Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2013, 20:07   #81
Shingster
Trusted User
 
Shingster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,585
Thanks: 514
Thanked 354 Times in 222 Posts
What size fans does your case need Duncan?
Shingster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 13:52   #82
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,181
Thanks: 885
Thanked 276 Times in 138 Posts
6 inch
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 18:05   #83
Shingster
Trusted User
 
Shingster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,585
Thanks: 514
Thanked 354 Times in 222 Posts
Ah, I've got some spare you could have had but they're much bigger than 6 inches!
Shingster is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (01-09-2013)
Old 11-11-2013, 13:09   #84
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,181
Thanks: 885
Thanked 276 Times in 138 Posts
Whilst im only a week away from an XboxONE I have a upgrade itch still for my PC

Bearing in mind the base of my machine is still

Intel Core i5 2500K Processor
Asus P8Z68-V LE Motherboard
8GB PC3-10666 DDR3 Memory

Would I be able to get me a graphics card for under £200 that would 100% run Battlefield at 1080p ?
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 13:30   #85
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,940
Thanks: 198
Thanked 926 Times in 560 Posts
just spend the extra 20 quid and get an radeon R9 280x imho
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 13:46   #86
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
My GTX760 plays BF4 in 1080p on Ultra, so to answer your question; yes
  Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (11-11-2013)
Old 11-11-2013, 15:17   #87
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,181
Thanks: 885
Thanked 276 Times in 138 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShakeyJake View Post
My GTX760 plays BF4 in 1080p on Ultra, so to answer your question; yes
Cheers

Just jumped over to overclockers (can they be mentioned these days ? I guess ill find out in a second) and

Why so much choice ?
I take it 3GB is the RAM amount of choice
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 15:57   #88
Wooglie
Rurouni
 
Wooglie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Farnborough
Posts: 5,901
Thanks: 1,345
Thanked 950 Times in 411 Posts
The 760 only comes with 2 or 4GB of RAM IIRC. Mine only has 2GB and plays BF4 fine.
Wooglie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 17:04   #89
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I've not actually seen a game that performs better with more than 2GB VRAM (at least not at 1080p) yet, but that could well change with these new consoles packing 8GB
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 17:30   #90
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,181
Thanks: 885
Thanked 276 Times in 138 Posts
Cheers. Looking at the MSI one as we speak
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 10:29   #91
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,181
Thanks: 885
Thanked 276 Times in 138 Posts
Im now actually thinking of this

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...-328-SP&tool=3

as the results on hardware compare show very little between them

http://www.hwcompare.com/15662/gefor...adeon-r9-270x/
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 10:59   #92
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'd check out some actual reviews of that card for some real world performance. I believe it's based on a 7870, which in theory is slower than a 760 but I don't know exactly by how much. Also worth taking game bundles into account as a more expensive card might work out cheaper if it comes with games you're going to buy anyway.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 13:14   #93
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,181
Thanks: 885
Thanked 276 Times in 138 Posts
Jake, thats a very good point - one not considered, thanks
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2013, 13:11   #94
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,181
Thanks: 885
Thanked 276 Times in 138 Posts
Im hovering over the click to buy on this at the moment

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=GX-093-HS
HIS Radeon R9 270X IceQ BOOST 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card with Battlefield 4

However im not sure if its that cost effective.
Looking at the reviews and benchmarks im looking at around 30fps at 1080p with it which is not that great for £150 I suppose and also, reading various comments I cant help but think "ok what happens next year when FPS AAA title 2014" comes out

Is there a more cost effective longer lasting solution ? something that, whilst I may have to spend more now, ill not have to upgrade next Xmas
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 15:34   #95
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,181
Thanks: 885
Thanked 276 Times in 138 Posts
Well its that time again, 2 years since looked at last "upgrading" and not sure what to do for best

Ok, this is what I currently have ..............

Quote:
Intel Core i5 2500K Processor overclocked to 4.6GHz
Asus P8Z68-V LE Motherboard
8GB PC3-10666 DDR3 Memory
Asus Nvidia GeForce GTX 770
1000GB SATA 7200rpm Hard Disk
650watt OCZ PSU
Asus Xonar DG Audio Device
Windows 10
128GB Samsung SSD Boot Drive
To be honest, for everything I currently use it for, its fine
The most recent games I own are Divinity - Original Sin and Pillars of Eternity
The only game I will likely get (besides FM 2016) will be the new X-COM

So, what, if anything, do I need ?
I have a Steam Link ordered so would like be able play the few games I do have on that (ill be using a wired network) - will this have any bearing of any potential upgrade ?

Do I even need an upgrade ?
I keep looking at these Skylake bundles, but I guess if anything all I likely need is a graphics card

So, is my PC ok ? Do I need to upgrade ?
If you had same and say £200 what would you do ?

Last edited by dunkle; 09-11-2015 at 15:36.
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 19:45   #96
Shingster
Trusted User
 
Shingster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,585
Thanks: 514
Thanked 354 Times in 222 Posts
It depends completely on what you want to play over the next 12months before directX12 becomes more standardised and the next gen of Nvidia/AMD cards come along. Make a list and post it here. What res are you gaming at?
Shingster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 20:07   #97
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
I'd upgrade your RAM and possibly buy a 970.
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (09-11-2015)
Old 09-11-2015, 20:16   #98
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,181
Thanks: 885
Thanked 276 Times in 138 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shingster View Post
It depends completely on what you want to play over the next 12months before directX12 becomes more standardised and the next gen of Nvidia/AMD cards come along. Make a list and post it here. What res are you gaming at?
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouBarlow View Post
I'd upgrade your RAM and possibly buy a 970.
The only thing I can really think I'll be looking at getting would be Xcom 2. I use an Xbox one for primary gaming and pc just used for turn based games and games can't get on console.

With the stream link coming I would say 1080p would be my aim for games

How huge a leap forward would a 970 be ?
And what ram should I look at getting ?
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 20:16   #99
dannywonderful
Bon Viveur
 
dannywonderful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Coventry,England
Posts: 4,073
Thanks: 0
Thanked 58 Times in 48 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouBarlow View Post
I'd upgrade your RAM and possibly buy a 970.
That's about it. Increase your ram and get a 970. Anything after that will be diminishing returns. You still have a very capable system from what I can see.

At 1080p the 970 is going to handle everything comfortably. ( except maybe Bat-Man )

You can get 16Gb of Hyper x or Corsair Vengeance for less than £70 nowadays.

Last edited by dannywonderful; 09-11-2015 at 20:22.
dannywonderful is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (09-11-2015)
Old 09-11-2015, 20:50   #100
Shingster
Trusted User
 
Shingster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,585
Thanks: 514
Thanked 354 Times in 222 Posts
A 970 is going to be £250 on its own though and I have to question whether you really need a new graphics card right now if all you're going to use it on is turn based games and that one flashier game on the horizon.

Maybe it's best to upgrade your RAM for now and see what happens to the 970 over black friday or in the January sales? Personally if you're not finding your card lacking for the games you currently play then I would wait until XCOM2 comes out and see what the reports are from players using a 770 or 970. If it sounds like the 770 isn't quite up to the task then I'd consider upgrading to a 970 then.
Shingster is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (09-11-2015)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to Tweak the Windows Explorer folder on the taskbar... Shingster Computing Forum 0 29-05-2010 00:09
ANyone able to help me speed up \ tweak my PC dunkle Computing Forum 32 16-04-2009 11:08

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network