Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2015, 21:00   #101
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannywonderful View Post
That's about it. Increase your ram and get a 970. Anything after that will be diminishing returns. You still have a very capable system from what I can see.

At 1080p the 970 is going to handle everything comfortably. ( except maybe Bat-Man )

You can get 16Gb of Hyper x or Corsair Vengeance for less than £70 nowadays.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shingster View Post
A 970 is going to be £250 on its own though and I have to question whether you really need a new graphics card right now if all you're going to use it on is turn based games and that one flashier game on the horizon.

Maybe it's best to upgrade your RAM for now and see what happens to the 970 over black friday or in the January sales? Personally if you're not finding your card lacking for the games you currently play then I would wait until XCOM2 comes out and see what the reports are from players using a 770 or 970. If it sounds like the 770 isn't quite up to the task then I'd consider upgrading to a 970 then.
Cheers

Yeah that makes sense
In terms of memory, what do I need to look at buying for my motherboard

Would this be ok
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/kings...my-204-ks.html

Last edited by dunkle; 09-11-2015 at 21:04.
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 21:07   #102
dannywonderful
Bon Viveur
 
dannywonderful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Coventry,England
Posts: 4,068
Thanks: 0
Thanked 56 Times in 47 Posts
Sure, that would work fine. Cheaper at places like Ebuyer though.
dannywonderful is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (09-11-2015)
Old 09-11-2015, 21:13   #103
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannywonderful View Post
Sure, that would work fine. Cheaper at places like Ebuyer though.
Cheers
Looking now
Do I need to go for a particular speed ?

This seems good price if ok for my needs

http://www.ebuyer.com/633798-hyperx-...hx318c10fk2-16

Last edited by dunkle; 09-11-2015 at 21:14.
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 21:17   #104
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,011
Thanks: 278
Thanked 4,413 Times in 1,987 Posts
RAM speed makes no real difference to system speed. And unless you're overclocking, buying fancy RAM is a complete waste.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 21:25   #105
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
Cheers. So that blue one for under sixty be ok ?
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 21:29   #106
dannywonderful
Bon Viveur
 
dannywonderful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Coventry,England
Posts: 4,068
Thanks: 0
Thanked 56 Times in 47 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuncanSWardle View Post
Cheers. So that blue one for under sixty be ok ?
More than ok. Up till now it's been very rare for anything to require that much ram and even now it's mostly anomalies like Bat-man that ask for more than 8Gb. If you wait till a sale for your GPU upgrade then I'd say it would be more than a year before you even had to consider any other kind of system upgrade. Unless you start looking at some of the new monitors, keyboards etc.
dannywonderful is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (09-11-2015)
Old 10-11-2015, 05:01   #107
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
Yeah your 770 will be fine if you aren't fussy about high FPS and can make a few sacrifices of settings. It's not a *massive* leap over the 770 but if you are looking to upgrade your current system, it would be probably the only purchase, besides RAM, that wouldn't cost the earth, as you could sell your 770 and a 970 can be had for ~£250 now. If you start upgrading CPU or go for a fancier GFX card, then it would start getting expensive.
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (10-11-2015)
Old 10-11-2015, 11:04   #108
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
Cheers guys
I think for sixty quid I'll go for just the ram at moment
Mind I have 8gb already can I just add another 8 and do it cheaper ?

I'm guessing I'll not see any huge benefit from the 8gb but will be some improvement

The calls about waiting on sales for the 970 are very good, heck even a 980 may get reduced
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 11:54   #109
dannywonderful
Bon Viveur
 
dannywonderful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Coventry,England
Posts: 4,068
Thanks: 0
Thanked 56 Times in 47 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuncanSWardle View Post
Cheers guys
I think for sixty quid I'll go for just the ram at moment
Mind I have 8gb already can I just add another 8 and do it cheaper ?

I'm guessing I'll not see any huge benefit from the 8gb but will be some improvement

The calls about waiting on sales for the 970 are very good, heck even a 980 may get reduced
Yes, you can just add another 8Gb and do it that way. Ram prices are relatively low at the moment, but they do fluctuate more than a lot of other components.
dannywonderful is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (10-11-2015)
Old 10-11-2015, 12:22   #110
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you can try and match the same memory as you already have, although that's not always possible. If you can't find it try and get all the timings as close as possible.

Actually I didn't read what spec you currently have, most RAM you buy should be able to match the timings of your current RAM so it won't be too hard finding something suitable.

Last edited by ShakeyJake; 10-11-2015 at 12:26.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 13:03   #111
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
Well inspired by the bargain forums I’m considering upgrading as my pc is starting to struggle of late

I have a rather old yet serviceable PC ( its based around a Asus P8Z68-V LE Motherboard and i5 2500K Processor) and speed boost and have seen mention of late of these new AMD Ryzen processors

So if I was to buy myself a Ryzen 3 2200 or a Ryzen 5 2400

Could anyone advise the following please

What motherboard would I need
What CPU cooler (quiet one ideally) would I need

Then in terms of slotting it into my existing case and adding the existing items I have such as hard drive etc

My current graphics card is a GeForce GTX 770, as I understand it these new cpus are APUs as such would it be worth using my old existing graphics card or can I do without ?

And I guess I need to know, would I need to buy new memory chips ? Or could I use my existing chips which are HYPERX SAVAGE RED 16GB (2X8GB) DDR3

Oh and PSU, I assume it’s safe to keep my existing one ?
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 22:39   #112
dannywonderful
Bon Viveur
 
dannywonderful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Coventry,England
Posts: 4,068
Thanks: 0
Thanked 56 Times in 47 Posts
It's currently one of the worst possible times to build, or upgrade a PC. Ram prices have shot through the roof due to smart phone manufacturers snapping up as much as possible and GPU prices are crazy high due to crypto currency miners grabbing them as soon as they're available.

