Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2004, 16:31   #121
Guest 1673
Metal makes us strong
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Swindon
Posts: 1,654
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What are folks using now for spyware removal?

i always used SpyBot but since upgrading to SP2 and spybot no longer working i used the new version of adaware but not really liking it very much. any suggestions? would prefer avoiding any bloated/fancy interfaces and whatever else that isnt needed
Guest 1673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2004, 17:33   #122
Dan
Passed away :(
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 18,791
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Ad-aware SE for me.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2004, 12:20   #123
Spooky_uk
XBL/PSN : SPOOKYVILLE
 
Spooky_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 15,962
Thanks: 0
Thanked 80 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bezzant
What are folks using now for spyware removal?

i always used SpyBot but since upgrading to SP2 and spybot no longer working i used the new version of adaware but not really liking it very much. any suggestions? would prefer avoiding any bloated/fancy interfaces and whatever else that isnt needed
spybot still works for me after SP2 installed - as well as Ad aware Se and spysweeper - they all seem to catch different things...
Spooky_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2004, 09:03   #124
Guest 35798
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The Download link in Browser Hijack Blaster is broken...
Guest 35798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2004, 17:19   #125
Dan
Passed away :(
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 18,791
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilPingu
The Download link in Browser Hijack Blaster is broken...
Can't do anything about it as it's not my site.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2004, 12:36   #126
Guest 27300
Bear with me, I'm slow
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 4,107
Thanks: 11
Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
Dan, could you add a link to this site please:

http://www.processlibrary.com/

Which I've found very useful in indentifying odd things in Hijackthis! logs...
Guest 27300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2004, 22:05   #127
Guest 33132
PSN: Tomathee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Im using spybot and its removed most things but theres 2 that keep coming back (VX2/f and DSO Exploit). How do i get rid?
Guest 33132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2004, 09:40   #128
Guest 27300
Bear with me, I'm slow
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 4,107
Thanks: 11
Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
There's also a very nice site which automates analysis of Hijackthis! logfiles:

www.hijackthis.de

Thanks to bouncingjohn in this thread for telling us about it!
Guest 27300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2004, 20:33   #129
Guest 2199
3 kids, and a mortgage
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,470
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi anyone heard of this before, just run office scan and it shows java_bytever.a says its a malware and it modifies and trashes the hardrive!! nice!

not sure which application to run to get rid of it, office scan says that it cant be deleted

Last edited by stolt; 31-10-2004 at 20:34.
Guest 2199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2004, 23:17   #130
Guest 8994
Waiting for Nintencats
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: www.futbolplus.com
Posts: 774
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Anyone else having trouble updating AdAware?

Says its found and completed the update yet the bar is only on 5%

When reloading it reports that the reference file is missing or corrupt.

Been like this for a few days now
Guest 8994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2004, 23:27   #131
Guest 3627
GamerTag: Caygs
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Worcester Park
Posts: 8,442
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlFr
Anyone else having trouble updating AdAware?

Says its found and completed the update yet the bar is only on 5%

When reloading it reports that the reference file is missing or corrupt.

Been like this for a few days now
Yep, I found the only solution was to download the new shareware version, Ad-Aware SE Personal.
Guest 3627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2004, 10:12   #132
Spooky_uk
XBL/PSN : SPOOKYVILLE
 
Spooky_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 15,962
Thanks: 0
Thanked 80 Times in 46 Posts
Question

quick query. In spybot - everytime I run it it returns the "DSO Exploit" entry - anywhere to remove this permantley? Spybot says its an Explorer issue, but everything is fully updated and patched on my system. And yet it still returns everytime it is run....
Spooky_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2004, 10:57   #133
Guest 18858
Trusted User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,770
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hijackthis out of date

There is a newer version now. I got it from HERE

Dave
Guest 18858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2004, 11:01   #134
Dan
Passed away :(
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 18,791
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Updated.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2004, 14:39   #135
Spooky_uk
XBL/PSN : SPOOKYVILLE
 
Spooky_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 15,962
Thanks: 0
Thanked 80 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooky_uk
quick query. In spybot - everytime I run it it returns the "DSO Exploit" entry - anywhere to remove this permantley? Spybot says its an Explorer issue, but everything is fully updated and patched on my system. And yet it still returns everytime it is run....
anyone ??
Spooky_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 21:22   #136
Guest 16989
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooky_uk
anyone ??
Yeah, it's nothing to worry about - I looked into it once and it's Spybot giving a false report. People were talking about it on their website... There may be a way to fix it now but there wasn't when I checked it out...

I don't actually use Spybot anymore as I find Giant Antispyware to be hugely more effective - I occasionally run ad-aware as well but it never finds anything cos Giant does such a good job.
Guest 16989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 19:46   #137
Jimmyboy
^__^
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 15,613
Thanks: 79
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooky_uk
quick query. In spybot - everytime I run it it returns the "DSO Exploit" entry - anywhere to remove this permantley? Spybot says its an Explorer issue, but everything is fully updated and patched on my system. And yet it still returns everytime it is run....
Spooky_uk - I had this problem about 4 months ago. This is the one where spybot keeps finding 4? registry issues, cleans it ok, then you run spybot again and it's back right?. If so there is a way to remove it by going into the registry and editing. If you do a search on google you should find a detailed explaination of what to do at the computing.net? forum. That's where I got my info from.
Jimmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 19:49   #138
Guest 17778
Alias
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 9,012
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
If you have AdWatch running, along with Firefox and SP2, the chances of getting popups and ads is VERY small.
Guest 17778 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 11:54   #139
Guest 39946
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Crazy World of Arthur Brown
Posts: 939
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
anyone experienced spyware that they cant get rid of at all?
ive got some on my system which adaware, spybot, giant antispyware and Spy sweeper cant seem to find and get rid off. all of my spyware programs are up to date.
the pop ups seem to be for poker online, some ringtone site and the cheekiest one which says your computer may be infected by spyware! the pop ups use internet explorer, which I dont use as my browser. If I got rid of internet explorer would this do the trick?
Guest 39946 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 15:41   #140
Guest 42719
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i had some i couldnt remove, ad-aware cleaned it but it came back after a restart.

I eventually found a forum and stopped a service from services.msc and it never came back.
Guest 42719 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
Browsing, Email, Windows Update, windows.xp, Zonealarm

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network