PDA

View Full Version : Any Cisco experts out there?


daz_75
15-03-2005, 11:17
I've got a cisco 827 ADSL router at home and i'm having problems getting a game to work with it. I got this from work and it's setup by somewhere there but there not much help.

I can't use the GUI feature for some reason so i have to do any config setups via the command line which i don't really now much about.

I'm trying to run PES4 via port 5739 and have setup the following rule

ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.0.2 5739 interface Dialer2 5739

This allows me to host games but not client them.

What i would like to try is to open all ports and see if it makes a difference, and then close them again if it doesn't work or after i've finished a game. Any ideas what command i would need to use to do this?

Thanks

Daz

DVDWotcha
15-03-2005, 11:25
I would have thought:

ip nat inside source static 192.168.0.2 interface Dialer2

DVDWotcha
15-03-2005, 11:28
I would have thought:

ip nat inside source static 192.168.0.2 interface Dialer2


Actually I presume you want to hide the inside IP beind the routers wan side IP, in which case you want to put

ip nat inside source static 192.168.0.2 interface Dialer2 overload

daz_75
15-03-2005, 11:29
I would have thought:

ip nat inside source static 192.168.0.2 interface Dialer2

Guess not as it's just crashed my router :(

daz_75
15-03-2005, 11:46
Actually I presume you want to hide the inside IP beind the routers wan side IP, in which case you want to put

ip nat inside source static 192.168.0.2 interface Dialer2 overload

Looks like i need to power cycle the router as it's not coming back so will try this tonight as i'm at work

daz_75
15-03-2005, 19:53
Actually I presume you want to hide the inside IP beind the routers wan side IP, in which case you want to put

ip nat inside source static 192.168.0.2 interface Dialer2 overload

doesn't work as a command that mate

Sparky
16-03-2005, 09:34
Actually I presume you want to hide the inside IP beind the routers wan side IP, in which case you want to put

ip nat inside source static 192.168.0.2 interface Dialer2 overload

To do that you need to create an access list for the inside addresses, so something like:

access-list 1 permit 192.168.0.0 0.0.0.255

Then the NAT command would be like this:

ip nat inside source list 1 interface Dialer2 overload

daz_75
16-03-2005, 09:46
I already have the following setup with no joy

access-list 1 permit 192.168.0.0 0.0.0.255

ip nat inside source list 1 interface Dialer2 overload

Sparky
16-03-2005, 10:18
I already have the following setup with no joy

access-list 1 permit 192.168.0.0 0.0.0.255

ip nat inside source list 1 interface Dialer2 overload

I assume you've got 'ip nat outside' applied to the Dialer interface and 'ip nat inside' applied to the Ethernet/FastEthernet interface?

daz_75
16-03-2005, 10:27
I assume you've got 'ip nat outside' applied to the Dialer interface and 'ip nat inside' applied to the Ethernet/FastEthernet interface?

erm :?: :shrug: :D

Here is my config

Current configuration : 2161 bytes
!
version 12.2
no service pad
service timestamps debug uptime
service timestamps log uptime
no service password-encryption
!
hostname DARRENY_ADSL
!
no logging console
enable secret 5 {REMOVED**
!
username darrenyapp password 0 {REMOVED**
username CRWS_Kannan privilege 15 password 0 {REMOVED**
username CRWS_Jaidil privilege 15 password 0 {REMOVED**
ip subnet-zero
ip domain-list xara.net
ip domain-list core.rtr.xara.net
ip domain-name adsl.gxn.net
ip name-server 195.224.255.10
ip name-server 195.224.255.70
ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.0.1
!
ip dhcp pool INTERNAL
import all
network 192.168.0.0 255.255.255.0
default-router 192.168.0.1
dns-server 195.224.255.10
lease 2
!
!
!
!
interface Ethernet0
description ***Link to Internal Network***
ip address 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.0
ip nat inside
no cdp enable
hold-queue 100 out
!
interface ATM0
description ***ADSL Link to PIPEX Comms***
no ip address
no atm ilmi-keepalive
pvc 0/38
encapsulation aal5mux ppp dialer
dialer pool-member 2
!
dsl operating-mode auto
!
interface Dialer2
ip address negotiated
ip nat outside
encapsulation ppp
dialer pool 2
dialer-group 2
ppp authentication chap callin
ppp chap hostname {REMOVED**
ppp chap password 7 {REMOVED**
!
ip nat inside source list 1 interface Dialer2 overload
ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.0.2 1214 interface Dialer2 1214
ip nat inside source static udp 192.168.0.2 1214 interface Dialer2 1214
ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.0.2 6891 interface Dialer2 6891
ip nat inside source static udp 192.168.0.2 5739 interface Dialer2 5739
ip classless
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 Dialer2 240
ip http server
ip http access-class 23
!
!
access-list 1 permit 192.168.0.0 0.0.0.255
access-list 23 permit x.x.x.x
access-list 23 permit x.x.x.x
access-list 23 permit x.x.x.x
access-list 23 permit x.x.x.x
access-list 23 permit x.x.x.x
!
line con 0
exec-timeout 120 0
stopbits 1
line vty 0 4
access-class 23 in
exec-timeout 120 0
login local
length 0
!
scheduler max-task-time 5000
end

I've removed a few things, hopefully i haven't left anything in that will allow people to access my router

mwgdrwg
16-03-2005, 13:22
Hijacking the thread a little.....

My background is in web development but I'm thinking of going for a networking job which requires Cisco experience. I know about IP addresses and things like that but have very limited experience.

Is this networking lark easy to pick up for a graduate experienced in IT but who knows not much about networking???