Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2017, 19:32   #181
T4V
PSN=The4thViewer XBL=t4v
 
T4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lave
Posts: 17,697
Thanks: 241
Thanked 493 Times in 241 Posts
Sod that, I will wait
__________________
BATRacer F1/LMES/A1GP/V8/IRL Play 'em all!
T4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 21:30   #182
TheCookieMonster
Trusted User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Bristol, Bradley Stoke
Posts: 2,385
Thanks: 48
Thanked 37 Times in 21 Posts
To counter the above my Q and mini have been solid for months. I did have an issue with the mini losing connection but I changed the setting from eco to standard or vice versa (can't check at the moment) and it sorted it. The standard remote is great and I don't miss the old Sky+ one. The touch one is cack though and viewing on the iPad isn't that easy to watch as it uses the inbuilt iPad player and the quality is sub HD on playback.
TheCookieMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 08:48   #183
Roy
XBL Tag: Coldbobtee
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Bodypoppers paradise
Posts: 7,018
Thanks: 99
Thanked 74 Times in 51 Posts
The other annoying problem we get is on the Mini boxes the TV Guide keep disappearing, which means you can't pause/rewind or record any TV.

It's pretty random, sometimes you look and it's fine others not. I suspect it's because we have them in eco mode so they power down after a while, but we have to because we have 3 mini boxes and you can only use 2 at a time...
__________________
To me, my basement!

Roy@Flickr
Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 16:11   #184
ascender
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schottland
Posts: 5,029
Thanks: 144
Thanked 94 Times in 73 Posts
After a few early blips our main Q box has been pretty stable. We switched over to Ethernet pretty quickly though as the wifi performance was terrible and very unreliable. Touch remote is utterly terrible but the new standard ones are ok once you get used to the layout.

We get some random series links appearing now and again but apart from that we've been pleased with it. It's not exactly revolutionary and is a bit late to the party, plus who needs to record a gajillion things at once, but all in all it's a good product.
ascender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 11:18   #185
drush9999
Trusted User
 
drush9999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: England - The Land of Do-As-You-Please?
Posts: 2,149
Thanks: 44
Thanked 26 Times in 22 Posts
They no longer give you the touch remote if you get the free 1TB box. Think the 200 quid 2TB still does.

We had an issue with thumbnails not loading on the On Demand stuff, but works flawlessy now. I hated the Q interface to begin with, but now prefer it
drush9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 08:49   #186
Dave B
Stock Photographer
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Back in the bloody UK!
Posts: 3,584
Thanks: 195
Thanked 33 Times in 28 Posts
Noticed our Sky Q is set to 720 and when changing to 1080 we get a blue screen with the message change resolution cancel/confirm and a countdown. We can hear the sound but not see the picture so I haven’t clicked confirm.

Is this normal or should I see a picture?

Thanks

Dave
Dave B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 09:57   #187
LiviLion
Live At The Witch Trials
 
LiviLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,085
Thanks: 126
Thanked 75 Times in 49 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave B View Post
Noticed our Sky Q is set to 720 and when changing to 1080 we get a blue screen with the message change resolution cancel/confirm and a countdown. We can hear the sound but not see the picture so I haven’t clicked confirm.

Is this normal or should I see a picture?

Thanks

Dave
if you have a 1080 TV then it should work. Maybe pull the power on the q box and try again?
LiviLion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 11:59   #188
kenway
xbox live: rickkenway
 
kenway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springhead
Posts: 3,772
Thanks: 211
Thanked 553 Times in 196 Posts
Just ordered Q and it's being installed on the 6th Feb wasn't even give an option for box hard drive size so looks like the 2tb is standard now.
kenway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 09:11   #189
nutter45
burninator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 8,523
Thanks: 420
Thanked 185 Times in 138 Posts
Looking at upgrading to Sky Q and it's showing as a £199 set up fee.

