Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27-11-2020, 18:26   #861
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 26,234
Thanks: 196
Thanked 373 Times in 259 Posts
So, it turns out the sites my other half would be potentially updating all currently use the Elementor add on.

Not sure if that is a plus or not but, judging by YouTube, it would certainly seem to make the task of content changes a lot easier
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2020, 18:35   #862
driver8
M0D2.0 (trainee)
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 12,050
Thanks: 2,837
Thanked 2,943 Times in 1,280 Posts
Elementor is a very popular page builder - it's very good and quite snappy.

Last edited by driver8; 13-01-2021 at 08:34.
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2021, 08:44   #863
driver8
M0D2.0 (trainee)
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 12,050
Thanks: 2,837
Thanked 2,943 Times in 1,280 Posts
Excellent article on the best fast free Gutenberg themes:

How to Choose a fast WordPress Theme: Guide + Comparison (with detailed test)

TL;DR -
  • Blocksy is completely free (no pro/freemium version)
  • Kadence has a header builder
  • Neve is mobile-first and came out fastest in this excellent real-world test.
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2021, 15:53   #864
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,254
Thanks: 866
Thanked 177 Times in 108 Posts
Not sure if anyone can help but I thought I'd ask, as I'm having a nightmare with a new website.

The website is perfect and has been done the way I always do them. The client is happy and wants to go live. No problems.

But now that I've gone live I'm having issues with the Let's Encrypt SSL certificate.

I've done everything in the usually way and I've never had any problems but this website is showing as "not secure".

The only difference with this website is that the client wanted to keep his email service with 1&1 and the domain name is registered with 1&1.

I'm hosting it on my account (not 1&1) and I have change the domain name DNS A types to point to the hosting IP. This worked and the website can be seen but it is showing as "not secure".

I've been back and forth with my hosting company and I don't seem to be getting anywhere.

When I use an SSL checker online it says:

*Tick* Server Type: Apache
*Tick* The certificate should be trusted by all major web browsers (all the correct intermediate certificates are installed).
*Tick* The certificate was issued by Let's Encrypt.
*Tick* The certificate will expire in 89 days.

*Warning* None of the common names in the certificate match the name that was entered (domainname.co.uk). You may receive an error when accessing this site in a web browser. Learn more about name mismatch errors.

Also, I use the Really Simple SSL plugin and for this website it says:

Completed: SSL is enabled on your site.
Completed: An SSL certificate was detected on your site.

Open: The mixed content fixer could not be detected due to a cURL error:*cURL error 60: SSL: no alternative certificate subject name matches target host name 'www.domainname.co.uk'. cURL errors are often caused by an outdated version of PHP or cURL and don't affect the front-end of your site. Contact your hosting provider for a fix.

Any thoughts or suggestions?
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread

Last edited by Psycho; 22-01-2021 at 15:55.
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2021, 16:11   #865
Wooglie
Rurouni
 
Wooglie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Farnborough
Posts: 6,107
Thanks: 1,659
Thanked 1,110 Times in 475 Posts
I'm not an expert, but does the certificate mention both domainname.co.uk and www.domainname.co.uk?
Wooglie is online now   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Psycho (22-01-2021)
Old 22-01-2021, 16:12   #866
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,500
Thanks: 621
Thanked 1,825 Times in 637 Posts
Don't have much experience with SSL certs, but does your certificate contain both www and non-www domains?
https://community.letsencrypt.org/t/...ntered/85946/2

Edit: Beaten to it!
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Psycho (22-01-2021)
Old 22-01-2021, 16:26   #867
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,254
Thanks: 866
Thanked 177 Times in 108 Posts
For some reason the certificate only seems to include "www.domainname.mainhostaccountname.co.uk"

This seems to be how all of my other websites certificates work but they also include the actual website domain name, "www.domainname.co.uk" (removing the ".mainhostaccountname" bit).

For some reason the certificate for this website doesn't include the actual website address, which I assume is the problem!

Does this need to be manually added by my host company or is it just generated by Let's Encrypt?
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2021, 16:45   #868
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,254
Thanks: 866
Thanked 177 Times in 108 Posts
I've just compared the certificate from a website that does work with the one that doesn't and I can see the following.

