Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2019, 12:16   #2721
Spaceranger2001
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,804
Thanks: 136
Thanked 182 Times in 135 Posts
I did a RESET a couple of weeks ago before I could sometime thinkn my laptop was off it was that quiet. Since the RESET the fan on my laptop is at max speed even when doing nothing. I cannot for the life of me think what I changed last time this happened as some of the services have changed or been removed since I last had ths problem.

What I have done.


Cleaned heatsink
Turned off all live tiles
Turned off as many off nearly all the options in the performance tab (translucent tiles, see contents while moving etc)
Turned off p2p sharing for updates
Cortana disabled
Checked for processes hogging the CPU there are none
Changed the power plan to balanced
Set CPU power to 75% was at 100%
Set ACTIVE and PASSIVE coolling policy
Checked for any unknown devices in device manager but there are none
Updated the graphics driver
Nothing has worked thus far.
Checked BIOS fans are set to variable

Any thoughts?
Thanks in advance
Spaceranger2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 12:39   #2722
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,163
Thanks: 453
Thanked 1,577 Times in 515 Posts
> Checked for any unknown devices in device manager but there are none

This would be my first port of call. Doing a reset would (I guess) blow away all previously loaded drivers, so you're now loading the de-facto standard set. Most of these would be Microsoft ones, which while work, are not 100% compatible.

Whats the make/model of the laptop? HAve you loaded all the chipset drivers and manufacturers drivers from their website for your laptop?

HAve you any previous image of your laptop? If not, why not?! No, seriously. Anyone reading this should realise how fragile Windows is, and have an image of their working system. Windows can happily download and install an update at any point, shooting itself in the foot. You need to have a working 'baseline' image. Imaging software is free, so the only cost is disk space, and as USB pens are so cheap these days, its a bearable cost.

But yes, my inkling is that while your laptop is not reporting any unknown devices, the drivers it does have are not fully compatible ones.

Just confirming. When you say, "reset", do you mean reinstall (I assume Win 10) from scratch from within Windows, or do you mean reset using the recovery partition, etc?

Have you reset-ted again? Its possible the first reset didn't quite work out. Again, Windows might have gone online and gone, "Ok, I need a driver. I can get v1.0 from here, or v1.2 from there. Lets go there first. Nope. That site was down. OK, I'll try v1.0 then. Yup, that's worked. Cool." Theoretically, it should then pickup and get the 1.2 driver if that site comes back online, but ... well, that's why you download them properly from the manufacturers website...

Last edited by Chris Locke; 10-01-2019 at 12:42.
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 14:47   #2723
Spaceranger2001
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,804
Thanks: 136
Thanked 182 Times in 135 Posts
Laptop is an HP i5 350 G1 8GB RAM with an SSD

The RESET was from within Windows 10 not from a partitioned drive

RESET was done after not doing it for 2 years used to do it every year with Windows 7 (the good ole days)

I thought it might be the chipset drivers or Intel Management Engine, as neither appear to be installed seperately or asked for during install process

Have an image but its an old one will try it again to see what happes.

Deffo thinks it something between and the chipset

It never did this under Windows 7 granted windows 10 has more things to do but still at least the active passive cooling thing worked under 7
Spaceranger2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 14:55   #2724
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,163
Thanks: 453
Thanked 1,577 Times in 515 Posts
Well, I couldn't find any chipset drivers.
https://support.hp.com/us-en/drivers...ook-pc/6709440

There was an 'ENERGY STAR Qualified Power Plan' driver though. Plus the obligatory graphics and network drivers. I'd use them too anyway.

Out of curiousity, the fans would be on if the CPU usage was high. WHat is the CPU percentage in Task Manager showing?
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 15:04   #2725
Spaceranger2001
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,804
Thanks: 136
Thanked 182 Times in 135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Locke View Post
Well, I couldn't find any chipset drivers.
https://support.hp.com/us-en/drivers...ook-pc/6709440

There was an 'ENERGY STAR Qualified Power Plan' driver though. Plus the obligatory graphics and network drivers. I'd use them too anyway.

