Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2009, 22:39   #1
B0zza
Awaiting a package
 
B0zza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Zummerset
Posts: 2,372
Thanks: 14
Thanked 87 Times in 34 Posts
Upgraded from Macbook to Macbook Pro and swapped the drives. Missing something?

I've just upgraded from my c3 year old white plastic Macbook to one of the aluminium Macbook Pros (brought from the general classifieds on here, as it happens).

My Macbook had a 250gb Snow Leopard drive in it, full of my music, photos etc etc.

The Macbook Pro had a virginal Snow Leopard 160gb drive in it.

I'll probably sell the old Macbook so thought I'd just swap the drives over - saves hassle in copying over apps, data and reconfiguring etc.

I've done that now and am using the Macbook Pro but am now wondering if this is the correct approach. Are there features of the Macbook Pro that the O/S won't know about because it was installed on another machine? Should I re-install Snow Leopard afresh on here regardless?

One thing I've noticed, for example, is the battery life seems to be reported as per the Macbook, ie a life of 2.5-3 hours, not the 7 or so hours I'd expect.
B0zza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 00:15   #2
Guest 53380
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 576
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Swap the internal hard-drives that they were shipped with? If we were talking PC's here this would cause problems because drivers etc would have been installed specifically for the hardware (chip type, graphics card, memory etc) available on the original machine. As this is a Mac, the hardware is more standardised but you're still dealing with two different generations with different spec hardware. Then again, don't know much about Macs!

Incidentally we have an old white Macbook I think the same as yours - the internal HD has died and we have as a temporary solution got the OS installed on an external drive. Is it easy enough to buy and install a new internal HD to start again from scratch? I asked at the Apple store and they of course said it would be a big job for them to do and I should book an appointment.

Will any of these 2.5 ones be up to the job?
Guest 53380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 00:30   #3
B0zza
Awaiting a package
 
B0zza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Zummerset
Posts: 2,372
Thanks: 14
Thanked 87 Times in 34 Posts
It's very easy and takes about 5 minutes. All you need is a Philips Ph0 screwdriver to undo 3 screws. The rest, including the removal and re-insertion of the drive requires no tools.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-2CxS...ayer_embedded#

Yep - any 2.5" SATA drive should do the job.
B0zza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 01:45   #4
Guest 53380
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 576
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Fantastic - thanks for the info. Does that screwdriver have a special head or is it just basically a Phillips one with a longer shaft good for Macs?

I'm a bit perplexed with the Apple staff I talked to - I have found them all totally honest in the past even with recommendations from them for stuff they don't actually sell in their shop. But this guy gave me the impression that it's a big job and it wouldn't be cheap - and he couldn't even give a rough quote because 'it depends on how damaged the HD was' - but I just wanted it swapping regardless! oh well.
Guest 53380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 19:05   #5
KAC
Rescue El Presidente...
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London, England
Posts: 893
Thanks: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by B0zza View Post
I've just upgraded from my c3 year old white plastic Macbook to one of the aluminium Macbook Pros (brought from the general classifieds on here, as it happens).

My Macbook had a 250gb Snow Leopard drive in it, full of my music, photos etc etc.

The Macbook Pro had a virginal Snow Leopard 160gb drive in it.

I'll probably sell the old Macbook so thought I'd just swap the drives over - saves hassle in copying over apps, data and reconfiguring etc.

I've done that now and am using the Macbook Pro but am now wondering if this is the correct approach. Are there features of the Macbook Pro that the O/S won't know about because it was installed on another machine? Should I re-install Snow Leopard afresh on here regardless?

One thing I've noticed, for example, is the battery life seems to be reported as per the Macbook, ie a life of 2.5-3 hours, not the 7 or so hours I'd expect.
There haven't been any new MBP models released since Snow Leopard arrived, so your MacBook install should work just fine in the new machine. Try recalibrating your battery to see if that helps. http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1490
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
Macbook

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Pro Roger Belly Computing Forum 4 31-08-2008 17:42
All new iMacs and upgraded Minis ... & now MacBook Pro! Guest 20614 Computing Forum 103 13-11-2006 15:29
Swapped Sky Pace box for Grundig box and now channels missing? Guest 49113 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 0 20-03-2006 14:02

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.