Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-03-2018, 15:25   #2561
shteve
Trusted User
 
shteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cov
Posts: 5,410
Thanks: 303
Thanked 582 Times in 435 Posts
My point was more why Duncan needed to reinstall Windows by formatting his C drive.
__________________
I've got a signature and an avatar :p
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 15:30   #2562
DuncanSWardle
Trusted User
 
DuncanSWardle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,814
Thanks: 780
Thanked 152 Times in 109 Posts
I guess I’m just one of those people. Have always done a fresh install probably once a year always of impression it just helped keep things fresh
DuncanSWardle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 17:10   #2563
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 18,502
Thanks: 269
Thanked 4,077 Times in 1,844 Posts
You want the 'take ownership' reg patch
https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/...dows-10-a.html

Personally, I've not reinstalled since Windows 7 came out. This 10 was upgraded from 8.1 which was from 8 which was from 7. I used to reinstall very often in 9x days.

Last edited by target; 13-03-2018 at 17:11.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
DuncanSWardle (13-03-2018)
Old 14-03-2018, 11:17   #2564
shteve
Trusted User
 
shteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cov
Posts: 5,410
Thanks: 303
Thanked 582 Times in 435 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
Personally, I've not reinstalled since Windows 7 came out. This 10 was upgraded from 8.1 which was from 8 which was from 7. I used to reinstall very often in 9x days.
Sounds like my PC - though I have a feeling this install may have been Vista before 7.
__________________
I've got a signature and an avatar :p
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 14:47   #2565
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 10,180
Thanks: 1,639
Thanked 1,836 Times in 764 Posts
Had a scare yesterday with my trusty workhorse MSI laptop.

Switched it on several times, but it kept freezing after just 1 second on the MSI boot logo. Plugged into the mains, and then got the logo plus spinning circles and a message "Preparing Automatic Repair" (which apparently has been around since at least 2014, but I'd certainly never seen before). Left it overnight, but still the same this morning.

Googling, looks like it could be anything from unseated RAM/HDD (likely, cos I'd been travelling), corrupt BIOS to a burnt-out graphics card.

I tried hitting F3 to enter the BIOS settings on boot - cos the boot hardly seemed to get anywhere, I wasn't hopeful ... but it worked ! There were only a few options (3? not my screenshot):



Which took me to a few more options, something like: 1. Repair, 2. Restore (keep your files), 3. Renew (lose your data).
Choosing Repair didn't seem to do anything, but I opted to reboot anyway ... SUCCESS! This would have given me the chance to backup (if I hadn't already),so then I scoured the error logs and ran a raft of disc tools ... nothing obvious. The only positive thing I have done is update the BIOS (4 releases). I've since been using it for several hours, rebooted, recovered from hibernation, all's good.

Morals of the story: don't expect the worst (I was ready with my screwdriver and credit card!) and ... BACKUP!
.

Last edited by driver8; 14-03-2018 at 14:48.
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 16:01   #2566
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 6,908
Thanks: 370
Thanked 1,395 Times in 433 Posts
> freezing after just 1 second on the MSI boot logo

I've had this when a USb drive plugged into the PC has thrown a wobbly. Rebooting does nothing. Unplugging / turning off the USB caddie sorts it. Obviously the BIOS is waiting for a response from the USB drive (drive detection) which doesn't complete.

A number of Windowsd updates have been known to knobble boot ups, so yes, a regular system image is a must (he says, panicking at how old his own backups are...)
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
driver8 (16-03-2018)
Old 20-03-2018, 23:21   #2567
Shingster
Trusted User
 
Shingster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,128
Thanks: 438
Thanked 270 Times in 173 Posts
Am I on crack or has a recentish Windows 10 update reduced the character length limit of filenames? I've noticed that in some of my more tiered directories I can no longer get away with long descriptive filenames. What's weird though is that it hasn't affected any of my old files with long filenames, I just can't make any new files with names the same length!

