Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum
login with facebook login with steam

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2008, 18:15   #1
steven07968
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 609
Thanks: 30
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Dell Internal Wireless Not Working

Hiya, just wondered if someone can offer some advice please.

My missus has got a Dell Latitude D510 laptop, which has got a wireless adapter built into it.

However, I've never managed to get it to work.

So, after looking at the BIOS, I discovered that it was disabled, so I enabled it and started the PC, still nothing.

So then I looked at Device Manager, nothing showed up.

So I went on Dell's site and downloaded the installation file. Installed it, and it looks as though it wasn't installed by default.

Anyway, it still won't have it. As I run the software, and all seems well, but when the programme starts up it says that the driver hasn't been installed. Now I've downloaded the driver on it's own and still it says the same message.

Anyone able to offer some advice please?
steven07968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 18:50   #2
lcassey
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 609
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
does it not have a button on it that turns wireless on and off? I thought most Dells did like pretty much all HP ones
lcassey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 19:39   #3
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 11,288
Thanks: 5
Thanked 201 Times in 199 Posts
And if its not that then when i've looked at drivers dells seem to have a choice of 3 or 4 different network drivers depending on when the model was manufactured and which chipset they happened to be using at the time so just picking a set of wireless drivers probably won't work
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 19:44   #4
KennyVader
Insomniac
 
KennyVader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West London
Posts: 18,920
Thanks: 145
Thanked 102 Times in 58 Posts
Yes if the D510 is like the D420 there'll be a thin switch on the side to turn the wifi on.
KennyVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 19:46   #5
peterdoherty
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 388
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
d5 series do not have a 'hard' wireless switch but do have the fn+F4 wireless on/off
peterdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 09:26   #6
steven07968
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 609
Thanks: 30
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Yeah it has the fn+F4 that you have to pres to turn it on.

I wouldn't have posted here not knowing that lads, come on

When the laptop is starting up, it loads of the wireless software, and a pop up message states that there are no drivers installed.

Any ideas?

How do I find out what chipset is actually inside the laptop? And then get the correct driver?

To be honest I just assumed I'd need to get the D510 driver and that was it. Obviously not though eh
steven07968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 09:34   #7
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 11,288
Thanks: 5
Thanked 201 Times in 199 Posts
device manager, properties for the device without drivers and then look for the ven and dev values, lob into search engine and see what manufacturer name is associated with the VEN id (may not find anything if you include the dev id as well) then look in the list of drivers on the dell site for that model.
Dell need to keep costs down so may vary the chipsets used during the life of a particular model.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 09:53   #8
steven07968
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 609
Thanks: 30
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Right just fired it up, it's actually fn+F2 to activate wireless on the laptop.

Here's the message which pops up:


And I looked in device manager, and nothing actually shows up as not being installed???
steven07968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 11:21   #9
qwakuk
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 353
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Get the following file from Intel, will identify the card and then send you to the latest driver.

Alternatively take the bottom cover off the lappy and read card name from the card, likely to be a 2100 or 2200 in that lappy

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/deta...ProductID=1784
qwakuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 11:23   #10
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 11,288
Thanks: 5
Thanked 201 Times in 199 Posts
hmm pesky non plug and play hardware.
According to the spec you have a choice of
"Intel® Pro Wireless 2200 802.11b/g and Intel® Pro Wireless 2915 802.11a/b/g
Dell Wireless 1370 802.11b/g and Dell Wireless 1450 802.11a/b/g."
Now looking at the networkl downloads section for that laptop I see one for the dell wireless and one for the intel. May i suggest you now try the intel one
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 11:23   #11
peterdoherty
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 388
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
does the laptop have the intel pro wireless card or the dell broadcom card??

you are using the intel drivers. if it turns out its the dell broadcom card this could be the prob??
peterdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 12:11   #12
steven07968
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 609
Thanks: 30
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ian turner View Post
hmm pesky non plug and play hardware.
According to the spec you have a choice of
"Intel® Pro Wireless 2200 802.11b/g and Intel® Pro Wireless 2915 802.11a/b/g
Dell Wireless 1370 802.11b/g and Dell Wireless 1450 802.11a/b/g."
Now looking at the networkl downloads section for that laptop I see one for the dell wireless and one for the intel. May i suggest you now try the intel one
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterdoherty View Post
does the laptop have the intel pro wireless card or the dell broadcom card??

you are using the intel drivers. if it turns out its the dell broadcom card this could be the prob??
Installed the Dell driver, the utility is there, but it won't let me open it up. And when toggling the wireless adapter it always has the red cross through it on the pop up icon.