Working website includes the following:

Extension: Subject Alternative Name
Critical: NO
DNS Name: domainname.co.uk
DNS Name: domainname.mainhostaccountname.co.uk
DNS Name: www.domainname.co.uk
DNS Name: www.domainname.mainhostaccountname.co.uk

Where as the certificate for the website that doesn't work only includes:

Extension: Subject Alternative Name
Critical: NO
DNS Name: domainname.mainhostaccountname.co.uk
DNS Name: www.domainname.mainhostaccountname.co.uk

But it is missing the following:

DNS Name: domainname.co.uk
DNS Name: www.domainname.co.uk

I'm not sure if you can physically edit the certificate to include these details... I don't have the option via cPanel but maybe the host company can do this their end?
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread

Last edited by Psycho; 22-01-2021 at 16:46.
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2021, 17:10   #869
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,500
Thanks: 621
Thanked 1,825 Times in 637 Posts
The thread I pointed at mentioned about editing certificates, but also involved rebooting Apache ... maybe deleting the certificate and recreating a new one doesn't involve that (I have no idea) but now you have more details, I'd get the hosting company to assist - they should be used to this....
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Psycho (22-01-2021)
Old 22-01-2021, 18:31   #870
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,254
Thanks: 866
Thanked 177 Times in 108 Posts
Just another thought, the nameservers were not changed for the domain name registered with 1&1 to point to the new hosting account. I'm assuming this wasn't needed because they still wanted 1&1 to manage their emails and only the DNS A type needed to be change.

Does that sound correct or should the nameservers have been changed as well?

I made the assumption that changing the nameservers would affect who managed the emails, i.e. the new hosting account?
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2021, 20:04   #871
JonLaidlow
Scoundrel
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,529
Thanks: 152
Thanked 137 Times in 87 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psycho View Post
Just another thought, the nameservers were not changed for the domain name registered with 1&1 to point to the new hosting account. I'm assuming this wasn't needed because they still wanted 1&1 to manage their emails and only the DNS A type needed to be change.

Does that sound correct or should the nameservers have been changed as well?

I made the assumption that changing the nameservers would affect who managed the emails, i.e. the new hosting account?
Pretty sure that I have my A nameservers pointing to one location and my site name servers pointing elsewhere
JonLaidlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Psycho (22-01-2021)
Old 22-01-2021, 20:24   #872
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,254
Thanks: 866
Thanked 177 Times in 108 Posts
Wordpress - build your own website - howto, tips & links - beginners to advanced

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonLaidlow View Post
Pretty sure that I have my A nameservers pointing to one location and my site name servers pointing elsewhere

Thanks. So changing the nameservers to the new host account probably won’t make a difference because the A types have already been changed?

I’m reluctant to test it out and screw something else up, i.e. their emails.

PS. I have been in contact with the host company but the last communication I had from them was around midday. I’ve sent some more details and suggestions to them but no response yet.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread

Last edited by Psycho; 22-01-2021 at 20:26.
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2021, 21:22   #873
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,254
Thanks: 866
Thanked 177 Times in 108 Posts
The hosting company just got back to me and asked me to delete the DNS AAAA records, which I've now down.

I'll now have to wait up to 24hrs.

Fingers crossed.
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2021, 21:45   #874
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,254
Thanks: 866
Thanked 177 Times in 108 Posts
It's working!
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked 3 times by:
Chris Locke (23-01-2021), driver8 (23-01-2021), Wooglie (22-01-2021)
Old 23-01-2021, 10:56   #875
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 26,234
Thanks: 196
Thanked 373 Times in 259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psycho View Post
It's working!
Glad you got it working Psycho.

Bit late to the party but we use Let's Encrypt at work for 90% of the sites we create and it just works. Mind you, it's a lot easier if you are using IIS servers (which you have direct access to and control over) and can you https://certifytheweb.com/ to do it

But that has now got me thinking about what we are going to do when we move from on-premises IIS servers to Azure

Last edited by AdamBrunt; 24-01-2021 at 12:48.
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Psycho (23-01-2021)
Old 29-01-2021, 14:47   #876
driver8
M0D2.0 (trainee)
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 12,050
Thanks: 2,837
Thanked 2,943 Times in 1,280 Posts
Set up wordpress test pages for free -
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2021, 09:30   #877
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 26,234
Thanks: 196
Thanked 373 Times in 259 Posts
Anyone read anything about Elementor built WP sites not scoring well against Google's new ranking scores - https://www.searchenginejournal.com/...ignals/387142/ ?

I was a post, on another forum, claiming it is notorious for bloatware and would score poorly.
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2021, 12:59   #878
driver8
M0D2.0 (trainee)
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 12,050
Thanks: 2,837
Thanked 2,943 Times in 1,280 Posts
True or not, no point in worrying about it.
- the Elementor devs will likely improve things.
- follow general SEO guidelines and you'll be fine (unless you're selling BTC or viagra).
- use Google's own analytics tools to fine-tune your site (or hire an SEO expert).
- content is king !
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
AdamBrunt (04-04-2021)
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
plugins, themes, Web Design, Wordpress

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Links not working in wordpress???? Guest 48579 Computing Forum 2 28-08-2006 04:41
How to build a website which allows others to build a site ? KeyserSoze Computing Forum 18 08-10-2005 23:14
Wanting to build a website Guest 16622 Computing Forum 8 13-07-2004 18:25

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.