This is the first time in all my years of owning a gaming PC that my system is worth more now than it was last year.
dannywonderful is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (09-03-2018)
Old 08-03-2018, 23:34   #113
kanedaa
XBL: kanedaa
 
kanedaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 16,124
Thanks: 75
Thanked 1,674 Times in 1,125 Posts
Ryzen 3 would be a sideways step from an i5 2500k (especially if you have it overclocked). It'll be more efficient and may have the edge in places but I suspect it'd be minimal gains at best.

You'll need DDR4.

The Ryzen's you mention are APUs with a fairly capable GPU component. Digital Foundry was very impressed by the 2200 as a budget solution and I can see why, but at the same time they're more a match for an entry-level GPU like the Nvidia 1030.

It's hard to say for certain how that would match up to your 770, but given how Nvidia chips typically drop down one in the pecking order each generation (770 to 960 to 1050) the 770 is likely quite a bit more powerful than the 1030 (but also hugely inefficient and lacking modern architecture features).

So again I'd say sideways step at best but more than likely a downgrade.

Check out the Digital Foundry article/video on the Ryzen APUs:

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/di...5-2400g-review

The 2200 is amazing for £90 (plus the £150 DDR4 they're using, and whatever the motherboard costs) but it's very much a budget rig - sub 1080p and a lot of tweaking to hit 30fps.
kanedaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (09-03-2018)
Old 09-03-2018, 06:10   #114
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,011
Thanks: 278
Thanked 4,413 Times in 1,987 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannywonderful View Post
This is the first time in all my years of owning a gaming PC that my system is worth more now than it was last year.
It's quite refreshing isn't it? I thought I was being extravagant buying the 1080 when I did and 18 months later google shopping has the cheapest one at only a tenner less than I paid for (what at the time) was the best one.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 09:27   #115
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
Well that’s a few quid saved
Maybe I just need to tweak bios / overclock a little and notice some change

If I post pictures of the bios screens can anyone suggest what I may be able tweak









dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 11:27   #116
kanedaa
XBL: kanedaa
 
kanedaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 16,124
Thanks: 75
Thanked 1,674 Times in 1,125 Posts
In an earlier post your listed specs say the CPU is overclocked to 4.6GHz which is about as high as you can take a 2500k without some serious custom cooling and tweaking. If you go through to Advanced Frequency Settings in that first photo it should show the CPU ratio as 46 (stock is 33).

I'm also a 2500k owner who looks at upgrading each time some new chips come out but as the others have said prices just suck when it comes to DDR4 and graphics cards. My current mid-range budget pick would be an i5 8400. Before that I would've said Ryzen 5 1600 but from what I've seen the Intel is better for gaming, whereas Ryzen is better for productivity due to the extra threads. Both are really quite cheap (approx £150) but the Intel motherboards are expensive (just a few at the sub £100 price as they've yet to release the cheaper chipsets) and DDR4 is insane particularly if you want a decent speed module.

And a Ryzen side note - I'm still a little put off by the memory compatibility. Maybe it's better now or not as bad as I think it is but when I was last looking it seemed that support for high speed DDR4 was all over the place.

All of the above is based on very limited reading. My main source these days is Digital Foundry as I like their stuff and always check out their video reviews.
kanedaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 11:43   #117
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanedaa View Post
In an earlier post your listed specs say the CPU is overclocked to 4.6GHz which is about as high as you can take a 2500k without some serious custom cooling and tweaking. If you go through to Advanced Frequency Settings in that first photo it should show the CPU ratio as 46 (stock is 33).

I'm also a 2500k owner who looks at upgrading each time some new chips come out but as the others have said prices just suck when it comes to DDR4 and graphics cards. My current mid-range budget pick would be an i5 8400. Before that I would've said Ryzen 5 1600 but from what I've seen the Intel is better for gaming, whereas Ryzen is better for productivity due to the extra threads. Both are really quite cheap (approx £150) but the Intel motherboards are expensive (just a few at the sub £100 price as they've yet to release the cheaper chipsets) and DDR4 is insane particularly if you want a decent speed module.

And a Ryzen side note - I'm still a little put off by the memory compatibility. Maybe it's better now or not as bad as I think it is but when I was last looking it seemed that support for high speed DDR4 was all over the place.

All of the above is based on very limited reading. My main source these days is Digital Foundry as I like their stuff and always check out their video reviews.

Sorry, yes it was overclocked when purchased as new but the original Asus motherboard stopped working so I had to replace with the Gigabyte and as such lost any overcloking that had back then
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 12:06   #118
kanedaa
XBL: kanedaa
 
kanedaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 16,124
Thanks: 75
Thanked 1,674 Times in 1,125 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuncanSWardle View Post
Sorry, yes it was overclocked when purchased as new but the original Asus motherboard stopped working so I had to replace with the Gigabyte and as such lost any overcloking that had back then
Ah okay. Best bet is to google a sandy bridge / i5 2500k overclocking guide for Gigabyte boards.

It looks like a very quick and easy 4GHz might be possible:

https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/th...500k.18375640/

That may not be your exact board but you have the Intelligent Tweaker feature.
kanedaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (09-03-2018)
Old 09-03-2018, 12:21   #119
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
Cheers
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 12:27   #120
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
Well that seems to work at 4ghz
Cheers

Just fiddling see if any of the other bios settings do anything
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to Tweak the Windows Explorer folder on the taskbar... Shingster Computing Forum 0 29-05-2010 00:09
ANyone able to help me speed up \ tweak my PC dunkle Computing Forum 32 16-04-2009 11:08

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network