Is that standard?
nutter45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 10:05   #190
nutter45
burninator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 8,523
Thanks: 420
Thanked 185 Times in 138 Posts
To answer my own question, I phoned them up and got it for £115 for the main box plus one mini.
nutter45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 17:53   #191
CLH
La Bender
 
CLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On the Fence
Posts: 11,405
Thanks: 129
Thanked 191 Times in 144 Posts
They've just rung me and offered the 2Tb box plus Mini for £60 installed and £7 extra per month. I think I will take them up on it.
CLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 08:05   #192
JOV
By Royal Appointment
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 5,345
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
My old Sky + box was one the blink and I got a Sky Q box for £20 with free installation - new Dish and LNB.
JOV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 11:43   #193
johnson293
Black and White Member
 
johnson293's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,826
Thanks: 20
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
Just looking again.

I can get a 2tb box for £65 install fee + £12/month multiroom sub, otherwise its £199 install fee.

The 1tb box is £20 with multiroom or £199 standalone.

However, its the miniboxes that annoy me - they want £50 'installation fee' for the first one, then another £99 for a second, and I'd want 2 of them (one for our room and one for sons).

If the cost of the 'install' on those miniboxes was less, I'd jump at this now.

Maybe I need to try a live chat with them, see if they can do anything for me.

EDIT: Just done a live chat, and they basically offered me the same as above, and woudln't budge on the 'installation fees' for the miniboxes. Crazy amount when (i'm assuming) they just plug into the wall and connect to the main Q box via wifi? Not like they have to run cables as with the old multi-room system?!

Last edited by johnson293; 13-03-2018 at 12:56. Reason: Added Info
johnson293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 15:27   #194
CLH
La Bender
 
CLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On the Fence
Posts: 11,405
Thanks: 129
Thanked 191 Times in 144 Posts
I rang them back on my offer, and it was different. Apparently I'm Sky VIP, Diamond level, 17 years with them. (That's not quite true, IMO, as I had a 6 month break).

So, got free installation, Free 2TB box, free mini box and had to pay £12 multiroom.

Which was fine as Sky Go appears to be free now, so it's £7 net.

Also got a free film from the Store, got Paddington 2 HD download and DVD on way. So, all ok.
CLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 05:36   #195
malcy
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,532
Thanks: 47
Thanked 126 Times in 84 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLH View Post
I rang them back on my offer, and it was different. Apparently I'm Sky VIP, Diamond level, 17 years with them. (That's not quite true, IMO, as I had a 6 month break).

So, got free installation, Free 2TB box, free mini box and had to pay £12 multiroom.

Which was fine as Sky Go appears to be free now, so it's £7 net.

Also got a free film from the Store, got Paddington 2 HD download and DVD on way. So, all ok.

When you mean Sky Go I presume you mean Sky Go Extra as the basic version has been free since they started on any Sky package.

As you probably know Extra gives 4 registered devices rather than 2 but still only 2 concurrent streaming, so all 4 devices can’t be watching at same time plus downloads. This has been £5pm but free if you have multiroom even non Sky Q version. So the addition of multiroom is what gives you that saving.
malcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 06:52   #196
CLH
La Bender
 
CLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On the Fence
Posts: 11,405
Thanks: 129
Thanked 191 Times in 144 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by malcy View Post
When you mean Sky Go I presume you mean Sky Go Extra as the basic version has been free since they started on any Sky package.

As you probably know Extra gives 4 registered devices rather than 2 but still only 2 concurrent streaming, so all 4 devices can’t be watching at same time plus downloads. This has been £5pm but free if you have multiroom even non Sky Q version. So the addition of multiroom is what gives you that saving.

Yes.
CLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2018, 13:58   #197
CLH
La Bender
 
CLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On the Fence
Posts: 11,405
Thanks: 129
Thanked 191 Times in 144 Posts
Hugely impressed. My box is old so, just getting new equipment is good.

Two room setup is excellent, remotes are nice. Seems to work.

Have a new dish too, which was free. And the quality of HD with the new dish is noticeably better than my old HD (though this is hard, it seems to substantiate)

Last edited by CLH; 21-03-2018 at 14:00.
CLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network