Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Shopping and Money Forums > Bargain Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2007, 08:36   #1
ArthurDent
Mostly Harmless
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,168
Thanks: 317
Thanked 460 Times in 174 Posts
Barebones Twin Tuner Freeview DTR (PVR) £49.99

Saw this in the latest Maplin newsletter:



Barebones Twin Tuner Freeview DTR (PVR):

• Futureproof your TV with a digital set-top box
• Install a new or used hard drive
• Watch one channel and record another
• Compatible with most IDE hard disk drives
• A full hard drive can be replaced with another
• Accepts hard drives up to 500GB giving over 250 hours'' recording time
• Auto-formats the hard drive for video use
• 7-day Electronic Programme Guide (EPG)
• Pause live TV (time-shift) and use scheduled recording

At Maplin: item code: A52HF
ArthurDent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 08:44   #2
bh1
ø¤º°`°º¤ø,,,,ø¤º°`°º¤ø
 
bh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,795
Thanks: 255
Thanked 104 Times in 56 Posts
Make me an offer.
bh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 08:47   #3
Guest 12924
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,082
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bh1 View Post
Make me an offer.
Wrong forum?

These boxes are cracking, also this one from Micro Direct (re-furbished but with full one year warranty and an 80gb h/d) DigiFusion-FVRT200-FreeView-Set-Top-Box-Dual.aspx

I've got the fvrt100 which I upgraded to the fvrt200 and stuck a 160gb hard drive in so it holds loads.

Last edited by Kryten; 10-11-2007 at 09:54.
Guest 12924 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 13:22   #4
inkafone
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Leicestershire U.K.
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
The make is Nikkai - any good?? plus it says "Compatible with most IDE hard disk drives" - so what's it not compatable with. It's got a twin tuner though and the hard drive looks a doddle to replace. Free delivery too.
inkafone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 13:50   #5
Guest 7918
Dairy Products Gone Bad
 
Guest 7918's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheezy_bunnet View Post
I've got the fvrt100 which I upgraded to the fvrt200 and stuck a 160gb hard drive in so it holds loads.
Out of interest, is the whole 160gb utilised or just 120gb?
Guest 7918 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 14:16   #6
Guest 18642
preserve the pound
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lincoln UK
Posts: 606
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
see below

Last edited by euro; 10-11-2007 at 17:25.
Guest 18642 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 14:29   #7
Guest 18642
preserve the pound
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lincoln UK
Posts: 606
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheezy_bunnet View Post
Wrong forum?

These boxes are cracking, also this one from Micro Direct (re-furbished but with full one year warranty and an 80gb h/d) DigiFusion-FVRT200-FreeView-Set-Top-Box-Dual.aspx

I've got the fvrt100 which I upgraded to the fvrt200 and stuck a 160gb hard drive in so it holds loads.
Gone for this as it seems to be better value
Guest 18642 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 16:23   #8
Guest 1156
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 385
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurDent View Post
Saw this in the latest Maplin newsletter:



Barebones Twin Tuner Freeview DTR (PVR):

• Futureproof your TV with a digital set-top box
• Install a new or used hard drive
• Watch one channel and record another
• Compatible with most IDE hard disk drives
• A full hard drive can be replaced with another
• Accepts hard drives up to 500GB giving over 250 hours'' recording time
• Auto-formats the hard drive for video use
• 7-day Electronic Programme Guide (EPG)
• Pause live TV (time-shift) and use scheduled recording

At Maplin: item code: A52HF
These are supplied without a hard disk, in case anyone is unsure.
Guest 1156 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 22:38   #9
Guest 12924
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,082
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Accident Man View Post
Out of interest, is the whole 160gb utilised or just 120gb?
137gb is recognised, but tbh I've hardly used most of it. When you think even a half decent cheap freeview box is about £20-25 and either of these is £20 dearer it's a bargain
Guest 12924 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 16:24   #10
nwgarratt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,574
Thanks: 79
Thanked 85 Times in 58 Posts
Does anyone know if the two tuners can record two channels at the same time?
nwgarratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2007, 10:22   #11
Guest 63862
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwgarratt View Post
Does anyone know if the two tuners can record two channels at the same time?
No. Only one channel can be recorded at a time.

But I do have other questions:
The hard drive is formated as 'unallocated' and when this drive is read on another machine no files can be seen on it. How can the 'hidden' recorded files be seen and transfered? Is there a program somewhere that can read files on 'unallocated' partitions? And what format are the recorded files?
Guest 63862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2007, 10:36   #12
Guest 4227
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi. Does anybody know if either of these units can output s-video through the scart? Cheers.
Guest 4227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 12:57   #13
Guest 63998
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have bought one of these and ordered another. An old 60Gb hard disk (probably about 6 years old) from an old computer was recognised and formatted immediately. I have yet to try a slightly newer old 160Gb hard disk in the other machine.

