Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-10-2008, 19:34   #1
Guest 16771
Village Idiot
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 147
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question CPU usage problems

My CPU usage was around 4% (4 cores) when the computer was idle, with only Windows media player open, Firefox and windows live messanger running, but for some reson today, its averaging at 32%. I have tried restarting the computer, but still the same and when I bring up Task Manager and check the processes there is'nt one that is using so much of the CPU.
Does any one know what the problem could be?
Guest 16771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2008, 19:44   #2
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 12,344
Thanks: 15
Thanked 315 Times in 303 Posts
download process explorer and see if that lists anything for cpu usage
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2008, 20:16   #3
Guest 16771
Village Idiot
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 147
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is it odd that its "System Idle Process" that is using the CPU a lot?
Its that which is showing around 44.0 (in process explorer). Everything else is'nt using much at all.

Also, then I chose to view "Handles" in the lower panel, all I get is a list saying in the Type field and then rest empty?
Guest 16771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2008, 21:07   #4
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 12,344
Thanks: 15
Thanked 315 Times in 303 Posts
system idle process should take all the cpu that nothing else is. Its not doing anything and is not part of the cpu total
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2008, 21:24   #5
Guest 541
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: London
Posts: 3,715
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
If you add them all up, including the idle process, it still comes to 100, right? So should easily be able to see what's consuming the CPU. (Also look at the CPU Time column).

Last edited by AWaite; 15-10-2008 at 21:25.
Guest 541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
CPU, firefox, Processors, Task Manager, WMP

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Log internet usage ljp Computing Forum 3 11-07-2007 14:38
CPU usage very high on gigabit network usage! Guest 2276 Computing Forum 3 31-03-2006 12:41
CPU Usage Guest 49669 Computing Forum 3 21-11-2005 16:25
CPU Usage Guest 23317 Computing Forum 7 05-08-2004 07:29

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network