Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2008, 12:54   #1
JimDriver2
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 6,362
Thanks: 261
Thanked 234 Times in 150 Posts
How good is this HDMI switch likely to be?

Its the Vivo 4 port one. Here's its link at Amazon marketplace: HDMI Switch

I'm not bothered that its manual, its only gonna connect the V+ box and a dvd player (which I only use occasionally). I bought a budget manual component switch box and that worked flawlessly. I'd have thought as this is digital its just a case of a simple set of electronic switchs, so there shouldn't be any loss in quality, should there?
JimDriver2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 14:17   #2
johnsy
www.Brain-Damage.co.uk
 
johnsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: In a world of my own
Posts: 2,139
Thanks: 81
Thanked 111 Times in 50 Posts
I bought the two-port Vivo switch running a PS3 and a Tosh HD-DVD player, with a five metre HDMI cable going from the switch to the telly. There is a power adapter but not using it as it doesn't seem to need the additional juice. Absolutely no problems with it at all - seems a quality piece of kit. Recommended.

[Hmm. Tried to directly link to product B001113E28 but failed. Mods can you help with the affiliate linkage issue? Cheers!]

Last edited by johnsy; 01-03-2008 at 14:18.
johnsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 15:03   #3
Delh
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 425
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDriver2 View Post
Its the Vivo 4 port one. Here's its link at Amazon marketplace: HDMI Switch

I'm not bothered that its manual, its only gonna connect the V+ box and a dvd player (which I only use occasionally). I bought a budget manual component switch box and that worked flawlessly. I'd have thought as this is digital its just a case of a simple set of electronic switchs, so there shouldn't be any loss in quality, should there?
Got the exact same model, works no problem at all (touch wood) ~ fed a Tosh EP10 & PS3 to a Optoma HD70 projector

Bought mine from a well known auction site for £12 inclusive if i remember correctly

Delh
__________________
My feedback

Last edited by Delh; 01-03-2008 at 15:05. Reason: Update
Delh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 15:08   #4
JimDriver2
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 6,362
Thanks: 261
Thanked 234 Times in 150 Posts
Ah great. Thanks for the replies guys.
JimDriver2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 15:43   #5
RomerojpgX
Dead
 
RomerojpgX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In Hell
Posts: 10,543
Thanks: 38
Thanked 53 Times in 38 Posts
For such a cheap one it sounds to good to be true may well get one myself.

Anyone had any handshake problems at all? as I get them now and I am not even running thru a other box!

The feedback on amazon does seem to say something about problems with Bravia sets, like mine anyone got a Sony Bravia?

Last edited by RomerojpgX; 01-03-2008 at 15:45.
RomerojpgX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI 4-way switch with Audio in Currys MrSynner Bargain Forum 4 24-12-2007 00:19
HDMI switch box Guest 63100 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 22 13-11-2007 21:50
HDMI Switch (3x1) for £32.23 delivered with Google checkout mikthe20 Bargain Forum 9 06-06-2007 14:34

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network