Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum
login with facebook login with steam

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2017, 10:55   #1101
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 12,656
Thanks: 208
Thanked 207 Times in 165 Posts
I still need to call BT and haggle my price down, it's not at £54 a month solely for infinity 2 which is ridiculous in my opinion.
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 10:57   #1102
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 15,594
Thanks: 261
Thanked 1,210 Times in 387 Posts
They have been offering that for £35 p/m (including line rental) recently, which I took up, so definitely room to haggle there.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 12:45   #1103
avid fan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 1,969
Thanks: 42
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by clockity View Post
I had the same, for some reason the Openreach system will not let you change the existing line in the cabinet to the new provider. They need another spare slot in the cabinet to patch the new provider to use. I kept checking the the Openreach checker each day and about a week later a fibre slot became available and I got my order in on time. For me, BT would not accept a fibre order until there was a spare slot. It would be the same for the other fibre providers, they all rely on Openreach.

You should be able to cancel the switch from Sky in the mean time until there is definitely a place available for you with fibre.

The checker is here: http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.postcode
I checked that site yesterday - can't use the phone no as it's with Sky at the moment - but based on my address it says there's availability throughout

Are you saying that switching to plusnet/Vodafone/talktalk would all run into the same issue?
avid fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 13:31   #1104
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,486
Thanks: 623
Thanked 302 Times in 217 Posts
Seems ridiculous that you can get through an order, only to be later told there is no capacity. They should check capacity at the time of order and allocate it to you, then process your change of provider, and tell you if there's no capacity at the time so you know not to go ahead.

The Bear - I think the £35 a month is for Infinity 1 isn't it? We just got a flyer through the door from BT for it. Unless there's a better deal online and you can get Infinity 2 for that price?
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 15:28   #1105
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 15,594
Thanks: 261
Thanked 1,210 Times in 387 Posts
No I am on Infinity 2. It was an existing customer offer as mine was coming to an end in April.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Stevie G (04-04-2017)
Old 04-04-2017, 16:15   #1106
clockity
Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy™
 
clockity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sussex
Posts: 912
Thanks: 135
Thanked 19 Times in 12 Posts
Each ISP should check when they accept the order. If it is showing there are VDSL Range A and VDSL Range B available then the cabinet should have spare slots. BT would not offer fibre to me until there was a spare slot (I moved from Sky Fibre two months ago) so I kept checking that site. I'm only going from my experience which was limited by the cabinet. It could be a different issue with the exchange itself.

Each ISP is restricted to what Openreach have available in your cabinet with most checking at the start of the process and some at the the end of the order. You could try calling BT Broadband saying you looked at the Openreach availability and ask them why they cancelled it. You could also try a new order with them or with another ISP. A broadband forum like Skyuser might be of more use than this thread.

Last edited by clockity; 04-04-2017 at 16:17.
clockity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 16:33   #1107
LiviLion
Live At The Witch Trials
 
LiviLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,037
Thanks: 116
Thanked 67 Times in 44 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by allan View Post
I still need to call BT and haggle my price down, it's not at £54 a month solely for infinity 2 which is ridiculous in my opinion.
I phoned up in February when I got the price increase email and managed to get a new 12 month infinity 2 contract with line rental and weekend calls



I don't think that is too bad.
LiviLion is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked 2 times by:
Boink! (04-04-2017), Stevie G (04-04-2017)
Old 04-04-2017, 17:50   #1108
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 12,656
Thanks: 208
Thanked 207 Times in 165 Posts
It took a while, but I've got it down from £54 a month to £33.50 for the same unlimited infinity 2 package 18 month contract which is fine.
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked 3 times by:
allan175 (25-04-2017), LiviLion (04-04-2017), Stevie G (04-04-2017)
Old 04-04-2017, 22:05   #1109
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,486
Thanks: 623
Thanked 302 Times in 217 Posts
Thanks guys. My 12 month ends soon so I'll be on at the before then to try for that
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 14:35   #1110
avid fan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 1,969
Thanks: 42
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by avid fan View Post
I checked that site yesterday - can't use the phone no as it's with Sky at the moment - but based on my address it says there's availability throughout

Are you saying that switching to plusnet/Vodafone/talktalk would all run into the same issue?
And it gets even more confusing...called Vodafone to see if I could get their Broadband in the area....Yes I can they say.

They confirmed that vodafone use the same carriers as BT, which didn't clear anything up.

Subsequently called BT again, and after checking they say there IS capacity in the area, and previous response was a system error?!

End result is I've now re-ordered BT (they couldn't just restart previous cancelled order), but I'm down £30 or so due to reduced cashback offer....Doesn't fill me with confidence
avid fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 16:09   #1111
clockity
Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy™
 
clockity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sussex
Posts: 912
Thanks: 135
Thanked 19 Times in 12 Posts
Good luck
clockity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2017, 08:34   #1112
ascender
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schottland
Posts: 4,946
Thanks: 116
Thanked 84 Times in 64 Posts
I've had it with BT. Their customer service and support continues to live up to the stereotypical image everybody has of them going back as far as I can remember. Broadband and phone contracts are both up this week so I guess i'll look elsewhere.

Last edited by ascender; 26-04-2017 at 17:04.
ascender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2017, 15:15   #1113
LiviLion
Live At The Witch Trials
 
LiviLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,037
Thanks: 116
Thanked 67 Times in 44 Posts
tempting (not):



LiviLion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2017, 15:17   #1114
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 12,656
Thanks: 208
Thanked 207 Times in 165 Posts
Something's going wrong when line rental costs more than the broadband price.
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 11:22   #1115
Boink!
The future's alt-bright
 
Boink!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SE England
Posts: 22,224
Thanks: 738
Thanked 2,193 Times in 718 Posts
Am having trouble with one of my BT email addresses today, I keep getting:

"We've detected a number of failed log in attempts on your email account",

though no matter how many times I change or reset the password, it still won't have it. All my other BT email addresses are fine.
Boink! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2017, 10:28   #1116
ascender
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schottland
Posts: 4,946
Thanks: 116
Thanked 84 Times in 64 Posts
Switched over to Sky BB and it was painless. Their router arrived about a week before activation... service went off, plugged it in... it did a software update... rebooted and came online. Speed seems good, so let's just see what the reliability is like.
ascender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2017, 07:56   #1117
avid fan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 1,969
Thanks: 42
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
In the process of whiching over to BT. Got the new BT freeview box, which I'm liking a lot, but one thing is really bugging me - anyone know how/where to select when to start a programme you've recorded?
avid fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2017, 09:35   #1118
Boink!
The future's alt-bright
 
Boink!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SE England
Posts: 22,224
Thanks: 738
Thanked 2,193 Times in 718 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boink! View Post
Am having trouble with one of my BT email addresses today, I keep getting:

"We've detected a number of failed log in attempts on your email account",

though no matter how many times I change or reset the password, it still won't have it. All my other BT email addresses are fine.
Seems others have been having the same problem. What fixed it was, reset password then leave it for 24 hours before logging in. Now okay.
Boink! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BT Infinity - Installation steven07968 Computing Forum 31 27-04-2011 12:28
BT Infinity - opinions? thetope Computing Forum 1 05-09-2010 13:03
To Infinity (Ward) and Beyond! Harsin Video Games Forum 46 16-04-2010 09:51

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:01.

Latest from TDF

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network