Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20-12-2017, 13:02   #2481
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,196
Thanks: 19
Thanked 429 Times in 380 Posts
I reinstalled the latest version last night using the media creation tool and usb stick.

It wouldn't update without a full reinstall because of Symantec Endpoint Protection again. It need a Fresh reinstall anyway.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 18:26   #2482
ArthurDent
Mostly Harmless
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,168
Thanks: 315
Thanked 460 Times in 174 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobyood View Post
Indeed. If their concern is that granny on her laptop will never get security updates... All they need to do is provide a tick box "I know what I'm doing/this machine can't reboot, so I'd like to manage my own updates and confirm every reboot".. then a few options "provide security updates automatically and/or provide driver updates automatically.. on/off"

That is trivial work for them to provide.

Windows reliability in graphics and multiple displays is getting worse. It's now critical they fix this OS. My PC will not remember I have two screens and I have to reenable one every time I restart. They need adding monitors and disconnecting seamless.. W10 still acts like Window 98 when you connect or dock undock. Screens blank out.. all your icons jump around.. open applications jump from screen or resize themselves.

It's maddening when some of the worse devices at this are Surfaces. We have hundred at work, I have a surface book and official dock with it. The dock is an unreliable piece of crap.

Then when you look to the next version of Windows in the insiders program, the blog goes into 'amazing' updates for Edge or Emojis being added to the on-screen keyboard. Worthless. Theyves added a poeple button to the taskbar! These are all apps and app updates... Why do we need to do a 45min update twice a year for apps? Why can't the Edge team update edge as and when required.. or the highly important 'Emoji team' drop their work in updates which I can turn off. The OS updates should be meaningful and advance the platform. The build numbers for the OS are increasing at a fast rate in the last few years. They must have extensive machine learning testing thousands of virtual and physical test systems checking for faults daily.... Why isn't this OS built proof?

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Just had a new laptop at work with Win 10 and Office 2016. Office 2016 application scaling across monitors is appalling. I can have Word / Excel pin sharp on the laptop display, but on the display connected to my dock they're slightly fizzy - yet File Explorer on the same external monitor is pin sharp!

Apparently it's a known issue, but it's one that's been hanging around for a while now without any kind of satisfactory solution. Very poor show. The only workaround that's been offered so far is to log out and back in again - hardly convenient!
ArthurDent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 18:36   #2483
vaderag
Gamertag: VaderAG
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bexleyheath
Posts: 6,899
Thanks: 359
Thanked 78 Times in 60 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurDent View Post
Just had a new laptop at work with Win 10 and Office 2016. Office 2016 application scaling across monitors is appalling. I can have Word / Excel pin sharp on the laptop display, but on the display connected to my dock they're slightly fizzy - yet File Explorer on the same external monitor is pin sharp!

Apparently it's a known issue, but it's one that's been hanging around for a while now without any kind of satisfactory solution. Very poor show. The only workaround that's been offered so far is to log out and back in again - hardly convenient!
Yeah, I've had that too. Even in explorer too, things being different sizes etc requiring a log off to fix

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk
__________________
@GambitUK
vaderag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 18:43   #2484
scoobyood
Tony Danza
 
scoobyood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 8,757
Thanks: 823
Thanked 1,100 Times in 548 Posts
Because we purchased so many Surfaces, I've been to some Microsoft meetings with the Surface hardware team. They aren't any the wiser on these W10 OS screen issues and it doesn't look like this is going to change any time soon. Windows 10 needs a complete low-level code overhaul and they can't be doing anything like that at present. The new insider builds are just as bad....

Microsoft Office Team, Microsoft Hardware Team and Microsoft Windows teams are completely separate entities as far as I can tell. The seemingly simple task of getting Office 365 (the actual business 'Pro Plus' version) onto a brand new Microsoft surface (a business targeted device), out of the box, rather than the consumer version trial is a real pain the ass. We wanted to give Surfaces to our users brand new in the box and have them pre configured to just hand them out. Nope, can't be done. Not unless you basically enroll them as a mobile phone...

Sorry, I could rant on this topic continuously..
scoobyood is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
vaderag (03-01-2018)
Old 03-01-2018, 23:18   #2485
mjr
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 2,433
Thanks: 435
Thanked 122 Times in 93 Posts
Emergency patch incoming for the recently announced CPU security issue(s):
https://www.theverge.com/2018/1/3/16...windows-10-fix

Not showing via Windows Update yet though.

Last edited by mjr; 03-01-2018 at 23:31.
mjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 07:29   #2486
vaderag
Gamertag: VaderAG
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bexleyheath
Posts: 6,899
Thanks: 359
Thanked 78 Times in 60 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjr View Post
Emergency patch incoming for the recently announced CPU security issue(s):
https://www.theverge.com/2018/1/3/16...windows-10-fix

Not showing via Windows Update yet though.
Oh goodie. Can't wait for my computer to slow down even more

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk
__________________
@GambitUK
vaderag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 09:42   #2487
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you don't want to wait until it shows up on Windows Update you can install it manually from http://catalog.update.microsoft.com/...px?q=KB4056892. It's about 600mb.

If you're unsure which version you want it will probably be "2018-01 Cumulative Update for Windows 10 Version 1709 for x64-based Systems (KB4056892)" unless your PC is really old and you'll want the x86 one.

