Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-02-2007, 22:21   #1
Professor Abronsius
Fearless Vampire Killer
 
Professor Abronsius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Konigsberg
Posts: 13,046
Thanks: 183
Thanked 491 Times in 207 Posts
Cancelling Sky and going with Freeview/Top Up TV... ?

Hi there,

We are going to be cancelling our Sky Basic Subscription soon and will be switching over to Freeview/Top Up TV, but got some questions...

Initially we are only going to want the Freeview Channels but at a later date we will want the Top Up TV ones as well, so it is better in the long run to go for say the Phillips Top Up TV Box from Argos rather than a standard Freeview Box... ?

What boxes are recommended... ?

Not really bothered about the Hard Drive Boxes as will not be recording anything.

Also, i think our comunal TV Aerial is a bit dodgy signal wise, so would probably get one of the loft ones specifically for the Freview, are there any recomended... ?

Finally, is it worth hanging onto the old Sky+ Box after we cancel with them, or should we just sell it on... ?

Many thanks in advance.

Cheers.
Professor Abronsius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2007, 22:25   #2
Alan b
Administrator
 
Alan b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 35,049
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,285 Times in 581 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor Abronsius
Also, i think our comunal TV Aerial is a bit dodgy signal wise, so would probably get one of the loft ones specifically for the Freview, are there any recomended... ?
This site might be of use, it is to do with everything freeview:

http://www.ukfree.tv/starthere.php
Alan b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2007, 06:55   #3
Guest 81
Since the beginning
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 2,463
Thanks: 4
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Topup TV via a card in a normal box is all but dead. Their only real offering now is to have their box and package. If you need some of the channels that Topup offer you may want to reconsider leaving Sky as Topup won't be around much longer at all from what I can see.
Guest 81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2007, 09:51   #4
Delh
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 425
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If u have an 'Instore' formerly Poundstretchers they have a Fergusion top-up TV box for £25 ~ highly regarded on www.digitalspy.co.uk
By keeping your Sky+, you'll have access to chl4 & chl5 if u keep the card, u won't be able to do any recording with it. Sell it & put it towards a freeview box ~ although u don't appear to get much for them these days!
You'll need a wideband aerial i believe, u need to check your postcode against what they say u can receive.
If u aren't sure if u can get freeview, get a box from Asda/Tesco (Durabrand/Digilogic) & test it ~ they both have a no quibble returns policy

hth
Delh

Last edited by Delh; 26-02-2007 at 09:51. Reason: correcting mistake
Delh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2007, 10:03   #5
Guest 243
XBL: Wolfgang Winkle
 
Guest 243's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: ... of the dead
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 102
Thanked 91 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor Abronsius
What boxes are recommended... ?
The BT / Netgem I-Player is capable of doing the top-up-tv thing I think. We've got two and they're very stable boxes with some decent features, including s-video out / 3.5mm audio jack (which can be handy for use with a PC monitor and speakers). I can't see it on the BT Shop site anymore though.
Guest 243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2007, 13:53   #6
Professor Abronsius
Fearless Vampire Killer
 
Professor Abronsius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Konigsberg
Posts: 13,046
Thanks: 183
Thanked 491 Times in 207 Posts
Thanks for the info folks.

Probably just going to go for the Freeview option.

Might just buy a box as suggested and try it out to see if we will need a new Aerial. If we do it will definately have to go in the Loft.

So if the current Aerial is duff, there will either be no Signal or Limited Channels found in the Scan... ?

Cheers.
Professor Abronsius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2007, 15:07   #7
Guest 50820
Dippy & dizzy
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The West Country
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm not sure why you would want to buy freeview equipment.
Sky without subscription gives you almost exactly the same channels.

Your Sky+ box will still work as a freeview box (although you won't be able to record on it)

Last edited by pjclark1; 26-02-2007 at 15:08.
Guest 50820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2007, 15:24   #8
Mandrill
Live !Tag Nabby81
 
Mandrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Luton
Posts: 7,204
Thanks: 21
Thanked 23 Times in 18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjclark1
I'm not sure why you would want to buy freeview equipment.
Sky without subscription gives you almost exactly the same channels.

