Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-07-2015, 14:02   #661
vaderag
Gamertag: VaderAG
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bexleyheath
Posts: 6,900
Thanks: 359
Thanked 78 Times in 60 Posts
I'm really disappointed with them moving backwards on OneDrive... it really changes how i use my surface in a negative way. I'd roll back, but they'll prob stop supporting the way they used it in 8.1 anyway. It's crazy to take two steps back...
__________________
@GambitUK
vaderag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 14:02   #662
Fatbloke
PSN : Fatbloke-66
 
Fatbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Deepest Barking
Posts: 9,285
Thanks: 387
Thanked 524 Times in 315 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdminSpod View Post
Damn that company for fixing broken stuff!
Fatbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 14:23   #663
dataloss
Cyberspace Addict
 
dataloss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ealing, London UK
Posts: 5,261
Thanks: 1,233
Thanked 400 Times in 263 Posts
You still need to use netplwiz if you want Auto-Login, you would think they could added a simple toggle but no.
dataloss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 14:38   #664
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,196
Thanks: 19
Thanked 429 Times in 380 Posts
Am I the only one that isnt bothered about Win 10? Not tried any beta's and not that bothered about changing from W7.
Ive reserved but not go any 'Update Now'.
More likely than not to stay W7 and just upgrade when I have too.
Can I just download a DVD/iso for installing when I have too?
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 14:40   #665
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
You don't have to enter your key after upgrading first, if clean installing, for whoever was asking earlier. Once you have activated 10 once, by doing the upgrade, any subsequent clean install, just press 'skip' when asked for a key and it registers fine.
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 14:42   #666
LiviLion
Live At The Witch Trials
 
LiviLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,093
Thanks: 126
Thanked 75 Times in 49 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouBarlow View Post
You don't have to enter your key after upgrading first, if clean installing, for whoever was asking earlier. Once you have activated 10 once, by doing the upgrade, any subsequent clean install, just press 'skip' when asked for a key and it registers fine.
Confirmed. I had my key just in case but chose to skip. It still shows as activated.
LiviLion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 14:49   #667
AdminSpod
Does anybody read these?
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 6,980
Thanks: 10
Thanked 399 Times in 184 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatbloke View Post
Damn that company for fixing broken stuff!
The point is that they knew several days ago that it was broken, and got the patch ready before it launched, but management insisted on releasing to a specified date rather than to a specified quality.

Really the patch should have been included in the final version and released a few days or weeks later when properly tested rather than everybody having to download a massive patch on day one.
AdminSpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 15:02   #668
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
What difference does a patch make? Even with that it's going to receive plenty more patches in the future.
  Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 15:07   #669
Jim989
GoldMember
 
Jim989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Half way up a mountain in Snowdonia.
Posts: 8,404
Thanks: 304
Thanked 520 Times in 284 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShakeyJake View Post
What difference does a patch make?
2-3hrs of downloading for some of us.
Jim989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 15:08   #670
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
This is the 90s man.
  Reply With Quote
Thanked 2 times by:
richie-t (30-07-2015), riz1 (30-07-2015)
Old 30-07-2015, 15:17   #671
AdminSpod
Does anybody read these?
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 6,980
Thanks: 10
Thanked 399 Times in 184 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShakeyJake View Post
What difference does a patch make? Even with that it's going to receive plenty more patches in the future.
There's likely to be lots of patches in the first few months, but 1GB is essentially about 1/4 of the size of the original Windows 10 DVD ISO. That's more like the size of a complete service pack than a patch. The XP Service Pack 3 installer was only about 320MB. Microsoft are downplaying the fact that it is really quite a big and significant update.
AdminSpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 15:20   #672
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Windows XP came out 14 years ago.
  Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 15:20   #673
Mevlock
XBL - Mevlock
 
Mevlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 244
Thanked 302 Times in 182 Posts
Welcome to Windows as a Service.

This isn't like in the past where you'd have a major version of windows and maybe a service pack or two.

The plan is to continually patch in changes, features and updates from now on. Get used to major patches on a frequent basis.

Last edited by Mevlock; 30-07-2015 at 15:22.
Mevlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 15:31   #674
nwgarratt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,574
Thanks: 79
Thanked 85 Times in 58 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
Am I the only one that isnt bothered about Win 10? Not tried any beta's and not that bothered about changing from W7.
Ive reserved but not go any 'Update Now'.
More likely than not to stay W7 and just upgrade when I have too.
Can I just download a DVD/iso for installing when I have too?
I am not bothered but I still grabbed the iso as I have a computer with Win7 Home Premium. If the time comes I change my mind I can use it.

I still have XP on this machine and it is staying XP. I have to do a motherboard BIOS update and won't do it to get win7 installed.

Last edited by nwgarratt; 30-07-2015 at 15:32.
nwgarratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 15:33   #675
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
I can't get my head around why anyone would remain on XP, unless, as you say, your BIOS can't handle it. It must be a hell of an old motherboard!
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 15:35   #676
mjb1975
Blandiblub
 
mjb1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kent
Posts: 12,236
Thanks: 27
Thanked 134 Times in 100 Posts
We're still on XP at work. Some of the company have moved on to Win 7 but only relatively recently. Snails pace upgrades here!
__________________
'Haven't you ever practiced on one of your girlfriends?'
mjb1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 15:37   #677
nwgarratt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,574
Thanks: 79
Thanked 85 Times in 58 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouBarlow View Post
I can't get my head around why anyone would remain on XP, unless, as you say, your BIOS can't handle it. It must be a hell of an old motherboard!
2007 motherboard. I won't do a bios update (actually for vista but needed for w7). I have seen fried useless motherboards in the past just because a update was done.

The computer works just fine with XP for internet. little bit of slow video encoding and disc burning.

Last edited by nwgarratt; 30-07-2015 at 15:39.
nwgarratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 15:38   #678
jockosjungle
formerly rbullivant
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Falkland Islands
Posts: 23,136
Thanks: 285
Thanked 1,229 Times in 871 Posts
Well upgraded mine eventually, got the update failed and the first fix didn't work for me. I did the download one and it worked out ok. Seems close enough to Windows 7 that I'm not too worried
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 15:39   #679
ArthurDent
Mostly Harmless
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,168
Thanks: 315
Thanked 460 Times in 174 Posts
Just got home and Win10 was installed and waiting for me - many thanks to Lentini for your help!
ArthurDent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 16:15   #680
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjb1975 View Post
We're still on XP at work. Some of the company have moved on to Win 7 but only relatively recently. Snails pace upgrades here!
I can understand work computers being slow to upgrade too. If anyone has hardware capable of running Windows 10, I can't see any reason to stay on XP. If anything, it probably runs smoother than XP would on equivalent hardware.
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Windows Vista to Windows 7... Decided on Windows 8 - RESOLVED Psycho Computing Forum 26 03-11-2012 17:53
Simple video editor like Windows Live Movie Maker for Windows? King Mustard Computing Forum 1 05-03-2012 08:39
MS Technet: Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1) Beta driver8 Computing Forum 31 28-02-2011 10:44
Windows Home Server / Windows 7 - temporary loss of access to random shared folders? ColinP Computing Forum 5 25-01-2010 21:49
Windows developers : Displaying MDI child windows in a multiple monitor environment pkr Computing Forum 4 04-08-2005 23:08

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network