EDIT: Just played about and there doesn't seem to be any limits at all now. Weird, last night I couldn't go past about 90characters!

Last edited by Shingster; 20-03-2018 at 23:26.
Shingster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2018, 06:37   #2568
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 6,908
Thanks: 370
Thanked 1,395 Times in 433 Posts
Worthy bearing in mind that its a directory path limit, not just a filename limit, so depending on how deeply buried in the dusty depths of your drive your file is, you might not be able to set a long filename if the full path is more than 260 characters.
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2018, 22:38   #2569
Shingster
Trusted User
 
Shingster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,128
Thanks: 438
Thanked 270 Times in 173 Posts
Yeah when I was getting restriction I just reduced the directory path by a couple of folders because I only needed a couple of extra characters. I Just thought it was odd that it had been reduced (and now it isn't).
Shingster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 06:53   #2570
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 18,502
Thanks: 269
Thanked 4,077 Times in 1,844 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
Personally, I've not reinstalled since Windows 7 came out. This 10 was upgraded from 8.1 which was from 8 which was from 7. I used to reinstall very often in 9x days.
And there it goes. The BIOS update containing my Spectre microcode patch hosed my Windows install.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 07:10   #2571
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,164
Thanks: 19
Thanked 428 Times in 379 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
And there it goes. The BIOS update containing my Spectre microcode patch hosed my Windows install.
Hopefully you have a System Image..

Sent from my ZTE B2017G using Tapatalk
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 08:01   #2572
mjr
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 387
Thanked 118 Times in 89 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
And there it goes. The BIOS update containing my Spectre microcode patch hosed my Windows install.
Thanks for the warning, what happened?

Speaking of microcode (and sorry this is too late for you) it looks like Microsoft are slowly rolling them out in a separate package for those who don't have a BIOS update (or can't use it):
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...rocode-updates
mjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 08:13   #2573
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 18,502
Thanks: 269
Thanked 4,077 Times in 1,844 Posts
First of all the BIOS update switched my primary screen to to my TV so I thought it had killed it since the monitor was blank.

And it switched off my RAID controller. The array survived though - behind the scenes.

BUT... Windows stopped loading most of my startup programs - including, but not limited to, the RAID driver. So it wouldn't boot when I switched the RAID controller back on.
And I couldn't install any software (such as that to modify startup programs) because it kept moaning I didn't have write access to HKLM.

It seemed easier to leave the RAID controller on, let it boot fail a few times to go into recovery and do a Windows reset. Working fine now. I did have to recover most of my profile though from Windows.old (mostly save games). Despite electing to keep my files.

Last edited by target; 03-04-2018 at 08:14.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 20:17   #2574
mjr
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 387
Thanked 118 Times in 89 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
First of all the BIOS update switched my primary screen to to my TV so I thought it had killed it since the monitor was blank.

And it switched off my RAID controller. The array survived though - behind the scenes.

BUT... Windows stopped loading most of my startup programs - including, but not limited to, the RAID driver. So it wouldn't boot when I switched the RAID controller back on.
And I couldn't install any software (such as that to modify startup programs) because it kept moaning I didn't have write access to HKLM.

It seemed easier to leave the RAID controller on, let it boot fail a few times to go into recovery and do a Windows reset. Working fine now. I did have to recover most of my profile though from Windows.old (mostly save games). Despite electing to keep my files.
That's a bizarre failure, it almost sounds like symptoms of a memory corruption (after you got it to boot) given the change in permissions on HKLM. Hopefully things remain stable now you've refreshed Windows.

With my work laptop I installed the original version of the Spectre patch microcode (Jan/Feb time) after it had been out a few days with no reports of issues, but it seemed everyone else waited the same as I did because that afternoon I started seeing reports on the web about issues with it, and sure enough there were some Event Log entries related to internal checksum errors on random CPU cores. (In that instance I disabled the spectre mitigation with the registry settings, rather than rolling back the BIOS.)
mjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 20:21   #2575
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 18,502
Thanks: 269
Thanked 4,077 Times in 1,844 Posts
Yeah, been fine since. Was working from home today so been on it all day.