Your Sky+ box will still work as a freeview box (although you won't be able to record on it)

Thats what I would have throught would be the best thing to do.
Mandrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2007, 16:43   #9
Professor Abronsius
Fearless Vampire Killer
 
Professor Abronsius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Konigsberg
Posts: 13,046
Thanks: 183
Thanked 491 Times in 207 Posts
It's knackered!

Should have said.

Have had it with one of the Engineers in work the past few days, but if it needs something repaired in it that costs more than a Freeview box, then we were just going to go for Freeview.

Been long out of warranty, and to be honest we hardly ever use the recording part of it.
Professor Abronsius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2007, 18:11   #10
Delh
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 425
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
U get E4, More 4, TMF, UK History, ABC (till 6pm) on Freeview that aren't available on Sky's version, maybe more....(depends if u like anything on those channels, which i do )

Delh
Delh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2007, 19:31   #11
Guest 81
Since the beginning
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 2,463
Thanks: 4
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Please let's not confuse Freeview and Freesat again - they have different channel line ups. Check out both on the web and see what channels each offer.
Guest 81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2007, 11:25   #12
johnson293
Black and White Member
 
johnson293's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,840
Thanks: 20
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
My Sky subscription ends this Thursday, and I am going the Freesat route in the living room, while I bought a Durabrand freeview box at Asda for £20 for the bedroom.

So basically, we will have the same 'main' channels in both rooms, except for the odd exceptions only available on each platform (E4 only on freeview, Loads of extra channels available on freesat).

However, the main thing I will miss is the recording functions of Sky+, and I did consider buying a freeview PVR for the living room, but will stick with Freesat for now, and see how that goes - I have a DVD Recorder anyway, if I really need to record something - it just isn't as flexible as a PVR with twin tuner.

Anyway, Sky have already rang me twice since I started my 30 day notice asking if they could offer me a deal to reconsider/stay with them, so hopefully I am not alone, and a lot of their subscribers may be jumping ship to Freeview or Virgin Media.

Maybe its the reality check that Mr Murdoch needs, after all the year sof monopoly he has enjoyed!

MJ

Last edited by johnson293; 27-02-2007 at 11:26.
johnson293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2007, 18:50   #13
Professor Abronsius
Fearless Vampire Killer
 
Professor Abronsius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Konigsberg
Posts: 13,046
Thanks: 183
Thanked 491 Times in 207 Posts
After some research and reading lots of Threads on here...

Have just bought the Humax PVR-9200T from John Lewis.

Setting it up now.

Cheers.
Professor Abronsius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2007, 20:08   #14
Professor Abronsius
Fearless Vampire Killer
 
Professor Abronsius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Konigsberg
Posts: 13,046
Thanks: 183
Thanked 491 Times in 207 Posts
Bought a wee free standing Telecam Power Shark Digital Freeview Aerial as well today and just got it plugged into that. Aerial is sitting on the window ledge facing the general direction of the Transmitter.

Even on Channel 5, it is at 60-70% Strength and 100% Quality. All other channels are crystal clear.

The Humax Box is excellent.
Professor Abronsius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2007, 21:19   #15
Delh
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 425
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor Abronsius
After some research and reading lots of Threads on here...

Have just bought the Humax PVR-9200T from John Lewis.

Setting it up now.

Cheers.
Nice choice ~ I thought u said u didn't use the recording functions of the Sky+ box?, u then buy one of the best Freeview PVR's there is
Don't forget to sell your Sky card on for a few quid or get a cheap sky box to use it with

Delh
__________________
My feedback
Delh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2007, 21:58   #16
Professor Abronsius
Fearless Vampire Killer
 
Professor Abronsius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Konigsberg
Posts: 13,046
Thanks: 183
Thanked 491 Times in 207 Posts
Yeah basically that came down to the wee fella and CBeebies...
Professor Abronsius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network