Out of curiousity, the fans would be on if the CPU usage was high. WHat is the CPU percentage in Task Manager showing?
CPU running about 9-15%
GPU running about 1-2%
Spaceranger2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2019, 07:43   #2726
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,832
Thanks: 171
Thanked 838 Times in 526 Posts
you could try getting an air duster and giving it a good blow. Sometimes a build up of dust can cause the fans to do strange things. Also maybe try something like speedfan which might allow you to control fan speed - but go careful with those types of software as you don't want your laptop to accidentally overheat. However, running speedfan should give you an indicator of the temperatures. If they are running hot, it's possible that the heatsinks may need taking off, and thermal paste re-applying - this is quite common with laptops.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Spaceranger2001 (11-01-2019)
Old 13-01-2019, 11:17   #2727
Spaceranger2001
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,804
Thanks: 136
Thanked 182 Times in 135 Posts
Well after 3 reinstalls over 3 days it seems to have settled down. Although not showing up I think it might have had something to do with windows update.

Tried going back to Windows 7 but windows update seems permanently buggered

Used an image taken last year and I could not get past the 1803 update which I think my machine is trying to get but somehow failing to do so.

Yet when I used an image from 2016 I got to the 1809 update.

I am a good lad and make backups, but it nice to know why things are happening, it seemsas easier they try to make Windows 10 from a use perspective the hard it becomes to find a faultfix. More often you are throwing as many soloutions at a problem as possible and hope and see which one sticks.

Also used a driver updater SDI to see if I had any out of date drivers, there were quite a few that the intel driver update didn't find.

Also tried driver max and a few microsoft certified ones but they only found a few and want money to unlock being able to update more than once a day.

Windows telemetry was taking up quite a bit of CPU, don't know if I should but I disabled the little sod

Can't hear the fan at all sometimes

Thanks for all the help
Spaceranger2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2019, 15:44   #2728
scoobyood
Tony Danza
 
scoobyood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 8,756
Thanks: 823
Thanked 1,100 Times in 548 Posts
Re-install of Windows, Windows Telemetry will be busy for the a while. Same as indexing and other scanning and measuring Windows nonsense that it does after updates and hardware changes.

I would imagine this was your chipset or Intel IME drivers. You said you couldn't find these on HP's site.... just get the latest Intel Chipset driver updates and the Intel Management Instrumentation Engine software. As you went back to a previous backup and were able to fix it.. the IME does manage Intel speedstep and fan control.

Also, in these post spectre and meltdown times... 1809 has it's own methods of dealing with those faults and if your BIOS, Drivers and Windows updates don't all align, you'll have problems.
scoobyood is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Spaceranger2001 (13-01-2019)
Old 14-01-2019, 07:07   #2729
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 10,810
Thanks: 1,926
Thanked 2,166 Times in 925 Posts
I'm still seeing this, with no windows updates - why would I be stuck on 1803 ? Hardware incompatibility?

driver8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2019, 14:44   #2730
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,163
Thanks: 453
Thanked 1,577 Times in 515 Posts
Its a weird science. I'd download the latest ISO and the burn-it-to-DVD tool, and install from that. It tends to work more effectively, and if it throws an error, tends to be more descriptive.
Presume you have enough disk space free? HAve you checked the eventlog? It might have tried to update, then failed for some reason.
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
driver8 (14-01-2019)
Old 14-01-2019, 14:59   #2731
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,832
Thanks: 171
Thanked 838 Times in 526 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by driver8 View Post
I'm still seeing this, with no windows updates - why would I be stuck on 1803 ? Hardware incompatibility?

microsoft rolls out the upgrades seemingly randomly a bit at a time. If you want to upgrade and it's not in the update section, go to here https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10 and click update now and run that tool.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
driver8 (14-01-2019)
Old 14-01-2019, 15:47   #2732
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,163
Thanks: 453
Thanked 1,577 Times in 515 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumfrog View Post
microsoft rolls out the upgrades seemingly randomly a bit at a time.
But also...

Quote:
Microsoft's support page says, "Windows 10, version 1809, is now fully available for advanced users who manually select 'Check for updates' via Windows Update."
Also bear in mind, the October update was bugged to hell, so maybe your PC is protecting you from imminent disaster...
Ensure you not only have backups, but backups of those backups...

Quote:
A Microsoft support page says that the Windows 10 October update, aka "version 1809, "is now is now fully available for advanced users who manually select 'Check for updates' via Windows Update." However, a corporate Microsoft VP stated last week that manual update checks in weeks 3 or 4 of any month can produce Windows 10 updates that are still in a testing phase; the implication is that manual checks were what caused the document deletion error that delayed the "October" update well into November.
As a result, we still recommend that Windows 10 users avoid manual updates -- or perhaps you should consider a more reliably tested operating system altogether.

Last edited by Chris Locke; 14-01-2019 at 15:49.
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
driver8 (15-01-2019)
Old 14-01-2019, 17:04   #2733
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 10,810
Thanks: 1,926
Thanked 2,166 Times in 925 Posts
Thanks, guys - downloading now via the updater ... 4gb and counting.

