Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-02-2021, 21:41   #181
Wooglie
Rurouni
 
Wooglie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Farnborough
Posts: 6,080
Thanks: 1,608
Thanked 1,087 Times in 465 Posts
Let us know how it goes.
Wooglie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2021, 21:48   #182
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 27,931
Thanks: 1,344
Thanked 1,009 Times in 607 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wooglie View Post
Let us know how it goes.
Oh yeah, for sure.
It's either going to be the best (not that much money) I've spent in years to save me typing to log into Windows, and remember Master Passwords, and will work like a dream.

Or it will be an utter pain in the rear end, struggling to get it to work, and/or is does not work as expected.

I'll soon see.
Oh, and if it does work I'll buy the exact same setup for my other PC

Will report back (fingers crossed)
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2021, 22:42   #183
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,481
Thanks: 613
Thanked 1,811 Times in 630 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
fingers crossed
Don't cross your fingers - that'll confuse the reader.

Hope you have better luck than me. My fingerprint reader logs me into Windows, but that's where the fun ends.



Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Tempest (24-02-2021)
Old 23-02-2021, 22:48   #184
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,946
Thanks: 153
Thanked 305 Times in 221 Posts
So I got the finger print working with Bitwarden and you have to install the desktop app and unlock that first before you can use it to unlock you browser ext. Bit of a faff.
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Tempest (24-02-2021)
Old 24-02-2021, 06:18   #185
driver8
M0D2.0 (trainee)
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 11,944
Thanks: 2,728
Thanked 2,858 Times in 1,253 Posts
Bought a Sony laptop in 2007 that had a fingerprint reader, and it was "last years's model" at the time, albeit top end. I wonder why they didn't take off?

And I wonder why you can't buy a PC monitor/keyboard with one built in ... that would be really handy!

Now the fingerprint readers on phones are so good, there's no excuse.

EDIT - looks cool, but obviously didn't take off (at $129).

Microsoft EKZ-00001 Modern Keyboard with Fingerprint ID - and - PC Mag review



"... steps for registering your fingerprint with the PC. This includes pressing the fingerprint key several times so it can catch enough different angles of your unique fingerprint to identify you properly. Once that’s done, you just press the finger you scanned onto the dedicated key each time you want to unlock your computer. Though it's a modest creature comfort, I enjoy this feature. It makes me never want to type in a password again."

Last edited by driver8; 24-02-2021 at 06:19.
driver8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2021, 20:08   #186
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 27,931
Thanks: 1,344
Thanked 1,009 Times in 607 Posts
Update time.

Fingerprint reader, attached to a 1.5m USB lead, which is attached to a powered hub, which is then connected to the PC

As it's more oblong, (like a tiny tiny sheet of A4 paper) I originally was going to have it in a more Portrait, but after a few tests, it seemed windows preferred it in a landscape mode.

Anyway..... Plugged it in, windows detected it, and said "setting up" then "it's ready"
I did not have to install any drivers.
Went to windows setting set it up, followed by a windows PIN as a backup (not sure why)
But yes, it appears to work perfect so far.

Got Bitwarden up and running, and yes, agree, it's a very clungy system.
Load up web browser, then click on the extension, it then says waiting for the desktop app, which you need to unlock, then it tells the extension to unlock.
Not quite perfected in what order, so it's a double fingerprint at the moment.

Anyway... Yes it seems to work perfect, and Yes Bitwarden need to fix? this as it's super clunky way of doing it.

A bit like your garage door won't unlock, unless you open your front door 1st, then the front door tells the garage door it can open.....

====UPDATE====

Can't seem to avoid having to do fingerprint twice with Bitwarden
(don't get me wrong, still way easier than password, but can I improve this?)

Load up web browser, and click on extension and then biometrics.
It says I need to load the desktop app.
I load the desktop app, and have to use my fingerprint to log in, then go back again to the extension click on biometrics, it then says speaking to the desktop app, which then asks a second time for my fingerprint, which then unlocks the extension.

Or:

I 1st load up the desktop app, and log in with fingerprint.
I then load up the web browser, click the extension, it then asks the desktop app to again ask for my fingerprint.

Either way it seems you need to do a double fingerprint.
Once to actually open the desktop app.
Then again when the extension needs to talk to the desktop app.

