Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2013, 21:24   #1
Guest 16885
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 611
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Homeplugs

I've been using a pair of "Hercules ePlug 200 Mini Pass Thru Duo" for about 7 months, and haven't had any issues with them.

This morning, I changed ISP, from Be* to BT. Following the new install, my homeplugs seem to be working intermittently, dropping connection every minute or so. Which as you can imagine is extremely annoying.

Spoke to BT, who said that I have to wait till tomorrow before they can look into it, something to do with my account not being fully set up yet. So in the meantime, I've tried connecting via a Cat 5e cable, and all seems to work fine, so it's clearly not a tech issue with BT, and is more than likely an issue with the homeplugs.

On reading up on the homeplugs that I bought, they seem to have form for developing faults after 6 months or so, so looks as though I've perhaps bought cheap, and will end up buying twice...

So, can anyone recommend a reliable pair of homeplugs, that won't fail after a few months, and are fine being left plugged in all of the time?
Guest 16885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 21:45   #2
reecie
Gamertag: Reecie
 
reecie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Playboy Mansion
Posts: 4,180
Thanks: 22
Thanked 79 Times in 60 Posts
Devolo. That's pretty much it lol
reecie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 07:56   #3
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Have you tried re-syncing them? It may help.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:10   #4
bigsimes
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 914
Thanks: 19
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
^^^
__________________
oh Eddie, what a sad waste of a young attractive life!
bigsimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 09:39   #5
Guest 16885
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 611
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I have, still the same.
Guest 16885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 11:37   #6
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 12,346
Thanks: 15
Thanked 315 Times in 303 Posts
So have you changed the modem/router or just the isp ?
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 11:49   #7
Guest 16885
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 611
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ian turner View Post
So have you changed the modem/router or just the isp ?
Both.

I've gone from Be* + Router, to BT Infinity 2, which comes with a new Router and a "Home Hub". So the router connects to the hub, whereby you then use the hubs Ethernet ports.
Guest 16885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Homeplugs d.boyd1uk Computing Forum 94 21-08-2009 12:04
Two 85mbps homeplugs for Ł45 AdminSpod Bargain Forum 18 02-06-2008 17:29

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.