Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21-03-2020, 08:55   #1
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,559
Thanks: 156
Thanked 357 Times in 250 Posts
TV audio out via HDMI ... ARC?

Hi all,

Stupid question but ... if I want to get my TV to output the audio through HDMI then that is what the ARC socket is for, right ?

I am trying to get the sound, from a Fire Stick, to go to my amp/switch rather than out of the TV's speakers.

Should I be able to plug the stick into, say, the TV's HDMI1 socket and then connect the TV's HDMI-ARC socket to the amp/switch ?

In theory, I could plug the stick directly into the amp/switch but I then lose the TV's CEC functionality which is currently letting my Harmony remote control the stick.

Anyone got any ideas?
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2020, 09:00   #2
Wooglie
Rurouni
 
Wooglie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Farnborough
Posts: 5,972
Thanks: 1,451
Thanked 1,007 Times in 436 Posts
Yes connect the amp via the ARC socket and make sure your TV is set to send audio on that connection and the amp is expecting it as well.
Wooglie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2020, 09:17   #3
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,559
Thanks: 156
Thanked 357 Times in 250 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wooglie View Post
Yes connect the amp via the ARC socket and make sure your TV is set to send audio on that connection and the amp is expecting it as well.
Thanks wooglie, I'll give that a try.

The TV only has two audio settings on it's menu; 'TV speakers' or 'HDMI/optical'. And it is on the 2nd already

Should any HDMI cable work if I am just interested in getting the audio signal to the amp ?
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2020, 11:19   #4
kanedaa
XBL: kanedaa
 
kanedaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 16,397
Thanks: 79
Thanked 1,778 Times in 1,179 Posts
Covering everything - You need to use the ARC socket on your ARC compatible amp.

Any cable should do.
kanedaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2020, 11:40   #5
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,360
Thanks: 980
Thanked 383 Times in 184 Posts
ARC is hateful, the quest to get it working would likely see Dan Brown writing a book about it and the steps needed have been considered as the final round for the launch of the krypton factor.

For something designed to make things so simple it never seems to be with forums full of questions on it

To get it to work on my Samsung TV I always have to ensure before enabling and then again after, I have to actually unplug the tv for at least five minutes ! Trust me. I have tried less.

Every combination of tv and amp seems to add extra and different steps.
I have a Sony tv and amp downstairs and you would think that be better, but nope

Luckily I don’t need to use it on that with each device going direct to amp.

You will get it working but it may need a few little tweaks
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2020, 11:58   #6
AndyWilson
--------old-geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 11,831
Thanks: 110
Thanked 334 Times in 166 Posts
I couldn’t get ARC working for ages with a new LG TV and fairly old Sony amp - the problem turned out to be the old HDMI cable. Replaced it with a newer one explicitly marked High Speed and the room filled with sound
AndyWilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2020, 12:41   #7
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,559
Thanks: 156
Thanked 357 Times in 250 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanedaa View Post
Covering everything - You need to use the ARC socket on your ARC compatible amp.

Any cable should do.
Ah, that might be an issue as I am not sure my switch has an ARC compatible connection.

UPDATE: Or rather the one I currently use possibly doesn't but I have just found another one I bought ages ago still in its box unused

Last edited by AdamBrunt; 21-03-2020 at 12:55.
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2020, 14:14   #8
qwakuk
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: .
Posts: 426
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Can you not plug the firestick directly into the map ?
qwakuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2020, 15:21   #9
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,559
Thanks: 156
Thanked 357 Times in 250 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwakuk View Post
Can you not plug the firestick directly into the map ?
That is what I have ended up doing as I couldn't get the ARC stuff to work at all

The only downside is the Harmony remote I have only controls IR devices not Bluetooth ones so we will need to the Stick's remote to hand for now.
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2020, 16:08   #10
qwakuk
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: .
Posts: 426
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
I have a hub so no issue, but no loner need a firestick as the Amazon app works greater through my Virgin Media V6 box
qwakuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2020, 16:18   #11
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,559
Thanks: 156
Thanked 357 Times in 250 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
That is what I have ended up doing as I couldn't get the ARC stuff to work at all

The only downside is the Harmony remote I have only controls IR devices not Bluetooth ones so we will need to the Stick's remote to hand for now.
Finally stumbled upon Flirc which allows the Harmony IR remote to replace the Fire Stick's Bluetooth remote.

The only downside is I don't have the voice control but I barely used that anyway.
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio from TV to amp via HDMI - help needed! sparkyrob Home Entertainment Hardware forum 11 11-12-2016 11:57
PS3 HDMI audio problem Guest 2106 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 4 15-12-2014 14:48
Another (daft) Question About HDMI & Audio!!!! Guest 24656 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 3 26-01-2008 15:20
HDMI and audio help. RCW Home Entertainment Hardware forum 4 04-08-2007 16:20
Any laptops with optical audio and HDMI? Guest 37362 Computing Forum 7 20-09-2006 16:21

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network