Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Entertainment Discussion Forums > Television Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2004, 14:33   #1
avid fan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 2,086
Thanks: 63
Thanked 36 Times in 23 Posts
Question A couple of Sky questions

I'm looking into getting Sky soon, and wondered about a couple of things:

1) My brother already has Sky in an end room of his house, and wants to move it into his main room. It's best to leave the dish where it is, so its a case of extending the cabling around by 20 feet (ish) to feed into the new location. He's planning to try extending the cabling himself, but I was just wondering - would sky do this for you free of charge? - Otherwise he could just cancel and then take out a new subscription (and hence free installation again). He is on the premium package fyi.

2) This may be obvious to many, but if I get sky into my lounge how easy is it to get it on the tv in my bedroom? I don't want a second box or anything, i'd be happy to set a channel downstairs (ie its just for when I get banished to watch football

Any help would be much appreciated.
avid fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 14:43   #2
Roborob
The Mad Bad Cyber Archer!
 
Roborob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North of Southpark Village, South Side, Glasgow, Scotland, UK, European Union, Europe, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol System, Milky Way Galaxy, The Universe, This Dimension... I think.
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 24
Thanked 39 Times in 19 Posts
Loco No real problems there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by avid fan
I'm looking into getting Sky soon, and wondered about a couple of things:

1) My brother already has Sky in an end room of his house, and wants to move it into his main room. It's best to leave the dish where it is, so its a case of extending the cabling around by 20 feet (ish) to feed into the new location. He's planning to try extending the cabling himself, but I was just wondering - would sky do this for you free of charge? - Otherwise he could just cancel and then take out a new subscription (and hence free installation again). He is on the premium package fyi.

2) This may be obvious to many, but if I get sky into my lounge how easy is it to get it on the tv in my bedroom? I don't want a second box or anything, i'd be happy to set a channel downstairs (ie its just for when I get banished to watch football

Any help would be much appreciated.
In answer to your questions,

1. Sky Charge for every thing, you could chane the position of your sky box easily enough yourself as long as you have the correct cable and a phone link.

2. If you want to watch sky in other rooms you need just buy a signal transmitter that way you watch the same signal in multiple room. But be warned you can only watch one Sky channel at once so unless the people in the main roon are watching terrestrial they are watching the same thing as you in the bedroom, Very usefull if you want to watch Sky from your bed.

I don't know what cable is needed for the sky moval but I'm prety sure you can get existing kits like the signal transmitter that also sends back instruction ie change channel These sorts of things are available in many high street stores and Argos and Index.
__________________
"PLEASE GIVE BLOOD!" Says ROBOROB! :thumbs:
Roborob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 14:57   #3
avid fan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 2,086
Thanks: 63
Thanked 36 Times in 23 Posts
Thanks for that - can you point me in the direction of one of these signal transmitters though - can't find any!

Just out of curiousity - why can't you just cancel sky and re-subscribe to get them to do the cabling for a different room?
avid fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 15:06   #4
Guest 1724
XBL: pennepacker
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kent
Posts: 6,633
Thanks: 38
Thanked 47 Times in 38 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by avid fan
Thanks for that - can you point me in the direction of one of these signal transmitters though - can't find any
For a wireless one

Direct Affiliated Link

Or if you don't mind running a wire, then you can run an RF cable from the spare outlet on the back of the digibox, and change channels using a TVLink connection

http://www.tvlink.co.uk/tvlink.htm

Last edited by Alan. b; 03-08-2004 at 15:50. Reason: to add affiliate link
Guest 1724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 15:25   #5
Esteban - CotS
Trusted User
 
Esteban - CotS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The New World
Posts: 804
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
extending Sky cable is dead easy. just pop into your local home electronics shop and ask for some Sky cable and the adaptors. I extended mine last year at a cost of about £5, probably about the same length as your brother needs too. probably about the same skill level as wiring a plug, not too hard. you just need to be able to strip wire really. ask them in the store if they can show you how to do it.

they don't really recommend having joined cable though, but I told them it was only temporary as we were getting Sky+ soon they didn't seem too bothered.
Esteban - CotS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 15:46   #6
robzinski
Not on the list
 
robzinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 192.168.1.1
Posts: 5,576
Thanks: 47
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Vanderlay
For a wireless one

Direct Affiliated Link
Use the forums affiliate link

http://www.qksrv.net/click-582776-10...etmodule=42501

Last edited by robzinski; 03-08-2004 at 15:52.
robzinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 15:50   #7
pompeyfan
Built for comfort
 
pompeyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Isle of Wight
Posts: 8,294
Thanks: 118
Thanked 41 Times in 20 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by avid fan
Just out of curiousity - why can't you just cancel sky and re-subscribe to get them to do the cabling for a different room?
Because free or discounted installation is a one-off for new customers and once per household.
__________________
"Give a poor man a gun and he can rob a bank.
Give a poor man a bank and he can rob everyone."
pompeyfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 16:16   #8
avid fan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 2,086
Thanks: 63
Thanked 36 Times in 23 Posts
Ah

Question - on the Maplin site, do you need to buy both items (L43AT at £30 and the L97AU at reduced £20), or does the first item have both included?
avid fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 17:55   #9
Guest 1724
XBL: pennepacker
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kent
Posts: 6,633
Thanks: 38
Thanked 47 Times in 38 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by avid fan
Ah

Question - on the Maplin site, do you need to buy both items (L43AT at £30 and the L97AU at reduced £20), or does the first item have both included?
The L43AT pack should have everything you need. The extra one is just if you want to distribute to another TV as well (so you would have two TVs wirelessly connected rather than 1)

So if you just want one TV upstairs connected to Sky then just the L43AT will do. If you want to share it to another telly in another bedroom as well then you can buy as many additional L97AUs as you need.

I can't vouch for the quality of the Maplin one, but I have a similar type of thing made by Tranwo which does the job very nicely. They were on offer for £30 in Netto a while ago.

And sorry about the affiliate link - thanks for correcting it Alan b

Last edited by Art Vanderlay; 03-08-2004 at 17:59.
Guest 1724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network