Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gaming Forums > Video Games Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-01-2006, 16:49   #1
Guest 26434
Pogue Mahone
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Nintendo official RGB cable for GC

Does anyone know where I can get this for a good price? Everywhere seems to sell them for £20.

I do have an Amazon £10 voucher I could use towards it if neccessary, but I'd rather use it on something else and buy the cable cheaper elsewhere..but it isn't looking like its going to happen!
Guest 26434 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 17:13   #2
Questor
Pharmatron
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Currently in Melbourne
Posts: 3,179
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
They're notoriously expensive - I think you might have to bite the bullet, as third party ones are never properly RGB wired, and with everywhere getting rid of their cube stuff, it'll be mighty hard to find one anywhere else

Tried your local Gamestation though, as they often have second hand cube stuff in - I got a Mem card 251 for £3 the other day
Questor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 17:44   #3
DB2k
Mother Goose you pussy!
 
DB2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: White Hart Lane
Posts: 7,552
Thanks: 15
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
its worth it. None of the 3rd party ones can hold a torch to it.
DB2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 18:35   #4
Refrenz
Phantom Raspberry Blower
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Button Moon
Posts: 2,225
Thanks: 57
Thanked 11 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DB2k
its worth it. None of the 3rd party ones can hold a torch to it.
Seconded. I tried a third party RGB cable and it decided to add diagonal lines of interference across the screen, possibly due to poor shielding on the wires or something. I gave in and got the official lead and it gives a perfect picture.
Refrenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 18:48   #5
Questor
Pharmatron
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Currently in Melbourne
Posts: 3,179
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
I remember the first time I plugged my RGB cable in - I was blown away, Metroid PRime looked great even on my crappy telly
Questor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 20:49   #6
earl_roberts2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,677
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
If you buy the official cable though you can't use Dolby Pro Logic II which many of the games support as it doesn't have additional audio cables on the scart
earl_roberts2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 22:28   #7
Guest 54731
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 424
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The official one is much better than the 3rd party ones, I was lucky enough to pick one up for £8 when Dixons chucked their stock
Guest 54731 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 22:33   #8
anephric
Kidney Thief
 
anephric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 22,698
Thanks: 33
Thanked 120 Times in 76 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by earl_roberts2002
If you buy the official cable though you can't use Dolby Pro Logic II which many of the games support as it doesn't have additional audio cables on the scart
Can't you just feed the amp from the L+R audio-out of your tv? That's what I do.
__________________
www.khaaan.com
anephric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2006, 22:55   #9
Guest 30754
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 534
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by anephric
Can't you just feed the amp from the L+R audio-out of your tv? That's what I do.
My tv doesn't have audio out, but my scart cables goes into the argos scart switcher, which does have a pair. This is really handy as 3 devices can go into the amp with one set of audio cables.
Guest 30754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2006, 16:10   #10
Refrenz
Phantom Raspberry Blower
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Button Moon
Posts: 2,225
Thanks: 57
Thanked 11 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by earl_roberts2002
If you buy the official cable though you can't use Dolby Pro Logic II which many of the games support as it doesn't have additional audio cables on the scart
I have the official cable and enjoy Pro Logic 2 sound as my TV has onboard pro logic 2 decoding. Failing that, I would have also fed it through my Argos SCART switcher box to an amp.

Last edited by Refrenz; 19-01-2006 at 16:12.
Refrenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2006, 17:09   #11
earl_roberts2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,677
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I guess I stand corrected! It was just something I heard a long time ago.....
earl_roberts2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2006, 18:14   #12
Guest 1046
Creamstick Bandito
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 2,007
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I got the three-in-one PS2/Cube/XBox RGB cable from Maplin, and the picture quality is just superb. You can plug all three consoles in, with a switch to select which one you want to use, and it terminates in one SCART. It was £12.
Guest 1046 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.