Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2019, 12:38   #1721
T4V
PSN=The4thViewer XBL=t4v
 
T4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lave
Posts: 18,418
Thanks: 246
Thanked 495 Times in 243 Posts
I got my sisters ‘bo to phone them when I got BB and it seems my 15+ years service (considerably more but that’s all they have listed) means I could have Q for free without the £13 a month as well. I can’t see the reason for the £13 as it will barely improve things.

Won’t get it anyway, not till they have dual planners and better reliability.
__________________
BATRacer F1/LMES/A1GP/V8/IRL Play 'em all!
T4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 09:44   #1722
Jez
Ellis Retire!
 
Jez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tim Buck Too
Posts: 7,481
Thanks: 5
Thanked 74 Times in 50 Posts
Well actually did all right in the end, they gave me a Sky Q box for 20quid and then everything minus sports for 35quid a month.

Fairly pleased with that
__________________
Up the Villa!
Jez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 10:42   #1723
mikef
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Posts: 1,421
Thanks: 28
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
I'm just thinking of moving to Sky...I have BT Vision at the moment but hardly use it (apart from my son watching the odd football match)...most of my watching is through Now TV so may just bite the bullet and get Sky.

Does the dish reception still get impacted by things like leafy trees?


cheers

m
mikef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 15:03   #1724
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 12,962
Thanks: 405
Thanked 545 Times in 405 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikef View Post
I'm just thinking of moving to Sky...I have BT Vision at the moment but hardly use it (apart from my son watching the odd football match)...most of my watching is through Now TV so may just bite the bullet and get Sky.

Does the dish reception still get impacted by things like leafy trees?


cheers

m
Not really - more importantly the installers are very good at getting round issues.
basegreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 15:59   #1725
mikef
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Posts: 1,421
Thanks: 28
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by basegreen View Post
Not really - more importantly the installers are very good at getting round issues.
cheers...just been working through the site...even with offers its not cheap...by the time you add HD and Catch Up and throw in sports its £70 per month.....
mikef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 19:21   #1726
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,196
Thanks: 19
Thanked 429 Times in 380 Posts
Welcome to Sky..

Sent from my ZTE B2017G using Tapatalk
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2019, 11:13   #1727
Jabbitt
Quick Stop Clerk
 
Jabbitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,631
Thanks: 81
Thanked 80 Times in 38 Posts
I've just had a great call with Sky. Trying to save money where I can really and no one in the house watches traditional live tv anymore. So I've cancelled the TV service.

I just checked my bills and I didn't realise I was paying £42 a month for standard fibre! (fibre + line rental)

As I'm a valued customer of nearly 12 years, I got a new fibre contract for 18 months with the £19 line rental effectively removed for that time so I'm only paying £27. Plus they upgraded me to fibre max, double the speed I have now. So a new router for free will be in the post to me to enable that service.

Very pleased me.
__________________
http://www.j.abbitt.btinternet.co.uk/dante.jpg
"I'm not even supposed to be here today!"
Jabbitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2019, 15:00   #1728
jockosjungle
formerly rbullivant
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 22,935
Thanks: 285
Thanked 1,207 Times in 853 Posts
They are very good at haggling a dseal, with mine they don't even try, I just gen an email offering to carry over my deal
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2019, 18:20   #1729
Jez
Ellis Retire!
 
Jez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tim Buck Too
Posts: 7,481
Thanks: 5
Thanked 74 Times in 50 Posts
How are Sky when it comes to moving the dish?

I recently had it fitted in a new house and have subsequently upgraded to Sky Q so they are coming out again, what exactly do they do at the Sky Q visit as could do with them doing the dish higher because we're having a pitch put on a flat roof and currently the dish is in the way.

Is it a proper only do what is on their job sheet or if i asked them when they're out doing Sky Q to move it higher will they or will i have to arrange another appointment?
__________________
Up the Villa!
Jez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2019, 19:12   #1730
jockosjungle
formerly rbullivant
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 22,935
Thanks: 285
Thanked 1,207 Times in 853 Posts
Can't remember what they did, I recall the wire is wrong if nothing else. If worse came to worse, ask if they could give you a few feet of slack.
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 07:57   #1731
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,367
Thanks: 343
Thanked 1,511 Times in 479 Posts
If your dish is old they'll put a new one up. So you can ask them to move the location slightly.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 08:29   #1732
Jez
Ellis Retire!
 
