Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-02-2007, 13:52   #1
Guest 37169
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Taunton, Somerset
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Home networking please HELP

I have a ntl modem i'm trying to connect a pc and a laptop via a Netgear hub using cat 5 cables to the internet, the problem i am having is that i can connect 1 but not the other, the 1 that won't connect can't get a ip adddress, i have tried inputting a ip address manually but this makes no difference. Please HELP

Last edited by Sam G; 18-02-2007 at 14:06.
Guest 37169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2007, 14:06   #2
maddogsuk
Trusted User
 
maddogsuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 8,244
Thanks: 114
Thanked 84 Times in 50 Posts
Is it a hub or a router? What model is it?
maddogsuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2007, 14:12   #3
Fatbloke
PSN : Fatbloke-66
 
Fatbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Deepest Barking
Posts: 9,282
Thanks: 386
Thanked 524 Times in 315 Posts
Your NTL modem, is it a router? If it isn't then you only have one connection coming into your house. If your cable box only has one outward lan plug then it's likely not to be a router.

You need a router to plug into the cable feed and it can then distribute the connection to your hub and on to your other machines. Your laptop and PC will connect to the router with IPs similar to 192.168.0.xxx whilst your router will take the IP given to it by NTL (ip will be something else, like 62.xxx.xxx.xxx or whatever NTL use).

Without a router, you need to connect the PC to the net, then mark the connection as shareable on your PC. Then you connect the laptop to the PCs shared feed. It does mean you have to keep the PC on if you want to use the net on the lappy.
Fatbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2007, 14:17   #4
Guest 37169
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Taunton, Somerset
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It is a Netgear EN104TP also i have tried a 5 port ethernet switch
Guest 37169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2007, 14:23   #5
Fatbloke
PSN : Fatbloke-66
 
Fatbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Deepest Barking
Posts: 9,282
Thanks: 386
Thanked 524 Times in 315 Posts
That hub wont share your connection. Does your NTL ox have more than one outward connection, or just one in and one out? If it only has one out, then I'd look at sharing your connection until you can buy something like this or this if you want wireless too.
then you just plug your PC and laptop and anything else into the router and it'll all have net access, no sharing required.

Last edited by Fatbloke; 18-02-2007 at 14:27.
Fatbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2007, 14:29   #6
maddogsuk
Trusted User
 
maddogsuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 8,244
Thanks: 114
Thanked 84 Times in 50 Posts
You may also find that ntl box ties itself to the mac address of the first connected device, i.e. you plug it into your pc via ethernet and it will work fine, you then plug it into your laptop and it wont work. You have to switch off the ntl modem for a few mins to reset the mac address.

Last edited by maddogsuk; 18-02-2007 at 14:30.
maddogsuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2007, 14:30   #7
Guest 37169
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Taunton, Somerset
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Looks like i'm gonna need a cable router then, thanks for the advice to you both
Guest 37169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2007, 16:57   #8
stradled
Gamertag: Stradle
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Scotchland
Posts: 468
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ignore

Wrong thread sorry...

Last edited by stradled; 21-02-2007 at 16:59.
stradled is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network