It wouldn't work at first, but I found a fix - had to fiddle with my BITS and then the tool started working!



I guess the reason the normal Win update wasn't working was cos of this too - maybe I'd done this months back to hold off on that dodgy update that caused the MY DOCS to vanish.
driver8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2019, 18:20   #2734
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,163
Thanks: 453
Thanked 1,577 Times in 515 Posts
Aah, so BITS was disabled? Also "that dodgy update" is the one you're downloading now... just hopefully fixed....
Good luck!
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
driver8 (15-01-2019)
Old 15-01-2019, 00:49   #2735
Shingster
Trusted User
 
Shingster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,548
Thanks: 501
Thanked 342 Times in 216 Posts
Ah ****, windows just did a big update last night and I'm now on 1809. I thought only people who were manually updating were lumbered with this?

Is the data deletion issue something that occurs only during the update, or is it something that happens after the update where the OS has been actively deleting stuff?

Last edited by Shingster; 15-01-2019 at 00:52.
Shingster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2019, 06:31   #2736
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,012
Thanks: 278
Thanked 4,414 Times in 1,988 Posts
They fixed that issue a while ago. Not that it happened on any of the 3 PC's I put the update on when in was brand new out.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Shingster (16-01-2019)
Old 15-01-2019, 08:03   #2737
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 10,810
Thanks: 1,926
Thanked 2,166 Times in 925 Posts
Yep, all's good here on 1809. Although I wish I'd downloaded the ISO now, as my wife's laptop means another 5gb to download over our 50gb mifi ... no TV shows for me this month!

Last year, I updated drivers with Driver Easy to try to fix twice-weekly BSOD or boot lockup, which didn't get fixed and still happens (again this morning, on 1809).

Now on 1809, some drivers are back to their 2017 versions (119 are OK, 16 updates, 10 are Intel).

What's the consensus these days - just to update drivers if there's a problem ?
driver8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2019, 11:02   #2738
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,163
Thanks: 453
Thanked 1,577 Times in 515 Posts
> just to update drivers if there's a problem ?

Depends on the manufacturer of the driver, and what the hardware is. Microsoft drivers tend to be quite 'basic' and while they work, don't utilise all available features - just enough to 'get the job done'. So if you're hardware is using Microsoft drivers, it would pay to use the proper manufacturer's drivers. Having said that the age of the drivers needs to be taken into account. Some manufacturers might not have updated their drivers, so may not be fully Win 10 compatible, so the Microsoft ones might be better. On the other hand (I'm thinking of some basic Chinese webcam here) a Microsoft driver would be more stable than the newer driver offered by ACME Webcam Co. The obvious rule of thumb is that the newer driver has squished a couple of bugs and should be more solid, but as a user of Visual Studio, that certainly doesn't hold true - update at your peril!
Rule #1 - ensure you have copious backups (that are known to be reliable) to fall back on before updating any drivers. Its also recommended to update in small batches, rather than update all drivers in one hit - if you get blue screen of crying doom, you won't know which update killed it.
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
driver8 (15-01-2019)
Old 15-01-2019, 16:40   #2739
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 10,810
Thanks: 1,926
Thanked 2,166 Times in 925 Posts
Thanks, Chris. Sounds like the Intel drivers in particular will be a safe bet. And looking at the details for each individual driver, all except 1 (soundcard, no biggie) are 6+ months old, so are hopefully stable as can be.
driver8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2019, 10:37   #2740
ascender
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schottland
Posts: 5,253
Thanks: 237
Thanked 109 Times in 86 Posts
Thanks for the tip about Fresh Start, it was pretty painless on a second hand laptop I picked up last week. Only criticism is that as with everything in Windows 10, they need to get the attention to detail - Fresh Start removes all these programs but leaves their shortcuts in the menu which you then need to remove manually.
ascender is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Windows Vista to Windows 7... Decided on Windows 8 - RESOLVED Psycho Computing Forum 26 03-11-2012 17:53
Simple video editor like Windows Live Movie Maker for Windows? King Mustard Computing Forum 1 05-03-2012 08:39
MS Technet: Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1) Beta driver8 Computing Forum 31 28-02-2011 10:44
Windows Home Server / Windows 7 - temporary loss of access to random shared folders? ColinP Computing Forum 5 25-01-2010 21:49
Windows developers : Displaying MDI child windows in a multiple monitor environment pkr Computing Forum 4 04-08-2005 23:08

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network