Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum
login with facebook login with steam

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16-09-2007, 23:39   #1
icklesimba
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
HELP! Dell - Vista - Resolution problems

My hat will truly come off to the forumer who solves this issue for me as I am truly stumped...

I rebuilt my Dell PC (Dimension E520) and all was well. However once it restarted I lost the ability to pick the resolution I needed for my 19" widescreen (1440 by 900)...

No idea what happened. I have lots of other options except the one I really need.

For reference I am using the onboard card that came with these machines. I know it works as it was there for a few minutes, but now I am using 1280 x 1024 and it is too blurry (1400 by 1050 is these but that is out of range for my monitor)...

Any help, ideas, prayers truly appreciated...

Last edited by icklesimba; 16-09-2007 at 23:50.
icklesimba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 05:23   #2
Bobo Justus
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Onboard card? You mean intergrated?

Have you checked in the Device Manager to see if any drivers are missing (lookf for a red or yellow icon) and then been to Dell's site for the driver (change that to Vista if that's what you have)?

Post your full spec if that doesn't do it.


Not changed anything (like the TFT) have you?
Bobo Justus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 07:29   #3
icklesimba
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Everything in device manager is fine...

PC is standard Dell E520 dual core which was the red hot bargain on these forums a few months ago.

The weird thing is that it worked fine when I built the machine (using the Dell disks supplied). It was only after a reboot that it appeared to lose the 1440 x 900 mode.

Windows is reporting the display adaptor as Intel(R) G965 express chipset family with driver verstion 7.14.10.1147

As I said it all looks ok but something is amiss
icklesimba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 07:37   #4
Bobo Justus
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
But have you reinstalled that chipset driver?

Also, once you try that, unplug the TFT from the PC and then boot the PC up. Once it's fully started power it down, plug the TFT back in and start it again.
Bobo Justus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 17:49   #5
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 11,250
Thanks: 5
Thanked 200 Times in 198 Posts
19" widescreen what ? As in model and manufacturer
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2007, 20:32   #6
icklesimba
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hanns-G HW191D
icklesimba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2007, 21:25   #7
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 11,250
Thanks: 5
Thanked 200 Times in 198 Posts
try downloading the driver for the dp variant and then go into device manager and update driver specifying have disk and select the downloaded file after you extract it from the zip file. Its only an inf file but looking inside it seems to include a 1440 by 900 add section so may help. Oh and the inf file is HW191D.inf so the P is definitely irrelevant
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by ian turner; 18-09-2007 at 21:27.
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2007, 21:38   #8
icklesimba
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Already downloaded that driver for the monitor, made no difference
icklesimba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 05:11   #9
Bobo Justus
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can you try another TFT monitor? That's the best bet for now. If you can't get a TFT try a CRT and if you can't do either try your TFT on another base unit.
Bobo Justus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Laptop VGA Out Resolution Problems infestedsicness Computing Forum 9 14-01-2007 21:51
Dell W2600 and xbox - pro evo 5 resolution KipperPhill Suppliers and Shopping Forum 2 08-12-2005 11:30
Dell 26'' giving me Crappy Resolution, Cant see Dvi HELP!!! DesiDesi Computing Forum 9 04-12-2005 18:44
Screen resolution on a Dell laptop moogy20 Computing Forum 5 21-04-2005 01:47
Anyone used 1920x1200 resolution on Dell laptop? gz5ztg Computing Forum 20 26-05-2004 09:37

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:04.

Latest from TDF

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network