) setup a desktop shortcut to the Windows Reliability Monitor (who knew ?!) - perfmon.exe /rel

EDIT - and one more - advanced users only, as it deliberately stresses your drivers (I don't want to do this just yet !) - MS OS Driver Verifier
.
.
.
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2016, 17:42   #380
larrymarr
Cant get there from here
 
larrymarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toomebridge, N.Ireland
Posts: 6,274
Thanks: 896
Thanked 1,001 Times in 581 Posts
AudioSwitch - https://github.com/sirWest/AudioSwitch/releases

allows you to quickly switch between audio devices, so in my case i've got a USB headset & also a Logitech speaker system, so I can now quickly flick between them (as in the screenshot below)

__________________
My Feedback

Last edited by larrymarr; 22-04-2016 at 17:46.
larrymarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network