Yes there is a SVHS output as well as CVBS and RGB.
You cannot access the hard drive if put back into a computer since the formatting system for these systems is different from the WIndows standards

Last edited by Philiip; 04-12-2007 at 12:58. Reason: typos
Guest 63998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 19:08   #14
Guest 12924
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,082
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by henhouse View Post
No. Only one channel can be recorded at a time.
The digifusion one can record two diff channels at the same time and then you can watch a third prog you have already recorded
Guest 12924 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 19:48   #15
Guest 2241
Trusted User
 
Guest 2241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: cowtown
Posts: 20,591
Thanks: 77
Thanked 71 Times in 23 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheezy_bunnet View Post
137gb is recognised,
Isn't that the max you'll get from a 160gb drive, since they assume that 1gb=1,000,000,000 bytes for marketing reasons?
Guest 2241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 22:55   #16
Guest 63862
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philiip View Post
You cannot access the hard drive if put back into a computer since the formatting system for these systems is different from the WIndows standards
Okay. But I already know the formating is different. What is it?? And how can it be read on a computer? Is there software that can read it? And how do we go about getting it off?

Last edited by henhouse; 04-12-2007 at 22:59. Reason: mistake in quote
Guest 63862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 10:24   #17
Guest 36346
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Solihull, near Birmingham
Posts: 1,288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BigPockets have these (simjilar) with 80gb for the same price (+postage)

refurbs tho

Last edited by maddogsuk; 05-12-2007 at 10:33. Reason: Add Affiliate
Guest 36346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2007, 20:43   #18
Gavin01
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bromley,kent
Posts: 4,299
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
sorry to go off topic but cheesy bunnet i cant email you as you have this feature disabled....

I bought the digifusion one and cant get the 14 day guide to work and its also very noisy.......also how did you upgrade the drive as i reckon this could be the noise...
__________________
| EMAIL | MSN | MY DVDS | ICQ | HEXUS | SITE |
Gavin01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2007, 22:40   #19
Guest 33714
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Re: Digifusion

The 14 day guide gets updated at 3am every night s you have to leave your box on.

I get home from work late and it interupts my viewing. lol.

You can cancel it if you are watching TV otherwise it downloads updates and puts itself on standby. (You do need to be able to receive a certain channel to receive the updates. Its in the manual somewhere.)

As for noise it could be faulty. I have three and none of them are quiet.
Guest 33714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2007, 20:14   #20
Guest 64294
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurDent View Post
Saw this in the latest Maplin newsletter:



Barebones Twin Tuner Freeview DTR (PVR):



At Maplin: item code: A52HF
Greetings to one and all.

I bought one of these about 3 weeks back because it sounded so good with the option to swap hard drives etc rather than being tied to an in-built one and it was really easy to put together - under 20 minutes and the whole unit was wired up, channels scanned and hard drive installed (a 200 Gb one which showed as having around 190 Gb free or some 138 hours recording time).

However, after a week or so of trouble free usage, the drive froze whilst I was fast forwarding through some adverts and the unit would not respond to the remote control, so I turned it off from the power switch on the front panel, switched it on again and bingo! "no recorded programmes" message. Reformatting the hard drive let me resume usage, but recently the thing went awol again and so I tried a different drive (just an 80 Gn this time) which failed to be recognised (a constant "HDD init not complete - please wait" message on screen.

Maplin swapped the unit no problem yesterday and as soon as we plugged in the previous drive, same error message and again it's not been possible to use another drive. This is a shame as it seems to be a good little unit from the limited time that I have had to play with it and was a doddle to set up (even allowing for the rather clumsy English in the instructions ).

Question then, which I have not seen in any of the other threads here - any suggestions as to a course of action apart from taking back this again and swapping to another make?
Guest 64294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bush twin tuner Freeview and 80GB HDD £74.99 richieuk Bargain Forum 1 24-12-2006 21:51
Daewoo DSD9502T Twin Tuner Freeview tuner with 80GB HDD £89.99 richieuk Bargain Forum 11 19-12-2006 00:36
can you get twin tuner dvd recorder with freeview? Guest 21806 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 5 13-11-2006 00:13
Panasonic TUCTH100 twin tuner freeview PVR Guest 2355 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 2 31-05-2005 07:21

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.