Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-10-2018, 12:22   #201
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
Will it not be a case that by time anything comes out that really can take advantage of these new cards and get ray tracing that a new generation of cards will likely be due anyway ?
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2018, 12:28   #202
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 13,672
Thanks: 275
Thanked 293 Times in 232 Posts
Most likely. I've decided I'll just pick up a 1080ti when the price is right. I'm not fussed about ray tracing or even 4k so just want the biggest bang for my buck and one of those should last me as long as my 970 has lasted me.
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2018, 12:48   #203
dataloss
Cyberspace Addict
 
dataloss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ealing, London UK
Posts: 5,261
Thanks: 1,233
Thanked 400 Times in 263 Posts
Exactly Ray Tracing and DLSS is basically Vaporware at this point
dataloss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2018, 19:52   #204
dataloss
Cyberspace Addict
 
dataloss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ealing, London UK
Posts: 5,261
Thanks: 1,233
Thanked 400 Times in 263 Posts
Looks like after a Driver update and Battlefield 5 patch that Real Time Ray Tracing is not ready for prime-time A) Because performance tanks through the floor and B) Because all the RTX cards appear to blow up afterwards with founders edition cards the worst affected.
dataloss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 10:38   #205
shteve
[o]EvilTwinkle
 
shteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cov
Posts: 5,887
Thanks: 465
Thanked 711 Times in 517 Posts
Yeah, nVidia have admitted they seem to have had a problem with their quality control. At least the cards were cheap...
__________________
I've got a signature and an avatar :p
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2019, 19:18   #206
dataloss
Cyberspace Addict
 
dataloss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ealing, London UK
Posts: 5,261
Thanks: 1,233
Thanked 400 Times in 263 Posts
Wonder what this will do to Nvidia's stock price?

Real Time Raytracing on AMD Vega 56 at 4K in CryEngine.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nqhkDm2_Tw
dataloss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2019, 19:35   #207
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,538
Thanks: 364
Thanked 1,536 Times in 501 Posts
I have to admit that look superb. Adds real depth to the landscape.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2019, 19:42   #208
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 13,672
Thanks: 275
Thanked 293 Times in 232 Posts
There's a few inconsistencies such as no reflection on some of the shell casings but otherwise that's pretty amazing for what amounts to a tech demo.
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2020, 19:39   #209
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
Is there anyway to get these newer nvme hard drives to work on sata motherboards ?
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2020, 20:01   #210
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 13,672
Thanks: 275
Thanked 293 Times in 232 Posts
In theory you can buy one of the pcie cards.
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2020, 20:53   #211
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,011
Thanks: 278
Thanked 4,413 Times in 1,987 Posts
Yeah those cards work fine. I have mine using one even though I have an nvme port. Because the nvme port shares with some of the sata ports reducing the number of sata drives I can fit.

I got this one Affiliated Link
It just works.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 08:57   #212
kanedaa
XBL: kanedaa
 
kanedaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 16,132
Thanks: 75
Thanked 1,676 Times in 1,127 Posts
I think I'm right in saying you might be performance limited by the type of PCIE slots you have available. For example my motherboard only has PCIE 2.0 x1 slots spare which I believe are limited to normal SSD speeds.
kanedaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 09:04   #213
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 13,672
Thanks: 275
Thanked 293 Times in 232 Posts
Also some boards may disable normal SATA ports if you connect an M.2. I think that includes using 1 of those PCIE cards. It's an interesting subject as we were looking at this at work yesterday as you can get some PCIE cards that allow you to connect up to 4 M.2 drives to a single card but your motherboard has to support bifurcation (yes, I'd never heard of that until yesterday either...) of the PCIE slots otherwise only the 1st drive will appear.
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 12:45   #214
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,011
Thanks: 278
Thanked 4,413 Times in 1,987 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by allan View Post
Also some boards may disable normal SATA ports if you connect an M.2. I think that includes using 1 of those PCIE cards.
Mine would disable ports if I fitted it natively but doesn't using one of those cards. Boards may vary though! But I can't see why such a card would have that effect? Unless use of the slot in general shares with sata on some boards?


It's worth noting I have an Intel Extreme system and so have far more PCIe lanes than are typical (I can fit 4 GPU's) so my system is probably a lot less sharey than most and that it works in mine isn't necessarily proving that it will for anyone else!
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 12:54   #215
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 13,672
Thanks: 275
Thanked 293 Times in 232 Posts
I think it just varies board to board (or more specifically chipset to chipset) and also CPU to CPU as they don't all have the same amount of PCI lanes available.
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 13:22   #216
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
Cheers guys.
Seen the pcie boards but my motherboard so old that I would not have option to boot from them it seems.
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 14:30   #217
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 10,809
Thanks: 1,925
Thanked 2,165 Times in 925 Posts
Seems apt to ask in here, and googling hasn't helped.

Can I (easily) attach 2 bluetooth controllers to my laptop, for a 2-player game ? I'm running HCI/LMP 9.256 = bluetooth 5.0 (according to MS), if that's important.

Can I buy a couple of cheapish controllers ? Would they need to hard-wired to each other to work, or BT-paired together? Or could the 2 of them connect simultaneously straight to my laptop?
.
.
.

Last edited by driver8; 22-01-2020 at 14:36.
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2020, 19:35   #218
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
for an 1155 can anyone suggest a cooler and fan

The cooler will have to be a verticals one as the ram chips are very close and I’d like a proper silent fan if possible. I don’t think it’s worth the outlay for water cooling etc on such an old system. The core machine is probably seven years old now. But it works for what I need.
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2020, 20:43   #219
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
All sorted. Found one in a “just in case” box in attic.

Also found the original 8gb of ram which works, it seems, along side the 16gb I upgraded ages back. So can run 24gb. However I’m not sure if I should

The original ram is from around 2012 and was listed as PC3-10666 DDR3 Memory

The new 16gb is HyperX HX318C10FRK2/16 FURY Red, 16 GB, 1866 MHz DDR3

Would I be better sticking to just the 16 or going with 24

Last edited by dunkle; 23-01-2020 at 20:48.
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2020, 16:50   #220
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,145
Thanks: 871
Thanked 241 Times in 128 Posts
As I can work out the old memory Is 1333 the new 1866.
Doesn’t sound a huge leap

Does speed make that much difference.

Am I better with 24mb at 1333 or 16 at 1866 ?
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to Tweak the Windows Explorer folder on the taskbar... Shingster Computing Forum 0 29-05-2010 00:09
ANyone able to help me speed up \ tweak my PC dunkle Computing Forum 32 16-04-2009 11:08

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network