Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2008, 17:54   #1
d.boyd1uk
[DVDF]boyde2k7
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Swansea, Wales
Posts: 6,113
Thanks: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Homeplugs

Are homepugs anygood?
I have a poor signal in the attic and virtually no connection with the xbox 360.
How do they work, have router downstairs with 2 laptops on the 1st floor with good signals, just wanted the homeplugs for the 360.

Any advice
d.boyd1uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 18:33   #2
Guest 1241
Mr Unhelpful
 
Guest 1241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Dark Realm that is North Cornwall
Posts: 4,855
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
mine work like a charm, plug 1 into a socket by the router, cat 5 from it to a router RJ45 port. plug 1 in by the xbox, plug the 360 into it. If you're streaming to the 360, you'll need the faster homeplugs.
Guest 1241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 18:40   #3
BigH
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Brighton
Posts: 5,396
Thanks: 20
Thanked 36 Times in 27 Posts
devolo are the daddy - you'll wonder how you ever managed without them
__________________
I love my dead gay son
BigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 19:24   #4
JCTurner
Peering in your window...
 
JCTurner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lanarkshire
Posts: 1,752
Thanks: 73
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I agree-I run a homeplug from my study to my bedroom so I can stream TV / vids to my XBOX V1 - works great !
__________________

Visit my Flickr Gallery HERE !
JCTurner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 22:18   #5
Guest 10361
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,026
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Best way to think of them is turning your mains into a long cable. So plug one in where your cable would start and put a patch lead into it and into your device. Likewsie at the other end. You can add encryption if required and/or associate them all together in a network but it's not mandatory - I did as I was getting some interference from my neighbour's equipment (aherm!). Highly recommended when wireless isn't up to the job.

Last edited by steford; 05-11-2008 at 22:19.
Guest 10361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 23:02   #6
ndwall
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Norwich
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have 4 homeplugs I would recommend them I have even managed to get one to work in the garage which is detached from the house
ndwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 00:40   #7
The Boogerman
mmmm...slanty
 
The Boogerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: in a flat
Posts: 1,972
Thanks: 15
Thanked 44 Times in 18 Posts
I have devolo too. My only reservation with the technology (the network connectivity works perfectly) is not knowing (my fault) how much electricity they consume.
__________________
Frank Zappa - Politics is the entertainment branch of industry.
The Boogerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 08:21   #8
Guest 782
Bhoona
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 447
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
highly recommended, esp when normal wifi won't reach. Easy to set up too!
Guest 782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 08:25   #9
d.boyd1uk
[DVDF]boyde2k7
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Swansea, Wales
Posts: 6,113
Thanks: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hi

will these be suitable for xbox live?

Devolo MicroLink dLAN Highspeed Starter Kit

Last edited by maddogsuk; 06-11-2008 at 09:05. Reason: Please remember the affiliates
d.boyd1uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 08:34   #10
Guest 10361
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,026
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No experience of Devolo but they will do the job yes
Guest 10361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 08:46   #11
Guest 49495
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,512
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Homeplugs are the only things I've ever bought that worked first time, with zero config and have worked ever since.

Can't recommend them enough. So much less hassle than wireless.
Guest 49495 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 10:55   #12
d.boyd1uk
[DVDF]boyde2k7
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Swansea, Wales
Posts: 6,113
Thanks: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have ordered the homeplugs but noticed they will not dispatch till 19th Nov.
Do any companies price match amazon?
d.boyd1uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 11:15   #13
dysfunction
SA's are eminently wise
 
dysfunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere where I dont know where I am
Posts: 1,403
Thanks: 3
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
These people are quite competitive on price...

http://www.dsl-warehouse.co.uk/Categ...&CnL2=HomePlug
dysfunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 11:15   #14
carlito8
XBL - Carlito8
 
carlito8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: York
Posts: 2,640
Thanks: 17
Thanked 61 Times in 37 Posts
The ones you ordered were the slower models (85Mb), would be fine for live play but you might need the faster ones for streaming HD content. The Max value ones get good reviews at a tenner cheaper and are available straight or they do the 200Mb versions at £60.

Max value twin pack at £39.99

Thinking of going for some myself soon.
carlito8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 11:18   #15
carlito8
XBL - Carlito8
 
carlito8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: York
Posts: 2,640
Thanks: 17
Thanked 61 Times in 37 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dysfunction View Post
These people are quite competitive on price...

http://www.dsl-warehouse.co.uk/Categ...&CnL2=HomePlug
Wow, a lot more expensive for the Devolo twin pack (£86.98 plus postage !)
carlito8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 12:03   #16
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 26,359
Thanks: 197
Thanked 376 Times in 262 Posts
Agree with other posts saying how good/easy to setup homeplugs are.

However, one word of warning. Was setting up some homeplugs for my OH's aunt last month. 3 in all (1 in the lounge, 1 in the study and the other in the loft conversion). The loft homeplug refused to see the network and after much trial and error we decided to try moving the homeplug to one of the bedrooms (on the floor below) whereupon it started working. My OH's uncle couldn't remember if the loft was on the same ring main (or whatever it's called) but something was stopping it working.
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 13:24   #17
d.boyd1uk
[DVDF]boyde2k7
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Swansea, Wales
Posts: 6,113
Thanks: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlito8 View Post
The ones you ordered were the slower models (85Mb), would be fine for live play but you might need the faster ones for streaming HD content. The Max value ones get good reviews at a tenner cheaper and are available straight or they do the 200Mb versions at £60.

Max value twin pack at £39.99

Thinking of going for some myself soon.

Just ordered those, cancelled the devolo ones, cant wait a couple of weeks
plus i had free next day delivery cos i signed upto 1 click ordering

crosses fingers and hope they work (usually in my case NOT)

Last edited by d.boyd1uk; 06-11-2008 at 13:25.
d.boyd1uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 14:34   #18
BigH
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Brighton
Posts: 5,396
Thanks: 20
Thanked 36 Times in 27 Posts
only thing that has disappointed me about Homeplugs is the transfer of files across my network

I assumed that Homeplugs would be just the same as using cables.

Internet downloads are at full speed, but copying say a 400MB file takes ages in comparison (10 mins with Homeplugs but less than a minute using cable/flash drive) - have to use memory stick now
__________________
I love my dead gay son
BigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 14:35   #19
dysfunction
SA's are eminently wise
 
dysfunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere where I dont know where I am
Posts: 1,403
Thanks: 3
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
It all depends how good your wiring in the house is...
dysfunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 14:39   #20
richieuk
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Exeter
Posts: 1,779
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 17 Posts
Ebuyer have Zyxel 200Mbps homeplugs at £25 each
richieuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
Homeplug, Networking, Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Homeplugs and routers Guest 33558 Computing Forum 3 31-08-2008 20:50
Two 85mbps homeplugs for £45 AdminSpod Bargain Forum 18 02-06-2008 17:29
Homeplugs - Some advice please stu_69 Computing Forum 4 04-10-2007 15:04
Question about Homeplugs BigH Computing Forum 13 18-09-2007 09:39

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.