Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-09-2016, 07:24   #61
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 15,000
Thanks: 643
Thanked 867 Times in 636 Posts
The £99 is an extremely good price. They've never been that cheap in the US
basegreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 07:45   #62
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 27,462
Thanks: 1,251
Thanked 948 Times in 567 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welshlad View Post
Been waiting for these to launch in the UK for what seems an age. I've gone for two, one of each colour and saved a not insignificant £100 due to the offer

One is going in the kitchen to replace our existing Bluetooth speaker and the other is going either in the living room or upstairs. The IFTTT and SmartThings integration seals it for me, so I'll be able to do stuff like

"alexa, turn on the CCTV", "alexa, turn the heating off", "alexa, turn off all the lights" and more. Plus, with the upcoming ability for Alexa to receive push notifications I'll be able to do stuff like playing a welcome sound (or a joke) when the front door opens or announcing a warning message if a door/window is opened while noone is home.

Can't wait
Not sure if you are joking here.
How would you start linking this device to other devices?

Is there a full range of "echo" compatible home related things?

TV Wise, I have an Android TV, so that's out of the question for starters, though I expect Google Home would be able to change TV channels for sure.
Tempest is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 07:54   #63
Welshlad
Taffy O'Jones!
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: South Wales
Posts: 3,868
Thanks: 11
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
Not sure if you are joking here.
How would you start linking this device to other devices?

Is there a full range of "echo" compatible home related things?

TV Wise, I have an Android TV, so that's out of the question for starters, though I expect Google Home would be able to change TV channels for sure.
Not joking at all. I use SmartThings but I think Amazon have done a good job of integration with a number of home automation platforms. You can see the ofifical SmartThings integration announcement here: https://blog.smartthings.com/feature...y-smartthings/

Besides, once you have IFTTT, you can do plenty anyway. Just head over to IFTTT.com, pop 'alexa' in the search box and you'll see dozens of recipes integrating with everything from Gmail, Thermostats, to do lists, Sonos and much, much more
Welshlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
zantarous (15-09-2016)
Old 15-09-2016, 08:22   #64
neilalford
I angered a crow
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bristol
Posts: 7,649
Thanks: 7
Thanked 122 Times in 66 Posts
Tempting, had just been looking at voice control via Siri but it's still quite limited. However, the Echo seems to already integrate with more and using IFTTT seems to make it even more powerful, for instance, I already have a Harmony hub, so that's the control for a lot of stuff sorted.

Also, I see there's an "Echo Dot" due towards the end of next month which is £50 and seems to be the same control system but without the integrated speaker (though has a headphone jack so you can connect headphones or an amp etc.) which makes it cheaper to extend the system to multiple rooms.

Tempted to get an Echo now to play around with, then when the Dot is released I can move that to a bedroom or somewhere where I don't currently have audio and get a few Dots for other rooms.

Home automation is definitely getting simpler and more feasible, but still seem to be plenty of uncompatible systems, which means there's a need to mess about with chaining all sorts of different bridges and systems together.
neilalford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 08:38   #65
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 15,000
Thanks: 643
Thanked 867 Times in 636 Posts
Just use IF or Octoblu.

Apples Home app also does linking.
basegreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 08:45   #66
AndyWilson
--------old-geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 11,829
Thanks: 110
Thanked 334 Times in 166 Posts
Very tempted, but not sure what I'd do with it.
Music is handled by the Sonos, and the only "smart home" thing I've got is a Wifi mains socket that I don't think is compatible, but I do intend to significantly expand the smarts. Pity it won't interface with a Fire TV stick.

I did buy a LIFX bulb but it wouldn't stay connected to wifi for more than a few minutes at a time so sent that back yesterday...

I'm guessin though that it's pretty futureproof - any new Smart devices are going to be either Alexa or IFTTT (or both) compatible.
AndyWilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 10:23   #67
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 15,000
Thanks: 643
Thanked 867 Times in 636 Posts
The hue bulbs are FAR better than Lifx, which seem to be not only overpriced, but utterly useless.

The extensibility, IF support and Octoblu support means you can voice control practically anything with the Echo if you so desire.
basegreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 10:55   #68
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,360
Thanks: 980
Thanked 383 Times in 184 Posts
I like the idea of hue bulbs however can't use them from what I can see as all the lights downstairs with exception of kitchen are all what you might call small bulbs.
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 11:10   #69
Coolio
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 17,700
Thanks: 386
Thanked 250 Times in 185 Posts
Pre-ordered 2 x 2nd gen dots at $50 USD each. We have ecobee, hue, wemo and Spotify so should find it pretty helpful. And then limited usage with sonos too.

