Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-02-2021, 12:22   #1
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,665
Thanks: 1,084
Thanked 516 Times in 227 Posts
Homeplugs

Can anyone advise what the current “best” home plugs are
Don’t need anything overly complicated and techy but something that would get 4k Netflix playing and ideally, also broadcast wifi just to boost that as well ( but without having to mess about with user having to manually change networks on devices as move around house)

Cheers
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2021, 17:32   #2
scoobyood
Tony Danza
 
scoobyood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 9,849
Thanks: 1,112
Thanked 1,658 Times in 867 Posts
I have a few TP-Links 1000 Mbps 'HomePlug AV2 standard compliant' and they are rock solid.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08DVGRQ59

Brought them in 2017 and rarely need to reboot them. I did have 4 working fine at one point between upstairs and downstairs. I currently have 2 running between an upstairs spare room where the internet gubbins is and the living room TV. Runs 4K etc no problems. If I ping the Nvidia Shield under the TV from the computer upstairs, I get a steady 2-3ms.

However.. I am in a new build.. I think new wiring makes a huge difference. Beware.

Last edited by scoobyood; 24-02-2021 at 17:33.
scoobyood is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (24-02-2021)
Old 24-02-2021, 19:28   #3
zac
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I'll 2nd the tp-links, I have 5 set up, my sons use it for xbox/playstation gaming, my daughter and living room for streaming, and I have one in the office for stable Internet for working from home.
All have been rocksteady
zac is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (24-02-2021)
Old 24-02-2021, 20:00   #4
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 26,299
Thanks: 196
Thanked 375 Times in 261 Posts
Another vote for the tp-links. I have 4 of their AV1300 pass-through adaptors ( for WFH in my study, streaming in the lounge, for a wired XBox connection and obviously I next to actual router).

None of the ones I have though extend the WiFi - for that I have a Tenda 4 node MESH as well which is also rock solid throughout and a lot better to when I used to have a tp-link homeplug wifi-extender
AdamBrunt is online now   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (24-02-2021)
Old 24-02-2021, 20:19   #5
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,665
Thanks: 1,084
Thanked 516 Times in 227 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
Another vote for the tp-links. I have 4 of their AV1300 pass-through adaptors ( for WFH in my study, streaming in the lounge, for a wired XBox connection and obviously I next to actual router).

None of the ones I have though extend the WiFi - for that I have a Tenda 4 node MESH as well which is also rock solid throughout and a lot better to when I used to have a tp-link homeplug wifi-extender
Cheers all
Do tp link do a version with the wifi extension built in ?
It’s for my dad and the simpler / fewer devices the better

Also, do homeplugs still have issues with different “rings” on home wiring ?
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2021, 20:37   #6
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 26,299
Thanks: 196
Thanked 375 Times in 261 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunkle View Post
Cheers all
Do tp link do a version with the wifi extension built in ?
It’s for my dad and the simpler / fewer devices the better
They do, but the 1200 ones aren't cheap - https://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-Pow.../dp/B08LW5VPPV

Quote:
Originally Posted by dunkle View Post
Also, do homeplugs still have issues with different “rings” on home wiring ?
I believe so. And they need to be plugged directly into a wall socket for best results (and IIRC don't work at all if plugged into a 4-gang extension type thing with surge protection)

Last edited by AdamBrunt; 24-02-2021 at 20:46.
AdamBrunt is online now   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (24-02-2021)
Old 24-02-2021, 20:42   #7
scoobyood
Tony Danza
 
scoobyood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 9,849
Thanks: 1,112
Thanked 1,658 Times in 867 Posts
The different ring mains in your house are different circuits. Never going to get around that, the wiring won't join. It's usually only limited to kitchen circuitry though..

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
scoobyood is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (24-02-2021)
Old 24-02-2021, 22:20   #8
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 17,110
Thanks: 506
Thanked 1,711 Times in 591 Posts
You'll have to pay a fair bit to get a WiFi extender that automatically switches to that network as you move around. Most don't do it.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (24-02-2021)
Old 24-02-2021, 22:28   #9
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 26,299
Thanks: 196
Thanked 375 Times in 261 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bear View Post
You'll have to pay a fair bit to get a WiFi extender that automatically switches to that network as you move around. Most don't do it.
Was thinking that as well.

