Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-11-2003, 19:47   #1
Guest 19770
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Uncle Bennys Rectal Cavity
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Why dont we sell componant switch boxes in the UK?

Cant people see many of us are moving away from RGB scart with the Tide of the PLASMA and the LCD.
Guest 19770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2003, 08:53   #2
LV426
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Somewhere in South Yorkshire
Posts: 1,268
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 20 Posts
I think you've answered your own question. As part of Eurpoe, we have to suffer the evils of SCART connections which on most pieces of equipment is still the only way of getting signals from one device to another.

Elsewhere in the world, they do not have the joy of these wretched connectors.

So, because the majority of the public have SCARTs and need to switch and/or split SCART signals - that's what stores sell.

A change will only be led by demand. In the meantime, it may be fruitful to seek out switchers for separate cables as used for component in other (non-European) countries.
LV426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2003, 18:32   #3
Guest 19770
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Uncle Bennys Rectal Cavity
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


Even Madcatz sell a cheap console one in the states, does anyone know a company that will import for u?
Guest 19770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2003, 19:12   #4
LV426
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Somewhere in South Yorkshire
Posts: 1,268
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 20 Posts
Have you tried doing a search on the Internet? For example:

http://www.videocapturecard.com/com3.html
LV426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2003, 19:25   #5
Guest 19770
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Uncle Bennys Rectal Cavity
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by LV426
Have you tried doing a search on the Internet? For example:

http://www.videocapturecard.com/com3.html
seen afew great ones on the states but when you add shipping and potential customs charges they look less desirable
Guest 19770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2003, 20:36   #6
Guest 3083
XBL Gamertag: PaulB1803
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire
Posts: 1,043
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kyro, have you seen this one at lik-sang http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?cat...ducts_id=3224& ?

Nice and cheap, too.
Guest 3083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2003, 23:15   #7
Guest 19770
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Uncle Bennys Rectal Cavity
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yes only 2-1 which is ghey

nice LFC badge
Guest 19770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2003, 20:13   #8
G-man
Colonial Marine (Sgt. )
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: kingston, uk
Posts: 566
Thanks: 17
Thanked 62 Times in 24 Posts
Try Ard electronics. Sure I saw one of these in the last sale catalouge they sent me.
G-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2003, 23:54   #9
Guest 6609
Super Web Designer Turbo
 
Guest 6609's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Chair.
Posts: 3,000
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Don't get a DC powered one unless it's the Audio Authority one, the 3 i've had all caused interferance. I currently use a manual RCA switch from Lektropacks ( http://www.lektropacks.co.uk/product...Fid=57&sku=136 ), and it works flawlessly for me, switching between DVD, PS2, Xbox & GC. I can't see any signal degredation on my 42" panasonic plasma compared to a direct connection...
Guest 6609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2003, 23:54   #10
GAmbrose
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 11,735
Thanks: 5
Thanked 86 Times in 69 Posts
My amp does.

Gary A
GAmbrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2003, 22:51   #11
Guest 19770
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Uncle Bennys Rectal Cavity
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
would anyone be interested in any of the MadCatz ones?
Guest 19770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 09:49   #12
Guest 27405
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Office (Beckenham, Kent)
Posts: 230
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Kyro
would anyone be interested in any of the MadCatz ones?
If there's no significant loss in picture quality by going through the adaptor rather than straight to the HDTV/ Plasma, then yes, I would be interested in getting one of these switcher boxes, seeing as I use component from my DVD, GC, PS2 and XBOX. Could be very handy and save me swapping cables all the time!!
Guest 27405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 10:11   #13
Guest 19770
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Uncle Bennys Rectal Cavity
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by DavidBrent
If there's no significant loss in picture quality by going through the adaptor rather than straight to the HDTV/ Plasma, then yes, I would be interested in getting one of these switcher boxes, seeing as I use component from my DVD, GC, PS2 and XBOX. Could be very handy and save me swapping cables all the time!!
I read some thoughts of people in the States and they say it does what it says it does with no PQ loss.

The reason I ask, Is I have emailed several import companies and teh only one to respond was GoblinDirect if we all emailed them to stock it or make a bulk import it might just work out fine
Guest 19770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 10:56   #14
Guest 243
XBL: Wolfgang Winkle
 
Guest 243's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: ... of the dead
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 102
Thanked 91 Times in 73 Posts
What's the likely cost of the madcatz one?
Guest 243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 12:42   #15
Guest 19770
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Uncle Bennys Rectal Cavity
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by sideshowbob
What's the likely cost of the madcatz one?
It sells for 30 dollars in the US so I would expect 30-40 pounds here due to importation.
Guest 19770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 13:52   #16
Guest 19770
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Uncle Bennys Rectal Cavity
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Side show just ordered one for 48 bucks from here

they are canadian and you can get it for 42 if you take UPS 5 day shipping.

now let us pray customs dont get me

Last edited by Kyro; 02-12-2003 at 14:05.
Guest 19770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 17:07   #17
Guest 19770
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Uncle Bennys Rectal Cavity
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
WTF just got this reply from them

Quote:
The MadCatz HDTV System Selector you ordered has been discontinued by MadCatz due to manufacturing problems. You have a $ 34.99 Credit to use towards any other ConsoleSource.com merchandise. Please let us know what product(s) you desire? Thanks.
mofo's
Guest 19770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.