Intel driver check doesn't show up any wireless driver.
steven07968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 13:13   #13
KennyVader
Insomniac
 
KennyVader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West London
Posts: 18,920
Thanks: 145
Thanked 102 Times in 58 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven07968 View Post
Yeah it has the fn+F4 that you have to pres to turn it on.

I wouldn't have posted here not knowing that lads, come on
At risk of being abused again for stating the bloomin' obvious (yet you'd be surprised how many people miss the bloomin' obvious, that's why knowledgeable people state it ) --- have you checked that the laptop does actually have a wireless card in it and it's properly seated?

Very often you can open the door in the bottom of the laptop and the wireless card is a removeable affair, looks a bit like a memory dimm but with a label wrapped around it and a couple of thin antenna wires plugged into it. I don't know the D510 (never heard of anyone buying it, it's a weird model trapped between the D4xx and D6xx series) but if yours is like this then maybe the card needs to be unplugged and reseated (with the power off obviously!).

I also seem to recall that wifi was an optional extra on Dells, as was (and still is on some models) the bluetooth card, could be that despite being a pretty new model, yours just doesn't have it installed?

Just seems weird that the Intel chipid thing isn't picking anything up, I thought that spotted stuff even when they were supposedly disabled.

Last edited by KennyVader; 09-02-2008 at 13:17.
KennyVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 13:13   #14
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 11,288
Thanks: 5
Thanked 201 Times in 199 Posts
was this a brand new laptop bought from dell ?
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 14:28   #15
peterdoherty
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 388
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
uninstall all wireless drivers then check and see if its actually there and seated correctly.

once you restart does it then detect new hardware?? if not your hardware is stuffed!
peterdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 16:28   #16
steven07968
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 609
Thanks: 30
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
It was brand new, and was given to my missus by uni as part of her course. The other girls on the course seem to be able to connect wirelessly via the internal wireless adapter. So I assume one is fitted.

Is it the whole bottom of the laptop that I have to remove to check if it's sitted correctly? Wouldn't know what I'd be looking for to be honest.
steven07968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 16:30   #17
peterdoherty
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 388
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
the d510 was put out of production over a year ago?

if its only brand new why not just get it repaired under warranty as its clearly not working as it should be
peterdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 16:47   #18
KennyVader
Insomniac
 
KennyVader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West London
Posts: 18,920
Thanks: 145
Thanked 102 Times in 58 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven07968 View Post
It was brand new, and was given to my missus by uni as part of her course. The other girls on the course seem to be able to connect wirelessly via the internal wireless adapter. So I assume one is fitted.

Is it the whole bottom of the laptop that I have to remove to check if it's sitted correctly? Wouldn't know what I'd be looking for to be honest.
no there is usually a small door with one screw, like the door for adding memory.

if it does not have a door like that then the wifi card is probably not a removable one so ignore the suggestions to reseat it. And do what peterdoherty says, just get warranty service on it.
KennyVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 17:01   #19
steven07968
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 609
Thanks: 30
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Yeah there are two doors like that, one has memory in, the other is next to the card slot
steven07968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 17:05   #20
KennyVader
Insomniac
 
KennyVader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West London
Posts: 18,920
Thanks: 145
Thanked 102 Times in 58 Posts
so ..... what's in the second one?
KennyVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DELL Internal PCI 802.11b/g Wireless Network Card Dazzle Computing Forum 9 05-12-2007 14:32
New internal card reader not working... spartacus101 Computing Forum 2 08-01-2007 18:33
Internal USB sockets on a Dell? GaryRW Computing Forum 1 11-08-2005 13:26
Dell laptop internal DVD - making MR? RobDickinson Computing Forum 0 08-07-2005 13:13

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:18.

Latest from TDF

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network