An extender can clone/extend the router's SSID but most of them won't automatically switch a device between them; if you start by connecting your device to your router's WiFi then - even if you are standing right next to the extender - if you can still reach the router you will stay connected to it.

This is one of the benefits of MESH over extenders - with MESH you automatically move from 'node' to 'node' as you move round the house
AdamBrunt is online now   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (24-02-2021)
Old 24-02-2021, 22:59   #10
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,665
Thanks: 1,084
Thanked 516 Times in 227 Posts
Cheers

Think will go for two separate things then

Parents house is very very solid 100 plus year terrace.
Wifi is terrible and drops quickly
Is there a “best” mesh system that would help him get wifi all over the house and ideally into the garden

Definitely has to be (a) fairly simple to setup (although I could do it once restrictions are lifted) ans (b) definitely needs to be simple to use with no requirement for him having to seek new wifi networks in his iPad etc

Cheers
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2021, 23:20   #11
Wooglie
Rurouni
 
Wooglie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Farnborough
Posts: 6,110
Thanks: 1,668
Thanked 1,114 Times in 476 Posts
My parents use the TENDA Nova MW3 mesh system which got good reviews and very easy to set up.
They just have the three pack, but you could add more if required.

Last edited by Wooglie; 24-02-2021 at 23:21.
Wooglie is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (24-02-2021)
Old 25-02-2021, 08:30   #12
shteve
[o]EvilTwinkle
 
shteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cov
Posts: 6,646
Thanks: 616
Thanked 928 Times in 648 Posts
I've got the Tenda MW6 mesh system. I did look at the MW3 but wanted the gigabit ethernet port over the fast ethernet. In reality it probably makes little difference as it was just to get a better wifi signal for the Shield. Also use the TP-Link homeplugs to connect the missus' office (mine is hard wired as the router is in here ).
__________________
I've got a signature and an avatar :p
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (25-02-2021)
Old 25-02-2021, 08:31   #13
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,665
Thanks: 1,084
Thanked 516 Times in 227 Posts
Cheers. Will look,at the tenda system

How do they work ?
Does one of them connect via cable to router and then you distribute around house and let that become your wifi network ?
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2021, 08:48   #14
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 26,299
Thanks: 196
Thanked 375 Times in 261 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shteve View Post
I've got the Tenda MW6 mesh system. I did look at the MW3 but wanted the gigabit ethernet port over the fast ethernet. In reality it probably makes little difference as it was just to get a better wifi signal for the Shield. Also use the TP-Link homeplugs to connect the missus' office (mine is hard wired as the router is in here ).
I got the MW3 as I didn't need the gigabit port - only got a 60Mbps broadband connection so didn't need it really. Thinking of upgrading now though as I will shortly have 1Gbps broadband available

IIRC the MW6 has other advantages of better range ( I think ) and it uses a separate signal for when the nodes are talking to each ( so that part doesn't impact your device connection speed )
AdamBrunt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2021, 08:52   #15
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 26,299
Thanks: 196
Thanked 375 Times in 261 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunkle View Post
Cheers. Will look,at the tenda system

How do they work ?
Does one of them connect via cable to router and then you distribute around house and let that become your wifi network ?
Pretty much.

You connect the first one ( which becomes the 'master' ) to the router via ethernet connection, put in 'bridge', NOT DHCP, mode and give it the same SSID and password as the router. And then turn the router's WiFi off. Then you just put the other nodes in other areas of the house and just turn them on

There is a mobile app as well which lets you monitor the MESH; status of nodes, which devices are connected to which nodes, etc
AdamBrunt is online now   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (25-02-2021)
Old 25-02-2021, 08:54   #16
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,665
Thanks: 1,084
Thanked 516 Times in 227 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
Pretty much.

You connect the first one ( which becomes the 'master' ) to the router via ethernet connection, put in 'bridge', NOT DHCP, mode and give it the same SSID and password as the router. And then turn the router's WiFi off. Then you just put the other nodes in other areas of the house and just turn them on

There is a mobile app as well which lets you monitor the MESH; status of nodes, which devices are connected to which nodes, etc
Cheers. He has budget of around 150 so may go for the mw6 to be future proofed
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Homeplugs Guest 16885 Computing Forum 6 10-04-2013 11:49
Homeplugs d.boyd1uk Computing Forum 94 21-08-2009 12:04

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.