Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum
login with facebook login with steam

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2005, 20:17   #1
buffy-fan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Help with Broadband [LAN] connection?

hey guys my brother just got broadband through his work, when i connect the ethernet on my mac laptop it recognises the connection and i can go online, when i connect it to my pc, it again recongises the connection and says local area netowork connected, but i cant go online when i click on internet explorer its say im working offline?
can anybody explain how i can go online using this connection?
cheers
buffy-fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 20:23   #2
maddogsuk
Moderator
 
maddogsuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 8,330
Thanks: 108
Thanked 75 Times in 44 Posts
Is this an NTL and or Cable connection? If so the Cable Model bonds the with the first MAC address it see's. You will need to to turn the modem off for a few mins to clear the registered MAC address. Or with one of the other cable providers you can update the MAC address from their web site.
maddogsuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 20:32   #3
buffy-fan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hey the problem is with the pc connection not the mac connection, i am unable to go online on my pc despite the fact that the connection is recongised in the networlk places
buffy-fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 20:43   #4
maddogsuk
Moderator
 
maddogsuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 8,330
Thanks: 108
Thanked 75 Times in 44 Posts
Sorry, when I said MAC I wasnt refering to your iMAC \ PowerMAC etc. The MAC Address I was refering to is a unique identifier on for the computer.

OK do you connect via a Cable or ADSL broadband service?
maddogsuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 21:13   #5
buffy-fan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
oh, sorry computer novice!! its ADSL
buffy-fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 21:34   #6
tunes
Essexboyz.com
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Barking, Essex
Posts: 919
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
In Internet explorer...Tools/Internet options/connecions. Make sure it says Never dial a connection.. and then click the Lan Settings button and tick "automatically detect settings"... then close/re-open IE and see if that helps
tunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 22:12   #7
buffy-fan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cheers matey that did the job, no more horrible dial up
buffy-fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:10.

Latest from TDF

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network