Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2018, 16:19   #1
dmb6473a
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,415
Thanks: 49
Thanked 61 Times in 53 Posts
LG OLED55C7V - What fuse should I use?

I've had this tv come today and it's currently fitted with a 10amp fuse. From previous knowledge, I'm pretty sure that TVs only need a 3amp, but I'm not sure if OLEDs are different.

Should I change to a 3amp or leave as is?

Thanks :-)

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
__________________
PSN - FB73
Xbox Live - dmb6473
Nintendo - dmb6473
dmb6473a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 10:47   #2
stephen
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 4,634
Thanks: 21
Thanked 141 Times in 115 Posts
The energy label says it's 110W so a 3A fuse should be ok, the only reason for a higher one might be to cater for any switch on surges.

LG have designed the inside of the TV and will have put it through the relevant safety testing and approvals process, so I'd trust them to fit a suitable fuse.
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dmb6473a (12-02-2018)
Old 12-02-2018, 14:10   #3
jockosjungle
formerly rbullivant
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 21,358
Thanks: 275
Thanked 1,042 Times in 737 Posts
I'd certainly leave it, I don't think modern tech is designed for us to mess with the fuses, etc.
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 14:23   #4
dmb6473a
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,415
Thanks: 49
Thanked 61 Times in 53 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbullivant View Post
I'd certainly leave it, I don't think modern tech is designed for us to mess with the fuses, etc.

My concern is that everywhere I've looked says that 10amp is overkill for a tv, and could lead to it being damaged/causing a fire (where as a 3amp would stop the fault at the plug)?

https://www.electricalsafetyfirst.or...ugs-and-fuses/

I changed it to a 5amp at the weekend, and everything seems ok so far.
dmb6473a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 15:43   #5
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 12,167
Thanks: 313
Thanked 438 Times in 321 Posts
I think they fit 10A fuses due to the chance of a blown one being virtually zero. 3A, they might get a few call outs.The protection for the PCB/Mobo for the TV will be on board too, so rarely need the fuse.
basegreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dmb6473a (12-02-2018)
Old 13-02-2018, 09:47   #6
stephen
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 4,634
Thanks: 21
Thanked 141 Times in 115 Posts
The only harm in using a 3A in a 110W appliance is that it might blow sometimes depending on how big the power on surge is, the chances are it will be fine though.

You either need to trust that they have designed the whole system correctly (including the fuse), or you need to review the whole design of the TVs power supply. I don't see any point worrying about the fuse when you don't know what protections the PSU has or requires.
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dmb6473a (13-02-2018)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LG OLED55C7V / LG OLED55B7V - 55" LG OLED UHD HDR TVs Ł1349.10 @ Currys with code kanedaa Bargain Forum 0 20-11-2017 05:41
Fuse keeps blowing d.boyd1uk Computing Forum 3 30-05-2007 14:06
Which fuse to use? Guest 24565 Computing Forum 3 02-06-2004 19:06

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network