Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-04-2005, 10:25   #1
warney
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Home UK: Heart Oz
Posts: 1,980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 1 Post
DMR E50 Problem and Possible Upgrade ?

Hi guys, I bought the multi region format a few years ago (can't remember from where!) and I noticed this week that it won't play some of my region 1 dvd's - more often than not it won't play them, region 2 are fine.

Has anyone else heard of any problems like this ? I am thinking of buying another recorder to replace it now and if there is no simple fix to the above can anyone recommend a replacement (that will play ram discs) and the best place to buy ?

Thanks.
__________________
Twitter Me | Feedback Thread
warney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 06:54   #2
dazzM
is getting old
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bath
Posts: 2,433
Thanks: 133
Thanked 36 Times in 26 Posts
mine is fine so far.Let me know what dvds dont play on it so i can try the same on mine?
dazzM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 09:02   #3
warney
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Home UK: Heart Oz
Posts: 1,980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 1 Post
hi dazzm, alias season 3 (region 1) and king arthur (region 1). I'm wondering if it has something to do with later dvd's ? I'm going to check a few more today and will post here. Cheers.
__________________
Twitter Me | Feedback Thread
warney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 09:12   #4
dazzM
is getting old
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bath
Posts: 2,433
Thanks: 133
Thanked 36 Times in 26 Posts
i wouldnt of thought so. im up to date on most recent disks and i cant say ive had any problems with mine

As to buying a replacement, stick with Panasonic. Maybe one with a harddrive

http://ws4.richersounds.com/showprod...id=PANA-DMRE85

Last edited by dazzM; 24-04-2005 at 09:15. Reason: added link
dazzM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 20:33   #5
chachi
Fantasy F1 Champ 2010&11
 
chachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,194
Thanks: 421
Thanked 125 Times in 63 Posts
it's not an RCE issue is it?
chachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2005, 20:37   #6
dazzM
is getting old
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bath
Posts: 2,433
Thanks: 133
Thanked 36 Times in 26 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chachi
it's not an RCE issue is it?
If the world map comes up on screen, then it would be.
dazzM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2005, 11:38   #7
warney
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Home UK: Heart Oz
Posts: 1,980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 1 Post
No world map, it just freezes the DVD Recorder and I have to force it to turn off.

Ok, have decided to take the plunge and buy one of the following. If anyone can let me know what they think it would be appreciated. They are both available around the Ł185 mark for multi region. Not after a hard drive at the moment due to sky+ and tivo so straight forward dvd recorder :-

Panasonic DMRES10 or
Panasonic DMRE65

which one is the later model ?
cheers guys.
__________________
Twitter Me | Feedback Thread
warney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2005, 13:04   #8
chachi
Fantasy F1 Champ 2010&11
 
chachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,194
Thanks: 421
Thanked 125 Times in 63 Posts
I'm flogging a gently-used E60 atm in my thread if that might tempt ...
chachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 08:14   #9
warney
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Home UK: Heart Oz
Posts: 1,980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by chachi
I'm flogging a gently-used E60 atm in my thread if that might tempt ...
Sorry Chachi, didn't see your post mate.
__________________
Twitter Me | Feedback Thread
warney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 08:14   #10
warney
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Home UK: Heart Oz
Posts: 1,980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 1 Post
Ok guys.....a funny thing happened on the way to the forum ........

I decided on a last minute effort to try and get to the bottom of the the mysterious problem before ordering the new recorder !

OK here's the story so far ... some DVD's (Region 1) don't play and freeze the recorder and a forced shutdown is required. Other Region 1's work just fine ! Weird !

I decided to hit setup and see if there was anything obvious. I had a look around and decided to change the playback to NTSC when it is usually fine on PAL. The screen went black and white and slightly pixelly(!!). I tried the dvd again and guess what - it played !!! Now you can't watch a dvd in this shape so I stopped the dvd, hit set up and put it back to PAL. Tried to play the dvd and presto it worked !!!! As long as I do that with the problem dvd's it works !

Is it possible it could be a scart problem ? Sorry not a very technical report but the best I could do !!!!

W
__________________
Twitter Me | Feedback Thread
warney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network