Last edited by ShakeyJake; 04-01-2018 at 09:44.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 09:52   #2488
mjr
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 2,433
Thanks: 435
Thanked 122 Times in 93 Posts
Be careful manually installing, it looks like MS are waiting for anti-virus vendors to provide compatibility updates before pushing out via Windows Update
mjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Old 04-01-2018, 10:24   #2489
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Urgh didn't know that, Avast Free seems ok, so far.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 12:16   #2490
shteve
[o]EvilTwinkle
 
shteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cov
Posts: 5,887
Thanks: 465
Thanked 711 Times in 517 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vaderag View Post
Oh goodie. Can't wait for my computer to slow down even more

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk
From what I've been reading, the performance hit is only seen in benchmarks under high I/O load, so most end users won't be affected.
__________________
I've got a signature and an avatar :p
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 13:17   #2491
shteve
[o]EvilTwinkle
 
shteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cov
Posts: 5,887
Thanks: 465
Thanked 711 Times in 517 Posts
Azure hosts have been patched by the look. Most of our servers were rebooted overnight.
__________________
I've got a signature and an avatar :p
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 18:12   #2492
mjr
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 2,433
Thanks: 435
Thanked 122 Times in 93 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShakeyJake View Post
Urgh didn't know that, Avast Free seems ok, so far.
Oddly I found just now that my AV vendor Eset has set the registry key to indicate compatibility, but Windows Update still isn't offering it to me on the 1709 build of Windows 10, so I'm currently installing it manually. Hopefully my machine will still boot at the end of it!

Edit: it did come back fine by the way

Last edited by mjr; 04-01-2018 at 21:56.
mjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 06:15   #2493
ArthurDent
Mostly Harmless
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,168
Thanks: 315
Thanked 460 Times in 174 Posts
KB4056892 is now available through Windows Update.
ArthurDent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 07:18   #2494
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 10,810
Thanks: 1,926
Thanked 2,167 Times in 925 Posts
For the last few weeks, I've been seeing a DOS popup window about 1-2 minutes after rebooting (and sometimes after hibernation). It's an annoying distracting 'flash' that steals focus.
Today it hung around for longer than usual, and I spotted it's from compattelrunner.exe which seems to be something to do with windows updates. Pretty poor that MS can't even run this in the background.
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 08:50   #2495
ArthurDent
Mostly Harmless
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,168
Thanks: 315
Thanked 460 Times in 174 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurDent View Post
KB4056892 is now available through Windows Update.
"Antivirus software makers responded by rolling out fixes to make their products compatible with the updated operating systems, he said. In a blog posting on Friday, Microsoft Corp (MSFT.O) said it would only offer security patches to Windows customers whose antivirus software suppliers had confirmed with Microsoft that the patch would not crash the customer’s machine." https://uk.reuters.com/article/uk-cy...KBN1EU0JN?il=0

I'm running Bitdefender Antivirus Free:

https://www.bitdefender.co.uk/consum...t/answer/9033/
ArthurDent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 16:02   #2496
scoobyood
Tony Danza
 
scoobyood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 8,757
Thanks: 823
Thanked 1,100 Times in 548 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurDent View Post
"Antivirus software makers responded by rolling out fixes to make their products compatible with the updated operating systems, he said. In a blog posting on Friday, Microsoft Corp (MSFT.O) said it would only offer security patches to Windows customers whose antivirus software suppliers had confirmed with Microsoft that the patch would not crash the customer’s machine." https://uk.reuters.com/article/uk-cy...KBN1EU0JN?il=0

I'm running Bitdefender Antivirus Free:

https://www.bitdefender.co.uk/consum...t/answer/9033/
Here is the main public list with status on different AV vendors and the stage they are at with patching and whether or not they've enabled the registry key...

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...aring&sle=true

In some cases Windows defender it itself will set the key as well.

Also I had to go into Malwarebytes menu and press the 'updates' button which caused it to kick in and set the reg key... then I was able to immediately re-run the Windows update 'check for updates' button and it came straight through.
scoobyood is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
mjr (07-01-2018)
Old 09-01-2018, 17:57   #2497
Shingster
Trusted User
 
Shingster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,548
Thanks: 501
Thanked 342 Times in 216 Posts
Windows 10 has now installed an update that completely ***** up AiSuite3, causing fans on all PCs using this software to go completely hatywire, my living room now sounds like I have a hoover going on at all times. I really am getting sick to my back teeth of this operating system!

EDIT: Does anyone know a surefire way of blocking a specific update from auto-installing on win10 home?

Last edited by Shingster; 09-01-2018 at 18:26.
Shingster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 19:53   #2498
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,012
Thanks: 278
Thanked 4,414 Times in 1,988 Posts
Have you tried the beta version compatible with the CPU Meltdown and Spectre patches? http://www.guru3d.com/news_story/asu...ows_patch.html
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Shingster (10-01-2018)
Old 09-01-2018, 20:06   #2499
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I've not used AISuite (well not for a few years at least) but from experience any kind of software like that made by motherboard manufacturers is usually terrible and unstable at the best of times. You're usually better off setting things up in the BIOS than any kind of software in windows.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 20:19   #2500
mjr
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 2,433
Thanks: 435
Thanked 122 Times in 93 Posts
This is an interesting blog from Microsoft about the performance characteristics of the patches for the CPU security vulnerabilities:

Understanding the performance impact of Spectre and Meltdown mitigations on Windows Systems

Last edited by mjr; 09-01-2018 at 20:21.
mjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Windows Vista to Windows 7... Decided on Windows 8 - RESOLVED Psycho Computing Forum 26 03-11-2012 17:53
Simple video editor like Windows Live Movie Maker for Windows? King Mustard Computing Forum 1 05-03-2012 08:39
MS Technet: Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1) Beta driver8 Computing Forum 31 28-02-2011 10:44
Windows Home Server / Windows 7 - temporary loss of access to random shared folders? ColinP Computing Forum 5 25-01-2010 21:49
Windows developers : Displaying MDI child windows in a multiple monitor environment pkr Computing Forum 4 04-08-2005 23:08

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network