This is kinda why I did the refresh last night. I couldn't risk investigating it and not getting anywhere and being computer-less today!
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 20:24   #2576
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 18,502
Thanks: 269
Thanked 4,077 Times in 1,844 Posts
I mean I did try the basics first. sfc /scannow and system restore. Both of which completed successfully and didn't help. But I couldn't risk the time to do in depth diagnostics.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 14:51   #2577
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 10,180
Thanks: 1,639
Thanked 1,836 Times in 764 Posts
Smile DNS

Anyone using 1.1.1.1 yet ? I wonder how speeds compares with Google and OpenDNS/Umbrella in the UK (and globally).

If you're really into optimisation, DNS Bench is an amazing free tool.

Quote:
Originally Posted by some random dude

In terms of ping times from Malaysia:
  • CloudFlare DNS: 3.0ms
  • Google DNS: 4.5ms
  • OpenDNS: 15ms

Last edited by driver8; 04-04-2018 at 15:06. Reason: added DNS bench
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 15:16   #2578
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 6,908
Thanks: 370
Thanked 1,395 Times in 433 Posts
I love the setup instructions. "Click on the Start menu, then click on Control Panel." Well, thats me buggered already!
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2018, 14:28   #2579
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 10,180
Thanks: 1,639
Thanked 1,836 Times in 764 Posts
I'm currently suffering from annoying occasional random BSODs. I thought initially it was down to Avast, when it started complaining about the memory-resident scanner in the latest Malwarebytes, but since removing Malwarebytes it's still happening.

I then wondered if my cheapie bluetooth mouse was to blame, but I'm all wired up again now and still suffering.

I used the official but rather scary MS Driver Verifier to stress my system, but didn't get much extra info.

Anyone recommend any other diag tools ? Anyone suffered from this before ?

Looks like I'll have to roll some/all drivers back to those officially supported by MSI ... what a pita!

Quote:
Welcome to WhoCrashed (HOME EDITION) v 6.01
-------------------------------------------
This was probably caused by the following module: ntoskrnl.exe (nt+0x175930) NT Kernel & System
This was probably caused by the following module: ntkrnlmp.exe (nt!setjmpex+0x83D9)
Bugcheck code: 0x3B (0xC0000005, 0xFFFFF8034718B9D5, 0xFFFFBB01A4AFAF50, 0x0)
Error: SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION
This indicates that an exception happened in the Windows kernel while executing a routine that transitions from non-privileged code to privileged code.
This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2018, 15:37   #2580
shteve
Trusted User
 
shteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cov
Posts: 5,410
Thanks: 303
Thanked 582 Times in 435 Posts
I was having some instability issues and all I could find in the even logs was an error indicating that a piece of software was attempting to perform something it didn't have permissions for. Googling it found a Microsoft response saying that it was expected behaviour. Further Googling indicated it was from having some Apple software installed which hadn't migrated well during the OS upgrades. I uninstalled everything Apple (I'm sure they deliberately write the Windows stuff badly to make Windows look bad) and it's all cleared up - my monitor even goes to sleep now which I hadn't realised was related.
__________________
I've got a signature and an avatar :p
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Windows Vista to Windows 7... Decided on Windows 8 - RESOLVED Psycho Computing Forum 26 03-11-2012 16:53
Simple video editor like Windows Live Movie Maker for Windows? King Mustard Computing Forum 1 05-03-2012 07:39
MS Technet: Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1) Beta driver8 Computing Forum 31 28-02-2011 09:44
Windows Home Server / Windows 7 - temporary loss of access to random shared folders? ColinP Computing Forum 5 25-01-2010 20:49
Windows developers : Displaying MDI child windows in a multiple monitor environment pkr Computing Forum 4 04-08-2005 23:08

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network