Again. better than remembering passwords, but still, what a painful way of doing it.
Perhaps extensions themselves can't ask for biometrics?

==edit again==

Looking online there are various user comments about this unlocking method, so no need to add my voice, as I'm sure they are well aware of what improvements could be made.
Seems odd you need to load the desktop app 1st which then talks to the browser plug-in which feels like they had to do it this way as no sane person would chose to

Last edited by Tempest; 24-02-2021 at 21:22.
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2021, 23:18   #187
Wooglie
Rurouni
 
Wooglie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Farnborough
Posts: 6,080
Thanks: 1,608
Thanked 1,087 Times in 465 Posts
Which fingerprint reader did you get?
Wooglie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2021, 07:08   #188
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 27,931
Thanks: 1,344
Thanked 1,009 Times in 607 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wooglie View Post
Which fingerprint reader did you get?
This is the reader which I chose after reading the reviews on many of them, and to be fair this works perfect.
Detects fingerprint pretty much instantly:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07VK71TST/

I also bought this USB extension which holds this fingerprint reader at a nice upright angle for use on your desktop.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B001K9BFB8/

As I said, no drivers needed for me to find, and so far working perfect.
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Wooglie (25-02-2021)
Old Yesterday, 10:25   #189
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,946
Thanks: 153
Thanked 305 Times in 221 Posts
Went ahead and deleted my LastPass account last night.

Anything able to get autofil to work on Android without using Accessibility?

Android 10/11 were supposed to allow you to set autofil at a system level but neither Bitwarden or LassPass ever worked. I always have to enable Accessibility.
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 21:17   #190
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 27,931
Thanks: 1,344
Thanked 1,009 Times in 607 Posts
Funny you should say this.

I have Brave browser on my phone (and desktop actually)
And of course Bitwarden also.

I did wonder why I was not apparenty to me that Bitwarden was ever offering to fill in passwords.
Though on my phone it's not so obvious anyway, as most very important things fingerprint unlock anyway, and other things I'm already logged into.

Anyway, it turns out Bitwarden would never have offered anyway as I'm not turned on that feature (to be honest I never knew I had to turn it on) and did so this morning.
In the app settings on the phone at the very top:
"Autofill Services" ENABLED

As far as I can tell this seems to work as I logged out of these forums a moment ago on my phone, tapped on the username box to log back in, Bitwarden said I needed to use my fingerprint to unlock Bitwarden, and upon doing so it showed my my recorded details for these forums, which I tapped on and it filled out username/password fine.

As far as I know I don't have anything in Accessibility turned on, on my Pixel 3XL phone.

As an addition I just logged out of the mobile app from "hotukdeals"
Bitwarden was thrown a bit when I tried to log back in, as the app must link to a different website behind the scenes, so I went back into Bitwarden and created another entry for "hotukdeals - mobile app" saved this, gave it a few moments to be sure it's all synced across devices, and tried again, the bitwarden prompt came up and it was able to fill out the username/password fields in this app ok.

Not tried any others yet, but it looks to be working ok.
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 23:53   #191
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,481
Thanks: 613
Thanked 1,811 Times in 630 Posts
Quote:
As an addition I just logged out of the mobile app from "hotukdeals"
In an entry, you can have multiple URLs. Android apps (for example) use weird URLs compared to websites, so Bitwarden won't be able to match.
Here's my Asda record for example.



This way, you don't create duplicate entries - no need for 'mobile app' records.

If you click 'edit' you can add extra URLs (OK, or URIs).



Doesn't seem to be a 'merge' option to handle this easier. Maybe in another version...

Last edited by Chris Locke; Yesterday at 23:57.
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Tempest (Today)
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
hacking, passwords, Phishing, threat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's time to update my web site.... Guest 17513 Computing Forum 42 15-03-2012 15:21
Nokia: Auto-update of date & time Guest 20850 Mobile Phone and Satellite Navigation Forum 11 02-11-2008 01:18
SE W950i time update problem MaleStrom Mobile Phone and Satellite Navigation Forum 1 17-04-2007 19:11
Windows Update time again internetuser Computing Forum 10 10-02-2005 01:33

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.