Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Shopping and Money Forums > Suppliers and Shopping Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-11-2009, 07:03   #1
Alan b
Administrator
 
Alan b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 35,049
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,285 Times in 581 Posts
Play.com - DOTD - Logitech Harmony 515 Universal Remote - £27.99

Today only and while stocks last:

Logitech Harmony 515 Universal Remote
Alan b is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked 6 times by:
Guest 1562 (26-11-2009), Guest 8751 (26-11-2009), mattymoo (26-11-2009), Out for Justice (26-11-2009), Guest 34148 (26-11-2009), Xeon007 (26-11-2009)
Old 26-11-2009, 08:31   #2
kanedaa
XBL: kanedaa
 
kanedaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 16,467
Thanks: 82
Thanked 1,839 Times in 1,204 Posts
Quite tempted by this as I've been considering a Harmony for a while now but they always seemed so expensive. This seems pretty good, and covers 5 remotes (I only need to replace 4), so other than more remotes and nicer screens is there any other benefit to the more expensive models (I see the 525 and 555 are both £50 on amazon).
kanedaa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 09:53   #3
Steve39
Steam: Steve39
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 1,444
Thanks: 185
Thanked 346 Times in 115 Posts
Cheers. Gone for one.
Steve39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 10:01   #4
Guest 28874
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanedaa View Post
so other than more remotes and nicer screens is there any other benefit to the more expensive models (I see the 525 and 555 are both £50 on amazon).
No - they all work in the same way and use the same config software (and you're meant to be able to migrate to a different model later without setting everything up from scratch).
Guest 28874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 10:08   #5
neillb
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Posts: 212
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Alan, have gone for one!
__________________
My website - http://www.ebasingstoke.com
neillb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 10:19   #6
Guest 34148
M0DDEH OF PIES
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 2,791
Thanks: 130
Thanked 92 Times in 46 Posts
Would this make a decent remote control for a media center? (XBMC)
Guest 34148 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 10:26   #7
Dave h-j
Suitable for vegetarians
 
Dave h-j's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Strangely Northern
Posts: 3,855
Thanks: 31
Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RESSEH View Post
Would this make a decent remote control for a media center? (XBMC)
As a straight XBMC remote, then yes I would be good (I use ones with Plex, which is a version of XBMC for mac), although you may find something that works just as well for a little less.

The real big benefits of the Harmony is teh consolidation of many remotes to one and to be able to program command sequences to perform many actions with a single key (turn on Tv, Amp, switch channel).

Last edited by Dave h-j; 26-11-2009 at 10:26.
Dave h-j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 10:31   #8
Out for Justice
XBL: ShookusDaBookus
 
Out for Justice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,793
Thanks: 801
Thanked 221 Times in 116 Posts
Gone for this.

I'm partially retarded so I hope this isn't complicated to set up.
Out for Justice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 10:34   #9
kanedaa
XBL: kanedaa
 
kanedaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 16,467
Thanks: 82
Thanked 1,839 Times in 1,204 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by B33K34 View Post
No - they all work in the same way and use the same config software (and you're meant to be able to migrate to a different model later without setting everything up from scratch).
Thanks. Decided to go for it.
kanedaa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 10:53   #10
Guest 34148
M0DDEH OF PIES
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 2,791
Thanks: 130
Thanked 92 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanedaa View Post
Thanks. Decided to go for it.
Me too! If its any good - i'll probably upgrade to the higher end ones if they get reduced!

I dont suppose anyone can recommend a cheap infra red port so i can get it to work with my PC?
Guest 34148 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 11:25   #11
Guest 1562
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 435
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for this Alan, will come in handy for a Christmas present

Charlie
Guest 1562 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 12:42   #12
toffee
GBV
 
toffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,753
Thanks: 53
Thanked 51 Times in 37 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Out for Justice View Post
Gone for this.

I'm partially retarded so I hope this isn't complicated to set up.

depending on the equipment you are using it's either a piece of weewee, or the most complex thing you have ever done in your life.

took me hours of frustrating trial and error and a few calls to the helpline to get a config I was happy with due to the stupid way my panasonic TV switched inputs.

Once it's in place, it's amazing though.
toffee is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Out for Justice (26-11-2009)
Old 26-11-2009, 13:17   #13
Guest 75
Not bad for a human.
 
Guest 75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Warwickshire, UK
Posts: 914
Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 5 Posts
Very tempted. This could be ND's Christmas present to ND.
Thanks Alan.
Guest 75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 14:10   #14
Out for Justice
XBL: ShookusDaBookus
 
Out for Justice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,793
Thanks: 801
Thanked 221 Times in 116 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by toffee View Post
depending on the equipment you are using it's either a piece of weewee, or the most complex thing you have ever done in your life.

took me hours of frustrating trial and error and a few calls to the helpline to get a config I was happy with due to the stupid way my panasonic TV switched inputs.

Once it's in place, it's amazing though.
Doh! i have a panny plasma and the rest of the set up is Sony.
Out for Justice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 16:27   #15
Pistol
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Teesside
Posts: 1,290
Thanks: 39
Thanked 25 Times in 7 Posts
Buy, buy, buy! I have a 525 (also from Play) and it's awesome!


They do take a bit of tweaking to set up properly, but once you've got it sorted they are soooo awesome.
__________________
Pistol's feedback thread
Pistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 17:13   #16
shteve
[o]EvilTwinkle
 
shteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cov
Posts: 6,397
Thanks: 546
Thanked 841 Times in 605 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Out for Justice View Post
Doh! i have a panny plasma and the rest of the set up is Sony.
My 525 worked a treat with my panny plasma (even had codes for discrete inputs that the original remote didn't!). Just upgraded to a 785 from Play and the software just copied my old settings over perfectly so was up and running with the new one in minutes.

Last edited by shteve; 26-11-2009 at 17:17.
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 17:42   #17
captaineyecatch
Slatanic Wehrmacht Capt.
 
captaineyecatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South of Heaven
Posts: 3,433
Thanks: 101
Thanked 355 Times in 134 Posts
Thanks also gone for this, just hope it really is easy to set up.
__________________
My Blu-ray and DVD Collection
captaineyecatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 20:20   #18
Xeon007
Trusted User
 
Xeon007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: East Northants
Posts: 3,681
Thanks: 66
Thanked 89 Times in 46 Posts
Cheers, gone for this - someone can buy it for me for Christmas.
Xeon007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2009, 22:56   #19
stampax
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,821
Thanks: 20
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shteve View Post
My 525 worked a treat with my panny plasma (even had codes for discrete inputs that the original remote didn't!). Just upgraded to a 785 from Play and the software just copied my old settings over perfectly so was up and running with the new one in minutes.
Any advantage in upgrading?
__________________
My feedback
stampax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2009, 05:56   #20
Guest 15868
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Jungle
Posts: 648
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stampax View Post
Any advantage in upgrading?
well look and see. looks like its got support for 15 devices instead of 5. has a colour touchscreen and a rechargeable battery. seems a decent upgrade for the price.

deal over its now £35 annoyingly i had it in my basket but i went to bed last night without buying it (forgot) ho hum
Guest 15868 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
DOTD, Harmony, Logitech, play.com, Remote, Universal, £27.99

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
£37.00 off Logitech Harmony 1100 universal remote at Amazon.co.uk Guest 69016 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 1 27-04-2009 15:32
Logitech Harmony One Universal Remote - £87.90 delivered splobber Bargain Forum 9 16-02-2009 15:18
Logitech Harmony 525 Universal Remote £32.94 Delivered Guest 13881 Bargain Forum 158 09-04-2008 20:54

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network