Jez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tim Buck Too
Posts: 7,481
Thanks: 5
Thanked 74 Times in 50 Posts
It's not old, they only installed it 3 weeks ago. It's just now too low for the pitch of the roof so needs putting up another half meter or so.
__________________
Up the Villa!
Jez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2019, 11:00   #1733
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 24,607
Thanks: 132
Thanked 273 Times in 189 Posts
If you ditch the boxsets feature of Sky do you still get the Catch-up TV functionality?
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2019, 12:08   #1734
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,367
Thanks: 343
Thanked 1,511 Times in 479 Posts
Yes. I had no boxsets for ages and all the catchup stuff works fine. It's just the On Demand stuff you don't get.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2019, 19:44   #1735
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,082
Thanks: 725
Thanked 360 Times in 264 Posts
My BT fibre contract has expired and looking at options, we have Sky TV for a good price, looks like fibre with Sky will be quite a bit cheaper, although that'll mean no BT Sport.

Do you have to use a Sky router with Sky fibre? I'm using a BT Openreach fibre modem with my own router at the moment. Would I be able to continue using the openreach modem? Or would I have to use Sky's router and then have my router connected to that?

And if I have to use the Sky one, does the settings allow me to disable wireless on it?

And on BT Sport with Sky, any idea how much it costs for BT Sport (in HD) when you're no longer a BT customer?
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2019, 20:03   #1736
jockosjungle
formerly rbullivant
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 22,935
Thanks: 285
Thanked 1,207 Times in 853 Posts
Sure there was an advert for £20 today
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 12:04   #1737
ascender
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schottland
Posts: 5,161
Thanks: 192
Thanked 103 Times in 80 Posts
Sky specify you have to use their router and if I remember rightly, its one of those where you have to do some jiggery-pokery if you want to extract the login details so you can swap it out with another. I seem to remember using a network sniffer tool, but maybe there's an easier way these days.
ascender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 12:11   #1738
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,367
Thanks: 343
Thanked 1,511 Times in 479 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie G View Post
My BT fibre contract has expired and looking at options, we have Sky TV for a good price, looks like fibre with Sky will be quite a bit cheaper, although that'll mean no BT Sport.

Do you have to use a Sky router with Sky fibre? I'm using a BT Openreach fibre modem with my own router at the moment. Would I be able to continue using the openreach modem? Or would I have to use Sky's router and then have my router connected to that?

And if I have to use the Sky one, does the settings allow me to disable wireless on it?

And on BT Sport with Sky, any idea how much it costs for BT Sport (in HD) when you're no longer a BT customer?
You can get BT Sport Lite for about £7. But you only get it in SD.

However, if you have an Xbox or other device connected to your TV, with the BT Sport App on there, then you can watch it in HD via that.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 12:29   #1739
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 24,607
Thanks: 132
Thanked 273 Times in 189 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bear View Post
You can get BT Sport Lite for about £7. But you only get it in SD.
Pretty sure that is the price for BT broadband customers.

If you don't have BT Broadband then the price of BT Sport (via a Sky box) is at least £25 per month.
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 12:31   #1740
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,367
Thanks: 343
Thanked 1,511 Times in 479 Posts
Ah yes, I have Infinity so you're probably right.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
EPG, sky, sky hd, SkyHD

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official SPL 2009/10 thread - "The Establishment's" Favourite Thread on the Forums!! boonspoon Sports Forum 440 09-05-2010 17:34
The 'Official' MMA Thread Guest 522 Sports Forum 1001 05-03-2007 18:05
*The Official PS3 Thread* TimJBart Video Games Forum 1029 08-09-2006 16:27
Official Liverpool 06 - 07 Thread - The Official Pedant thread! Guest 816 Sports Forum 1013 06-09-2006 10:09
The one and only official "official"Tru calling thread... Lorne.t Television Discussion 79 23-03-2005 19:37

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network