Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Shopping and Money Forums > Suppliers and Shopping Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19-12-2007, 01:43   #1
ben.bayliss
Senior Citizen
 
ben.bayliss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: St Albans
Posts: 3,010
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Does anyone sell partially used CAT6 boxes?

Hi all.

I'm planning forward to networking up my entire house, with 4 runs to each room. The quickest way to do this would be to have 4 boxes, and pull them all in one go to each location.

However, buying 4 boxes and using probably under 100m in total seems a bit of a waste. So I'm wondering if any installation companies flog their partially used boxes on the cheap?

Any ideas?

Ben.
ben.bayliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 02:21   #2
KennyVader
Insomniac
 
KennyVader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West London
Posts: 18,892
Thanks: 145
Thanked 102 Times in 58 Posts
The installation companies I have worked with have usually written on the boxes roughly how much is left in there each time they cut a run off, and then matched them up to the next appropriate length run, so you get things like "250 180 65 35" written on the front, and generally they end up with only 10m or less left in them.

Definitely easier if you can pull all 4 directly out of the boxes into the run each time though.

Maybe you can stick your spare on eBay and someone else wiring a house can make use of it?

You might also be surprised at how much more cable you need than you expected, by the time you have gone in nice straight lines and cut no corners ...
KennyVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2007, 13:47   #3
Guest 43273
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 846
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ever so slightly off topic, but worth mentioning.

Bear in mind that GB ethernet / CAT5 is only guaranteed for cable lengths of LESS than 25 metres. So try put your "source" in a central location.

I can confirm with my own experience with iSCSI that this is not a myth, 30 meters seems to be the breaking point in my server room.
Guest 43273 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[XP] First 'click' in Windows Explorer only partially audible Guest 195 Computing Forum 1 15-07-2007 18:41
Flat cat5e/cat6 Dave h-j Computing Forum 10 28-04-2006 14:09
any websites which sell cheap freeview boxes Guest 39473 Suppliers and Shopping Forum 1 29-05-2005 07:19
Why dont we sell componant switch boxes in the UK? Guest 19770 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 16 02-12-2003 17:07

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.