Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gaming Forums > Video Games Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-01-2007, 13:14   #1
riz1
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Durkadukastan
Posts: 8,129
Thanks: 242
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Question Quick Networking Question - xbox related of course

The XBMC softmod has been installed. I plan to run a long ethernet cable under the floorboards between the 2 rooms containing the 'puter and 'box respectively but getting itchy to transfer some media onto it and can't wait until the major cabling job is done!

It is the XBMC build 2.01 from Nov 06 with Media Centre skin.

I have a short ethernet cable. If I hook the xbox up to the router with it and turn it on, will I be able to "see" the xbox contents via my pc/monitor and transfer files to it?

If so - how please?

actually the other thing that occured to me is that Motherboard actually has 2 NICs. Can I just connect directly [without going via the router]?

What are the pros/cons of this?
riz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 13:44   #2
Guest 2858
Jedi Master
 
Guest 2858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Murky Swamp, Dagobah
Posts: 607
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you will be able to connect directly with a crossover cable but via the router will be a lot easier.

as for "seeing" the contents, you should be able to FTP to the xbox from the pc
Guest 2858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 14:09   #3
riz1
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Durkadukastan
Posts: 8,129
Thanks: 242
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
I have a stright-through cable IIRC so I guess it has to be via the router anyway?

any FTP software you'd recommend?
riz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 15:50   #4
john316
XBL: morro316
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Aigburth, Liverpool, UK, Europe, The World
Posts: 28,783
Thanks: 7
Thanked 49 Times in 20 Posts
Flashfxp is one I like
john316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 16:08   #5
Guest 39389
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 819
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SmartFTP is quite good too!
Guest 39389 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 19:25   #6
riz1
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Durkadukastan
Posts: 8,129
Thanks: 242
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
aye those are the 2 I have seen. I understand FlashXP is only free for 30 days but SmartFTP is free to use.
riz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2007, 11:01   #7
Guest 17963
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
actually the other thing that occured to me is that Motherboard actually has 2 NICs. Can I just connect directly [without going via the router]?
I got my xbox connecting directly to router as it is gateway to t'interweb for my network so XBMC can access the net directly without any kerfuffle configuring the PC and also when PC is turned off.
Guest 17963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2007, 11:09   #8
riz1
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Durkadukastan
Posts: 8,129
Thanks: 242
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
okay - that makes much more sense then.
Hopefully will look to d/l SmartFTP tonight and have a go setting it up via my interim short ethernet cable.

As I will not have access to xbox display while I do this, do I have to input the IP address I want to reserve for the xbox and all the router DNS server details etc first [ie while hooked up to tv] and then take it across to the pc/router to ftp stuff across or should I just plug it in, then setup a reserved IP address for it in the router at that stage?

As you can tell I am VERY green with all matters networking
riz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 22:20   #9
riz1
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Durkadukastan
Posts: 8,129
Thanks: 242
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Please, for the sake of my sanity: *H*E*L*P*!!!!!

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

Please help!
I got the cat5 cable from my sister's sky router and plugged it into port 2 in the back of mine as well as into back of xbox.
turned pc and xbox on. Neither the router not pc recognise the 2nd connection.
Tries to SmartFTP to the 192.168.0.3 address anyway [xbox set to dhcp at this stage] and get connection refused by host errors.

I then took the xbox back to the tv, set a static IP to .0.3 and put in the subnet and router DNS addy and tried again but same issue.
What am I doing wrong?

At the front of the xbox it is flashing alternately orange and green....

I even turned off Zone alarm, adaware, all that crap including Antivirus....
What am I doing wrong?

Last edited by riz1; 02-02-2007 at 22:32. Reason: title change
riz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 23:27   #10
riz1
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Durkadukastan
Posts: 8,129
Thanks: 242
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Sorted - you wouldn't believe what the answer was: it needed the scart lead plugged into the back of the xbox even if it wasn't connected to anything.
have just ftp'ed in so will get playing!
riz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network