Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-07-2004, 10:21   #1
Guest 17980
One Hit Wonder
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Up with the stars
Posts: 2,385
Thanks: 13
Thanked 6 Times in 1 Post
Question New iPod and an existing installation of iTunes

I have been using the PC version of iTunes since shortly after it was released last year (cannot remember which version now, but it is not the latest version 4.6).

I will be buying a 20gb iPod soon and understand (although it rather goes without saying) that I will need to install the iPod drivers. The installation process apparently also installs iTunes.

My question is simply whether my understanding is correct regarding the subsequent installation of iTunes when installing the iPod software. Will it detect the previous installation so that I do not lose the mp3s that I have already inputted (including playlists, ratings and album cover art)?

Also, what version of iTunes do current iPods ship with? Is it the latest version 4.6? Are there any issues with this over the previous versions of iTunes?

Thank you
Guest 17980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 12:30   #2
KAC
Rescue El Presidente...
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London, England
Posts: 893
Thanks: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had iTunes already installed when I got my iPod and after the iPod stuff had finished installing I just skipped the iTunes installation and everything was fine.

I don't know which version of iTunes currently ships with iPod's but IIRC, all 4.6 does is stop you playing iTunes AAC files that have had the DRM stuff stripped off.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 12:55   #3
Guest 17980
One Hit Wonder
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Up with the stars
Posts: 2,385
Thanks: 13
Thanked 6 Times in 1 Post
Thank you KAC So the iPod installation allows you to skip installing iTunes?

Is there anything else I need to know when installing a new iPod over an existing installation of iTunes or is it all fairly straightforward?

(Actually, I think 4.6 allows you to drag .wma files for conversion to AAC too).
Guest 17980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 17:37   #4
Guest 38513
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Next door
Posts: 639
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No, it should just ask you to enter your iPod details and that should be it.
Guest 38513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.