Last edited by Coolio; 15-09-2016 at 11:12.
Coolio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 11:52   #70
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 15,000
Thanks: 643
Thanked 867 Times in 636 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuncanSWardle View Post
I like the idea of hue bulbs however can't use them from what I can see as all the lights downstairs with exception of kitchen are all what you might call small bulbs.
GU50? They do those.
basegreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 12:10   #71
Fatbloke
PSN : Fatbloke-66
 
Fatbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Deepest Barking
Posts: 9,316
Thanks: 400
Thanked 556 Times in 326 Posts
There are no Hue GU10 led's which is a shame, probably too small to fit the components inside. I would have some if they offered them.
Fatbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 12:22   #72
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,360
Thanks: 980
Thanked 383 Times in 184 Posts
The main lights in front room use g9 so guessing no chance them ever being hue
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 12:25   #73
Fatbloke
PSN : Fatbloke-66
 
Fatbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Deepest Barking
Posts: 9,316
Thanks: 400
Thanked 556 Times in 326 Posts
I don't think Philips are actually making any more. Not 100% certain on that though.
Fatbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 12:33   #74
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 15,000
Thanks: 643
Thanked 867 Times in 636 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatbloke View Post
There are no Hue GU10 led's which is a shame, probably too small to fit the components inside. I would have some if they offered them.
Typo above, meant GU10. Long day. They do sell GU10. In fact, a cheaper range of them due out fairly soon.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Philips-Per.../dp/B00IHZJ51A

No G9s. Shame. It's only light in my house I can't change to hue!

(having said that... https://www.amazon.co.uk/Standard-Fi.../dp/B00UW1EVHA)

Last edited by basegreen; 15-09-2016 at 12:36.
basegreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 12:34   #75
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 27,462
Thanks: 1,251
Thanked 948 Times in 567 Posts
Is this true or still true:

https://www.reddit.com/r/amazonecho/...inders_alarms/

The Echo cannot reply with a spoken message reminder? (I think that link is saying)

If I say to it "Remind me of my dentist appointment next Wednesday at 11:30"

Come that day, a few hours before, will it SAY to me, "You have a dental appointment today at 11:30"

Or will is just go beep, and I have to then remember why it beeped?
Tempest is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 12:38   #76
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 15,000
Thanks: 643
Thanked 867 Times in 636 Posts
Out of the box, perhaps not, but there'll be a skill you can add, or just some means of scheduling something in another way via IF.

It's all part of the fun
basegreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 12:45   #77
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,360
Thanks: 980
Thanked 383 Times in 184 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by basegreen View Post
Typo above, meant GU10. Long day. They do sell GU10. In fact, a cheaper range of them due out fairly soon.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Philips-Per.../dp/B00IHZJ51A

No G9s. Shame. It's only light in my house I can't change to hue!

(having said that... https://www.amazon.co.uk/Standard-Fi.../dp/B00UW1EVHA)
The adaptor is good idea but still can't see how bulb would fit in the wall light.
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 12:49   #78
Fatbloke
PSN : Fatbloke-66
 
Fatbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Deepest Barking
Posts: 9,316
Thanks: 400
Thanked 556 Times in 326 Posts
Probably wouldn't if the hole is narrow
Fatbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dunkle (15-09-2016)
Old 15-09-2016, 12:54   #79
LordoftheDance
PSN: Stigdu
 
LordoftheDance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sutton, UK
Posts: 14,268
Thanks: 1,276
Thanked 665 Times in 350 Posts
No idea if it's worth me getting one of these or not. I just wanted one for the kitchen so I can play music from my Spotify list.

I'm an Amazon Prime member, but don't have a Smart TV, any special lighting or thermostats or anything like that... so I guess basically I'd be getting it purely as a radio / wireless speaker.

Would this serve that purpose?

Many thanks, all!

Stacy
LordoftheDance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2016, 12:56   #80
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 15,000
Thanks: 643
Thanked 867 Times in 636 Posts
Yes Stacy, it's excellent at playing music by voice via Spotify or Amazon Music. No way will you find a neater solution for £99.
basegreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
LordoftheDance (15-09-2016)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap Echo & The Bunnymen @ Amazon Guest 2006 Bargain Forum 2 24-05-2007 21:03
Echo & Bunnymen DVD Guest 8062 Film Discussion 3 18-03-2002 12:10
Echo on surrounds - help! Barney_Tabasco Home Entertainment Hardware forum 6 24-02-2002 22:44

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network